We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really disappointed”
Review of Hotel Jan Brito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Jan Brito
Ranked #26 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Really disappointed”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

After reading all the good reviews on here I splashed out on a very expensive room here (baroness) for 185 euros per night.

Lets start with the positives:

Its location is great
Breakfast was really nice and lots to choose from
Lots of character/charm

Negatives:
Room was dusty
Bathroom window was cracked & a plug socket was coming away from the wall
Really small room - the bed was very big so we barely had enough room to walk around the bed
Mould in the corners of the bedroom ceiling
No hot water at peak times (had to wait until daytime)
I tired to phone reception to ask about the hot water and found that the phone was also not working
Busy road outside bedroom window which kept us awake (not much they can really do about this I admit)
1 person running reception and bar which means that you always have to wait for quite some time to get served

It was a real shame as like I say I had done my research and thought I had found the perfect hotel (albeit expensive).

If anyone from the hotel reads this, please note that the room number was 26. I tried to raise these complaints with you but gave up after waiting at reception for 20 mins.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anon129876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty D, Owner at Hotel Jan Brito, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
First of all I would like to thank you for choosing the Jan Brito hotel for your break and for the time you took to share your point of view.
I ‘m sorry to hear we did not fully live up to your expectations and that you was disappointed about your stay with us.
However I would like to inform that there’s no mould on the room’s ceiling, but that there was a water leak in the room above which had wetted the ceiling of the room below. Before complete restoration this particular spot has to dry out. This is the reason why it doesn’t look 100% ok for just now.

In case you decide to give us another visit, please contact us for further assistances.

Yours sincerely,

Betty Devos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    394
    81
    27
    25
See reviews for
161
763
39
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Lovely hotel the staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast are very good hot or cold with excellent fresh fruit ,.the bar has a very relaxed atmosphere .ideal. Situation for Brugge centre .thank you for making our stay enjoyable .i am certain we will be back

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skyblue006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty D, Owner at Hotel Jan Brito, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Madam,

We thank you for your kind words and we’re pleased to read you had a lovely time in our hotel.
We’re looking forward to welcome you and / or your friends at the Jan Brito hotel.

Kind regards,

Betty Devos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We arrived to the hotel after a 10 minute walk from the train station a couple of hours before check in (3pm) and were quickly shown to our room no problem. The lift is quite old and temperamental so use the stairs. The rooms are quite cozy but clean and functional with lovely exposed beams and original features.
The location of this hotel is ideal, just far enough away from the busy market but a close walk to the centre. With good shops, pubs and boat tours.
The best thing about this hotel is the staff, especially a tall gentleman ( didn't get his name) who ran the check in desk, queries and the bar area by himself all with excellent customer service.
Overall, a great experience and highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3lla-jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Seven of us stayed at Jan Brito for four nights during a trip to Bruges. We booked six months in advance so got a really good deal on four double rooms. The rooms themselves were a little on the cosy side but well appointed and, considering that we only slept in them, were quite acceptable. Staff were friendly and helpful and the bar was comfortable. Excellent buffet breakfasts were provided in a really elegant dining room. Beautiful bacon, delicious sausages, scrambled eggs and beans went down a treat along with gallons of really good coffee. If you are given rooms on the second floor of the annex, beware of the slowest lift in the world. I was on crutches at the time so was forced to use it. You can age considerably during a single trip.
Jan Brito's position is excellent, just a few paces from the fish market and not much further from the central square. Should we visit Bruges again, we'll definitely opt for a repeat experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveHermelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty D, Owner at Hotel Jan Brito, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Sir,

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing the Jan Brito hotel for your break and for the time you took to share your comments about your experience at our premises.

I'm pleased to read that you and your friends had a lovely time in our hotel.
Also I would like to inform that our exterior lift has been undergoing some major adaptations which results into a faster performance.

In the meantime, I'm looking forward to welcome you and / or your friends at the Jan Brito hotel again.

Kind regards,

Betty Devos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in September. The hotel itself is lovely, clean and well-maintained. Bar and mini-bar prices are decent too and the breakfast was great. The staff are wonderful!

The hotel itself is quite quiet and we felt a bit odd sitting in a completely deserted bar but the barman happily brought our drinks order to the hotel room.

The hotel is within walking distance to most major tourist spots. From the station, it cost us about 10 euros and took less than 10 minutes to get there. If we'd known where we were going, we could have walked!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsH258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed here for a weekend. It's got a great location, close enough to all the sights but down a reasonably quiet street, so it wasn't too noisy outside. Room was excellent, and the service from the staff was great. Would come back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy_ldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C-brizzle
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed at the Jan Brito for 3 nights and had an excellent stay in a great location. The room (which was a maids room I think) was plenty big enough for a few days and very reasonably priced.

We wanted an old-style hotel to suit the city and that was what we got. The room was really charming with high ceilings, wooden beams and a huge bed. The room was really clean and was made up to a high standard every day. Plenty of hot water and well heated, no dramas whatsoever.

The staff were really helpful and friendly and we really enjoyed just reading in front of the fire in the (well priced!) bar of the hotel. The breakfast was great and we had no problems with the Wi-Fi.

The only reason I am not awarding 5 stars is because of the lack of shower in the room. It was nice to have a bath, but the novelty wears off after a couple of days when you want to rush out!

All in all an awesome stay for a romantic break away.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3181juninho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#16 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#9 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#11 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.5 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#20 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jan Brito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jan Brito

Property: Hotel Jan Brito
Address: Freren Fonteinstraat 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#23 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#33 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jan Brito 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of Bruges in a 16th-century listed building. Much more than the exterior has been preserved. This impressive mansion has been tastefully refurbished, conserving unique decorations from former centuries: marble mantelpieces, paintings, oak staircase, exposed oak beams. Quietly situated in the heart of Bruges : 20 mtrs from the most romantic and picturesque canals, 200 mtrs from the Burg square (City Hall) and Market square (Belfry). 37 Rooms fully en-suite, hairdryer, telephone, television with English language programs, minibar, free coffee and tea making facilities. Breakfast buffet, lift, bar, wifi, lounge, large renaissance garden with 100 year old beech tree. Public underground parking at only 200 meters (please make a reservation). Since October 2016 the hotel also has a fitness, sauna and hammam in the garden pavillion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Jan Brito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jan Brito Hotel
Jan Brito Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing