We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Brugge”
Review of Hotel Jan Brito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Jan Brito
Ranked #28 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Brugge”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Very nice hotel - good buffet breakfast - handy for the Markt - beautiful peaceful courtyard to unwind - would stay there again. Staff very helpful and pleasant to deal with. Take a taxi from/to the rail station - 10 euros.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jameslesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    678
    398
    82
    27
    26
See reviews for
161
769
40
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Staff were excellent and helpful, everything from bikes by day and late night champagne when returning home. Good value and buffet breakfast really stood out. Liked the historical nature of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6BD6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

This hotel oozes old world charm central location, beautiful clean rooms with a full size bath, air con, a bar, outside garden and friendly helpful staff. For a four star hotel this is a great example of how it can be done. Rooms are of course on the small side as are most European cities but contain a great bathroom, cupboard with safe, flat screen TV a couple of chairs and desk along with free wi-fi. I booked on line via Hotels.com and paid $167 including g breakfast, just be aware parking is difficult in Brugges.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Coza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Our room was ideal - king bed downstairs plus two twin beds in a loft. Building oozes history and charm. Breakfast is very nice with scrambled eggs, bacon and sausage in addition to more typical offerings of breads, cereals, cheeses, fruit and yogurt. Staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. Bruges is great for one or two nights, max. Best thing we did: guided tour along the ancient streets on Segways: http://www.tripadvisor.com/Attraction_Review-g188671-d1383074-Reviews-Moment_Segway_Tour-Bruges_West_Flanders_Province.html. Ask for Richard - outstanding guide.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conched
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I stayed here with my wife and a couple of friends in June. The location is great, just far enough away from any night time noise yet close enough to all the major tourist sites of Bruges. We both stayed in 'Knight' rooms and for the price we both got very nice rooms, enough space and good facilities. Our rooms were in the rear annex of the main building so the view was of the pleasant garden. Breakfast (continental) was very good with a wide choice of good quality produce. The hotel has a bar and is a very comfortable place to stop for a night cap before retiring to bed. Definitely a place to return to!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Docskeg-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Staff from the start were very friendly and helpful. Hotel is beautiful. Rooms were a good size with lots of original features. Breakfast was faultless with ample teas and coffees and more good service. Good choice if you are visiting the city. It was clean throughout. The bed was probably one of the comfiest I've slept in. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#8 of 97 in Bruges
685 reviews
0.5 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#19 of 97 in Bruges
2,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,145 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jan Brito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jan Brito

Property: Hotel Jan Brito
Address: Freren Fonteinstraat 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#23 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#33 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jan Brito 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of Bruges in a 16th-century listed building. Much more than the exterior has been preserved. This impressive mansion has been tastefully refurbished, conserving unique decorations from former centuries: marble mantelpieces, paintings, oak staircase, exposed oak beams. Quietly situated in the heart of Bruges : 20 mtrs from the most romantic and picturesque canals, 200 mtrs from the Burg square (City Hall) and Market square (Belfry). 37 Rooms fully en-suite, hairdryer, telephone, television with English language programs, minibar, free coffee and tea making facilities. Breakfast buffet, lift, bar, wifi, lounge, large renaissance garden with 100 year old beech tree. Public underground parking at only 200 meters (please make a reservation). Since October 2016 the hotel also has a fitness, sauna and hammam in the garden pavillion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Jan Brito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jan Brito Hotel
Jan Brito Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing