We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three girls in a bedroom!”
Review of Hotel Jan Brito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Jan Brito
Ranked #25 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2010

I picked this hotel because of its fantastic trip advisor reviews. The stay was in honour of my friend Pam's surprise 50th birthday treat, so we wanted to be all together & we wanted it to be really nice. It was simply lovely. A fantastic room in the attic - all to ourselves. Huge bathroom - as already mentioned in other reviews, clean linen everyday, receptionists and staff VERY friendly and helpful. Delicious breakfast buffet, perfectly located for Art, Museums, shops, the incredible fish market and beautiful architecture. If you want five star service - but can't afford five star prices.... this is the perfect hotel. I would definitely like to go back, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GandTforMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

846 - 852 of 1,263 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2010

We booked a Baroness room for 3 nights to celebrate a 50th Birthday.The room was beautifuly furnished and the bathroom very spacious with a large deep bath and a seperate full size shower cubicle.Our room overlooked the street and though one could hear the traffic it did not prevent us sleeping. If noise could be an issue they do have rooms that overlook the fantastic courtyard garden.The breakfast buffet is extensive offering cooked items, continental foods ,cereal, fruit and much more. . it is also included in the price(unlike many other hotels).The hotel staff are charming and are able to recommend Restaurants in the area and book them for you as well.Many of the most popular ones are fully booked even during the week .Most Restaurants close at 10pm
and are also closed for 2 nights mid week Be warned, Bruge is very expensive for eating out ...eg 2 sandwiches and 2 beers 24 euros. A 2 course meal with wine is 100 euros plus for two people.Even so, we had a lovely time and would certainly use this Hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riaujonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2010

Simply keen to add my 5 stars to the collection for this excellent hotel. Minutes from the centre, but on a quiet street; great to retreat to when you've had enough lace and chocolate for one day! Clean fresh rooms, we had clean towels daily. Our room was a 'Knight' room with the flowery wallpaper and beams, windows on a quiet side street.
Breakfast amazing as has already been said many times. Lovely fountain in the rear courtyard with some seats for contemplation or quiet moments before or after seeing the town. Staff were always very polite and obliging. Don't hesitate to book here.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwanakondoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2010

wife and I just had three night stay here based on existing reviews, all of which are spot on. Location is excellent, short walk to bars and restaurants etc. parking is extra cost, but in safe underground carpark across the road for 10 euros per day. Staff here were very helpful and spoke good English, breakfast included is fantastic in beautiful room looking onto gardens and fountain. Our bedroom not luxurious, but very good value, clean, and very comfortable bed. Bruges is well worth a visit, has numerous varied bars and restaurants, and this hotel made our stay v.v. enjoyable.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank colinpNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

First visit to Bruges, 2 really nice surprises. Firstly the location, at most two minutes walk to the Burg over a small bridge and only a further minute to the markt. Secondly the rooms - we booked a garden suite, pretty courtyard view with a fountain, a nice sitting room downstairs , large comfy bed and bath/shower room above.Service from reception excellent throughout and only 10 euros taxi from the station and minibar beer 2 euros !

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marathonman52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2010

We had a lovely time at this hotel on a snowy February day. The walk from the train station was easy and the hotel couldn't have been better located: on a quiet street near but not in the busy center. Both of the receptionists who were at the desk when we were there were exceptionally pleasant and helpful. We asked for a recommendation for a nice, mid-priced, non-touristy place for dinner, and the restaurant was just what we hoped for. Our room was in the annex, reached by going through the back courtyard which must be lovely in the summer. The world's slowest outside elevator took us to the room - take the stairs instead. The room was under the eaves, and the bright floral patterned wall paper was the only discordant note in an otherwise lovely, basic room. The free internet in the lobby, and the excellent and bounteous breakfast were greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank landscapelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2010

I took my wife on a surprise birthday trip to Brugge and chose this hotel on the basis of the reviews on tripadvisor. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone heading to Brugge. The hotel is in a renovated 16th century building and has a lovely cosy feeling to it. The rooms are clean and tidy and the very comfortable. The staff were all really helpful and very pleasant; they helped us with restaurant recommendations and gave us great advice every time. Not forgetting the inclusive buffet breakfast - always a nice start to the day. I would definitely stay here again without hesitation. 10 out of 10

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zebhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#18 of 97 in Bruges
1,326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#26 of 97 in Bruges
637 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel De Tuilerieen
Hotel De Tuilerieen
#28 of 97 in Bruges
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Flanders Hotel
Flanders Hotel
#21 of 97 in Bruges
1,864 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ter Brughe
Hotel Ter Brughe
#34 of 97 in Bruges
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jan Brito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jan Brito

Address: Freren Fonteinstraat 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#23 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £78 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jan Brito 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of Bruges in a 16th-century listed building. Much more than the exterior has been preserved. This impressive mansion has been tastefully refurbished, conserving unique decorations from former centuries: marble mantelpieces, paintings, oak staircase, exposed oak beams. Quietly situated in the heart of Bruges : 20 mtrs from the most romantic and picturesque canals, 200 mtrs from the Burg square (City Hall) and Market square (Belfry). 37 Rooms fully en-suite, hairdryer, telephone, television with English language programs, minibar, free coffee and tea making facilities. Breakfast buffet, lift, bar, wifi, lounge, large renaissance garden with 100 year old beech tree. Public underground parking at only 200 meters (please make a reservation). Since October 2016 the hotel also has a fitness, sauna and hammam in the garden pavillion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Jan Brito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jan Brito Hotel
Jan Brito Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing