We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable. No frills”
Review of Hotel Jan Brito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Jan Brito
Ranked #27 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We splashed out extra for a bigger room in the main building and as we found out when we walked past a room that ours was half the size. The room we had was an acceptable size but it was advertised as a bigger room and we did pay extra. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean and quiet. The shower was a shower/bath and the bath was too narrow so you always got wafted with the grubby shower curtain. The breakfast had a good amount of choice.

The hotel was too understaffed (one person running the whole thing during the day) and this meant that if you want to leave or are returning and the one person is showing someone to the room, you end up standing around. This leads me to another sore point. Why return the room key to the desk when they then hang it up in plain sight behind reception, which is often not staffed. Perfect place to burgle? Surely the room keys in this situation are safer on the guests?

The best thing about the hotel is the location. Close enough to the centre of Bruges but not so close that you get all the evening noise.

Pretty astoundingly average really.

Room Tip: Don't book a larger room if there are only a few left. I think you get lumbered with the smaller...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

472 - 478 of 1,269 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2013

Went as a couple in Dec '13, timed our visit to Bruges to see the Christmas market. The hotel is in a really good location, about two minutes walk to the fish market (Vismarkt), then over the bridge and you are in The Burg and the centre of things. The hotel itself is in some lovely old buildings with a connecting courtyard in the middle. It has been sensitively restored and all the communal rooms were beautiful. We had room 35 which was up on the top floor of the rear building; it was not huge but reasonably sized with lovely oak beams in the ceiling. The windows were double glazed so very quiet and we were not bothered by any street noise. Nice bathroom with bath and a decent shower too. Oddly, although we had a fully stocked mini-bar, there were no tea & coffee making facilities in the room, which was the only real complaint we'd make. All the staff were attentive and spoke excellent English, with special thanks to the receptionist (Alex?) who was great and went to the effort of noting all the key points of interest on our map. Breakfast is a Euro style buffet with cold cuts, cereal, fruit and a limited hot selection; all fine and served in a lovely room. There is also a small bar area too where you can relax and have a drink, plus a little lounge area behind reception. Great little romantic hotel and I would go again and recommend to couples looking for a quiet stop near to town.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StumpyOlegMcNoLeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

After reading all the good reviews on here I splashed out on a very expensive room here (baroness) for 185 euros per night.

Lets start with the positives:

Its location is great
Breakfast was really nice and lots to choose from
Lots of character/charm

Negatives:
Room was dusty
Bathroom window was cracked & a plug socket was coming away from the wall
Really small room - the bed was very big so we barely had enough room to walk around the bed
Mould in the corners of the bedroom ceiling
No hot water at peak times (had to wait until daytime)
I tired to phone reception to ask about the hot water and found that the phone was also not working
Busy road outside bedroom window which kept us awake (not much they can really do about this I admit)
1 person running reception and bar which means that you always have to wait for quite some time to get served

It was a real shame as like I say I had done my research and thought I had found the perfect hotel (albeit expensive).

If anyone from the hotel reads this, please note that the room number was 26. I tried to raise these complaints with you but gave up after waiting at reception for 20 mins.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anon129876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty D, Owner at Hotel Jan Brito, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
First of all I would like to thank you for choosing the Jan Brito hotel for your break and for the time you took to share your point of view.
I ‘m sorry to hear we did not fully live up to your expectations and that you was disappointed about your stay with us.
However I would like to inform that there’s no mould on the room’s ceiling, but that there was a water leak in the room above which had wetted the ceiling of the room below. Before complete restoration this particular spot has to dry out. This is the reason why it doesn’t look 100% ok for just now.

In case you decide to give us another visit, please contact us for further assistances.

Yours sincerely,

Betty Devos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Lovely hotel the staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast are very good hot or cold with excellent fresh fruit ,.the bar has a very relaxed atmosphere .ideal. Situation for Brugge centre .thank you for making our stay enjoyable .i am certain we will be back

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skyblue006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty D, Owner at Hotel Jan Brito, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Madam,

We thank you for your kind words and we’re pleased to read you had a lovely time in our hotel.
We’re looking forward to welcome you and / or your friends at the Jan Brito hotel.

Kind regards,

Betty Devos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We arrived to the hotel after a 10 minute walk from the train station a couple of hours before check in (3pm) and were quickly shown to our room no problem. The lift is quite old and temperamental so use the stairs. The rooms are quite cozy but clean and functional with lovely exposed beams and original features.
The location of this hotel is ideal, just far enough away from the busy market but a close walk to the centre. With good shops, pubs and boat tours.
The best thing about this hotel is the staff, especially a tall gentleman ( didn't get his name) who ran the check in desk, queries and the bar area by himself all with excellent customer service.
Overall, a great experience and highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3lla-jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Seven of us stayed at Jan Brito for four nights during a trip to Bruges. We booked six months in advance so got a really good deal on four double rooms. The rooms themselves were a little on the cosy side but well appointed and, considering that we only slept in them, were quite acceptable. Staff were friendly and helpful and the bar was comfortable. Excellent buffet breakfasts were provided in a really elegant dining room. Beautiful bacon, delicious sausages, scrambled eggs and beans went down a treat along with gallons of really good coffee. If you are given rooms on the second floor of the annex, beware of the slowest lift in the world. I was on crutches at the time so was forced to use it. You can age considerably during a single trip.
Jan Brito's position is excellent, just a few paces from the fish market and not much further from the central square. Should we visit Bruges again, we'll definitely opt for a repeat experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveHermelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty D, Owner at Hotel Jan Brito, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Sir,

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing the Jan Brito hotel for your break and for the time you took to share your comments about your experience at our premises.

I'm pleased to read that you and your friends had a lovely time in our hotel.
Also I would like to inform that our exterior lift has been undergoing some major adaptations which results into a faster performance.

In the meantime, I'm looking forward to welcome you and / or your friends at the Jan Brito hotel again.

Kind regards,

Betty Devos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in September. The hotel itself is lovely, clean and well-maintained. Bar and mini-bar prices are decent too and the breakfast was great. The staff are wonderful!

The hotel itself is quite quiet and we felt a bit odd sitting in a completely deserted bar but the barman happily brought our drinks order to the hotel room.

The hotel is within walking distance to most major tourist spots. From the station, it cost us about 10 euros and took less than 10 minutes to get there. If we'd known where we were going, we could have walked!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsH258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel The Peellaert - Adults only
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#24 of 97 in Bruges
642 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ter Brughe
Hotel Ter Brughe
#33 of 97 in Bruges
1,125 reviews
0 mi away
Botaniek  Hotel
Botaniek Hotel
#8 of 97 in Bruges
667 reviews
0.5 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#19 of 97 in Bruges
2,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jan Brito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jan Brito

Address: Freren Fonteinstraat 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#23 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £68 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jan Brito 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of Bruges in a 16th-century listed building. Much more than the exterior has been preserved. This impressive mansion has been tastefully refurbished, conserving unique decorations from former centuries: marble mantelpieces, paintings, oak staircase, exposed oak beams. Quietly situated in the heart of Bruges : 20 mtrs from the most romantic and picturesque canals, 200 mtrs from the Burg square (City Hall) and Market square (Belfry). 37 Rooms fully en-suite, hairdryer, telephone, television with English language programs, minibar, free coffee and tea making facilities. Breakfast buffet, lift, bar, wifi, lounge, large renaissance garden with 100 year old beech tree. Public underground parking at only 200 meters (please make a reservation). Since October 2016 the hotel also has a fitness, sauna and hammam in the garden pavillion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Jan Brito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jan Brito Hotel
Jan Brito Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing