We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel loved it”
Review of Hotel Jan Brito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Jan Brito
Ranked #28 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful hotel loved it”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We came for our honeymoon and couldn't fault a thing location was perfect room was beautiful staff were friendly and attentive
Would 100% come again
Oh and the breakfast buffet was varied and delicious:))

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrsvball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    678
    398
    82
    27
    26
See reviews for
161
769
40
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The hotel employees were very friendly and helpful. The garden was very nice. The facilities and the rooms were comfortable and clean. The garage is near the hotel and it is cheap: for 24 hours it costs only 8.70 Euro. Recommendation: Book it earlier and get it cheap.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank dabpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My wife and I just returned from a 3 night stay for my 50th which was a couple of weeks ago. Very charming characterful building and lovely quiet location, the staff are lovely, we arrived late afternoon on a Monday and after unpacking asked for a recommendation of a place to eat. The young lady on reception directed us to the Bistro de schaar(see separate review). It was a great recommendation, thank you.

We had room 31 which on the whole I couldn't fault, big bed and bathroom and although it faced the road the double glazing was excellent and you couldn't hear anything. There was a couple of issues around hot water but I think this was due to an electrical fault somewhere.

A bizarre thing was that the clothes rail in the wardrobe was very high, I am 5ft 10in and had to stretch to reach it.

It was a lovely quiet location just a short stroll into the more busy areas. The breakfast was fresh plentiful and highly recommended. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rh0rne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Just back from a 4 night stay at Hotel Jan Brito and really had a relaxing stay in the hotel. The staff where very friendly and helpful as we arrived early hoping that our room might just be ready but it wasn’t and we were still able check in and store our bags and head out for a ramble knowing all we had to do was pick up the key on return.

The hotel is full of charm and looking at the photos on the walls of the building before it was refurbished it’s great to see that all the old character was restored to the old building with fantastic attention to detail to make it feel so welcoming. The garden is so relaxing and you can hardly hear any street noise at all and can sit and relax for hours.

Our room overlooked the garden and to listen to the birds and the running water of the fountain only added to the relaxing experience. The Room was a great size as was the bathroom and no complaints about the Shower or any problems with hot water running out. There is a mini bar but we never tend to use them as there always overpriced so we just buy some essentials in the local shops.

The breakfast offered a good variety to suit everyone and set you up for the day’s site seeing. We didn’t use the bar in the hotel as we went out in the evenings and found a nice bar to sit outside and watch the world go by.

The location was fantastic and close to the centre so you could walk to Markt Square in a few minutes and the road outside was not busy at all with passing traffic so little noise.

The only recommendation I would make to the Hotel owners is to provide Tea/Coffee making facilities in the room and for the garden a few seats with cushions would make it so much more comfortable.

Room Tip: Garden room (Room 7) was nice but it's charged as an extra and we got an upgrade free but can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

A charming hotel and garden. A very nice bar where you can try draft Belgium beer, tea/coffee.and much more.
We had a lovely room overlooking the garden and the hotel plus staff delightful. Hotel is full of charm with hand painted ceilings and walls in period style. The breakfast room is roomy and serving till 10:30 was marvellous for us with an excellent variety of food to satisfy everyone.
It's a short walk to the main square and only a couple of minutes to the first canal stop. Highly recommended. Bruges is cycle friendly so although we didn't cycle ourselves I would recommend you have a go if you've the legs.
I agree with Mike P. re. the lack of tea/coffee making facilities but this appears to be normal in Europe so if you must have a morning cuppa your best making your own arrangements. No English TV channels is a point but for a short break I was glad to get away from it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank thetonybooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night in this hotel as we couldn't extend our booking at the Pand Hotel. we enjoyed Brugge so much we wanted to stay another night.

After coming from the Pand - such a gorgeous hotel with exceptional service we were really disappointed in the Jan Brito. It was tired and really lacking in atmosphere. Staff didn't seem all that interested. They were ok but nothing great. Seemed bored.

We were particularly shocked when we came to check into our room later that night and had a young male receptionist point us in the direction of our room with no further assistance. He saw we had two large heavy suitcases and a backpack and put us in a room with two levels which involved a very long set of really steep stairs to get to the bedroom and bathroom. We couldn't believe it. He just handed us our room key and said your room is over in the corner of the garden and happily walked away while we struggled with our luggage on the cobbled pavement then nearly broke our backs and our suitcases getting our luggage up into the second level.

Once we got up into the bedroom the room felt really dusty. We didn't get a good vibe at all in the room. It felt claustrophobic. What made it worse was the bed was small and the mattress was old. We sunk Into the mattress and didn't sleep well at all. Then there was Mosquitos and the air conditioning didn't work. This hotel should be rated 2 stars.

Breakfast in the morning was included in our room rate but it really didn't look appealing at all. So we went back to the Pand hotel and had a wonderful experience.

Would never stay at the jan brito again. Instead I Highly recommend the Pand hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The staff are extremely well-informed and courteous, making it easy to plan one's visit. The hotel is the shortest walk from the Burg, the centre, the canal cruise centres, and pretty much anywhere you would like to go when visiting Brugge!

The room is well provided for with heating and AC facilities (for the odd day that is hot), a modern bathroom, a flatscreen TV, cupboad space and locker, and an extremely comfy bed. And the breakfast was the clincher - wholesome and more than substantial with cereal, fruit, eggs, cold-cuts, breads, cakes, and fresh juices along with the tea and coffee... almost enough for an early brunch!

I highly recommend the Jan Brito as it provides the most value for money with all criteria thrown in.

Room Tip: Request for a room with a garden or scenic view if possible (even without, the quaintness of the pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diksha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#8 of 97 in Bruges
685 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#20 of 97 in Bruges
2,111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,220 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jan Brito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jan Brito

Property: Hotel Jan Brito
Address: Freren Fonteinstraat 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#23 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#33 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jan Brito 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of Bruges in a 16th-century listed building. Much more than the exterior has been preserved. This impressive mansion has been tastefully refurbished, conserving unique decorations from former centuries: marble mantelpieces, paintings, oak staircase, exposed oak beams. Quietly situated in the heart of Bruges : 20 mtrs from the most romantic and picturesque canals, 200 mtrs from the Burg square (City Hall) and Market square (Belfry). 37 Rooms fully en-suite, hairdryer, telephone, television with English language programs, minibar, free coffee and tea making facilities. Breakfast buffet, lift, bar, wifi, lounge, large renaissance garden with 100 year old beech tree. Public underground parking at only 200 meters (please make a reservation). Since October 2016 the hotel also has a fitness, sauna and hammam in the garden pavillion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Jan Brito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jan Brito Hotel
Jan Brito Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing