We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”
Review of Hotel Jan Brito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Jan Brito
Ranked #27 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Miami
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Location”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Good location, old world charm. Bed was quite soft, probably needs to be refreshed. Hairdryer definitely needs to be updated. Breakfast selection was just ok but great fresh orange juice. Front desk clerk was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank GroveGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    683
    403
    84
    27
    27
See reviews for
163
778
39
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We had the opportunity to spend an evening here a couple of weeks past. It is a bit challenging to find a place with character where you can stay with a family in the same room. Jan Brito was able to accommodate us with a room that had a loft bedroom. Our kids loved it. Service was great, they were very accommodating in keeping our luggage through the day we arrived as well as during the day when we checked out. Breakfast, too, was excellent. If you stay, take a few moments to check out the garden area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Gary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DEVON
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed here 12 months ago in a duplex room and gave the whole experience an Excellent rating. On this occasion we stayed 4 nights in a Standard room which with a prepaid non refundable discount cost about £100 a night plus a tourist tax of €1.50 pp per night. The additional single cost £70. We found a difference in the rooms but that was to be expected because of the lesser cost but nothing too much to spoil our appreciation. The a/c was quiet and efficient. Toiletries were sparse. Towels a plenty. TV and wifi worked perfectly. Our bed was firm although we didn't like its mattress protector which was towelling with a polyurethane backing. Those backings do create perspiration - at least it was not noisy. The breakfast room got crowded but it didn't impact on the quality of the food nor service. The staff were very helpful. It cost €40 to park nearby in an underground car park for the 4 nights.

Room Tip: Pay in advance and get a discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonFoxtrotone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Me and my partner stayed here for a short break and we loved this hotel. It has so much character and the staff make you feel very welcome. I loved old pictures of the hotel before and during their renovation and it was great that some original features were left in rooms e.g. sink, wooden beams. The breakfast was very nice. The location is perfect. Very quiet but central so you are not far from anything. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Bruges!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faye M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We had a lovely room and nice breakfast, couldn't complain really - and we are very picky! The hotel was within walking distance of everything we wanted to do and the staff were well mannered and courteous. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice weekend away that wont break the bank.

Room Tip: We asked specifically for the room they had photographed in their marketing material and it was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank maddystuckey87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a short weekend break and wished we could have stayed longer. The Hotel is really lovely. Highly recommend the Duchess Room which overlooks the garden. Its a very tastefully converted stable on two levels with a four poster bed upstairs. Simply beautiful. We had a glass of champagne in the garden sat by the fountain which was a great way to unwind after a drive from England. The Staff were very polite, courteous and helpful. Breakfast was lovely with a great selection of both hot and cold foods. Perfectly situated to step out side and into the sights of central Bruges.

A great place. We'll be staying there again.

Room Tip: For a romantic getaway, ask for one of the rooms that overlooks the garden... great ambiance!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on Saturday night for my birthday. We booked the suite in the corner of the garden and it was such a beautiful room I couldn't have asked for any more! It was a 2 floor suite with the bedroom and bathroom upstairs which included a lovely four posted bed and nice big bathroom.

The entire hotel was decorated well and had a brilliant feel to it. It's also in a great location and walking distance to all the major attractions.

The hotel staff were so helpful and very accommodating. They kept our luggage for us and we were able to use the large car park a 5 min walk away (came to around €16 for the stay).

I would highly recommend this hotel and if you can, treat yourself to a deluxe suite as they are worth it! Must say Bruges is a stunning city and I am so pleased to have spent my birthday there.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollyjp22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#21 of 97 in Bruges
1,248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel De Tuilerieen
Hotel De Tuilerieen
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,522 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#25 of 97 in Bruges
1,523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#8 of 97 in Bruges
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jan Brito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jan Brito

Property: Hotel Jan Brito
Address: Freren Fonteinstraat 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#23 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#33 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jan Brito 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of Bruges in a 16th-century listed building. Much more than the exterior has been preserved. This impressive mansion has been tastefully refurbished, conserving unique decorations from former centuries: marble mantelpieces, paintings, oak staircase, exposed oak beams. Quietly situated in the heart of Bruges : 20 mtrs from the most romantic and picturesque canals, 200 mtrs from the Burg square (City Hall) and Market square (Belfry). 37 Rooms fully en-suite, hairdryer, telephone, television with English language programs, minibar, free coffee and tea making facilities. Breakfast buffet, lift, bar, wifi, lounge, large renaissance garden with 100 year old beech tree. Public underground parking at only 200 meters (please make a reservation). Since October 2016 the hotel also has a fitness, sauna and hammam in the garden pavillion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Jan Brito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jan Brito Hotel
Jan Brito Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing