We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”
Review of Hotel Jan Brito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Jan Brito
Ranked #27 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Friendly, attentive staff;
close to the centre, but in a quiet road;
clean & comfortable room;
good selection of breakfast foods & drinks;
very reasonable bar prices for wine & beer;
lovely garden for relaxation.

The only negative is also a positive !! It's a very old building, which is why it's so charming. However, be prepared for squeaky floorboards, & hope that your neighbours don't have "boisterous" brats. We were about to complain about anti-social behaviour, but I believe the downstairs room got there first - good result, the noise stopped.

We had a standard room on the top floor, i.e. under the eaves. It was well-designed, but one has to duck to get into the bathroom.

I'd stay there again if I went back to Bruges.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lindarann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    683
    403
    84
    27
    27
See reviews for
163
778
39
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Volos, Greece
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Our stay in this hotel was a unique experience! Although it is renovated and provides a luxurious standard, it still has the atmosphere of the old times. It is romantic and elegant. Its location is perfect and everything is accessible on foot. The breakfast was great, the staff really helpful and the service provided was what one expects from a 4-star hotel! The only minor inconvenience was that in our attic-style room the bed was quite small in order to fit in the room and it was certainly too short for anyone over 1.70 in height. All in all it was a really worthwhile experience and I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: We had the "maid's room" which was small, as described, but really elegant and romanti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Evanthia2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Staff was helpful and kind. Room was clean and a good size (we were in the budget room too!) Breakfast was great. Location was central. Price was great. Wonderful experience. My only complaint was that they wanted us to check in the key when we went out for the night and the check in desk closed at midnight. We were happy to return early that night however we questioned what the procedure would have been had we wanted a late night. Not sure if that is a normal thing???

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We absolutely loved the hotel! It is reasonably priced, and they upgraded us to a suite upon arrival. The location is close to the main square but on a quiet street. Parking was not a hassle. They had a variety of breakfast food. We will stay here again!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ajnschu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

It is a pleasure to be writing a 100% positive review of our stay at Hotel Jan Brito. The hotel is quietly situated away from main streets. We much preferred this as it gave us a chance to explore side streets and discover the many antique shops and bars. The staff were wonderfully friendly, welcoming, speedy and efficient. Upon our early arrival - around 5 hours prior to check-in, our bags were placed in a secure/locked room and we were free to wander off around Bruges without our trolley suitcases (the cobbled streets are a nightmare for bags with wheels!). This hotel is full of character, has lovely and charming lounge/bar area (very reasonably priced for a beer/wine), very pleasant spaces, including the tranquil garden. Our room was lovely, spotlessly clean with comfortable beds. We had a family room which was perfect for our family of 3. Breakfast was very nice with a varied range of continental meats and breads, dried and fresh fruit etc and bacon and eggs. The breakfast room overlooks the gardens, perfect for a relaxing start to the day. Many thanks to all the staff who made our stay so beautifully relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CatherinenStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaubach, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This hotel is amazingly beautiful. If you love antiques, history, and charm, this is the perfect hotel for visiting this historical and magical city. We will definitely stay there again when we return to Burgge. The staff was wonderful and very accommodating. We had our dog, a four year old and needed help with parking and they were helpful with everything. If you do have kids, there is a great park nearby as well. Located within walking distance to everything. Extremely clean rooms and unbelievably charming over all.

Room Tip: Some rooms are off of the main street and much quieter, others look out on the garden, ours was on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank meg d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Hotel is full of charm and character and in a great position in the centre of Bruges. Staff are friendly and helpful as one would expect.
The lift to the back rooms is not for the faint hearted , its unnerving as you step in and have to hold the button down to make the lift move, if you hesitate and release the lift stops suddenly between floors, certainly do not let your children use on their own.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#21 of 97 in Bruges
1,249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel De Tuilerieen
Hotel De Tuilerieen
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,524 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#24 of 97 in Bruges
1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#8 of 97 in Bruges
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jan Brito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jan Brito

Property: Hotel Jan Brito
Address: Freren Fonteinstraat 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#23 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#33 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jan Brito 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of Bruges in a 16th-century listed building. Much more than the exterior has been preserved. This impressive mansion has been tastefully refurbished, conserving unique decorations from former centuries: marble mantelpieces, paintings, oak staircase, exposed oak beams. Quietly situated in the heart of Bruges : 20 mtrs from the most romantic and picturesque canals, 200 mtrs from the Burg square (City Hall) and Market square (Belfry). 37 Rooms fully en-suite, hairdryer, telephone, television with English language programs, minibar, free coffee and tea making facilities. Breakfast buffet, lift, bar, wifi, lounge, large renaissance garden with 100 year old beech tree. Public underground parking at only 200 meters (please make a reservation). Since October 2016 the hotel also has a fitness, sauna and hammam in the garden pavillion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Jan Brito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jan Brito Hotel
Jan Brito Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing