We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic and beautiful hotel.”
Review of Hotel Jan Brito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Jan Brito
Ranked #27 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Fantastic and beautiful hotel.”
Reviewed 29 April 2010

I can only agree wholeheartedly with other reviewers. Only 2 blocks from centre of old town, leave your car at on street or paid underground parking nearby and explore by foot ! The hotel consists of lovely old merchants homes joined together and a new wing in the old stables. Rooms were beautifully decorated and my only disappointment was free wifi was limited to the reception area (odd, 3 routers but all in one spot) and no powerpoints (short of unplugging a lamp or fridge, in my room at least) for guests to charge the various devices we travel with these days. Breakfast was nice, and included in my rate. Served in a beautiful room I imagine was a mansion parlour suite , looking out into the topiary and statue gardens.
Definitely recommended for future visits to Brugge

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveller5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DimitriThirion, Owner at Hotel Jan Brito, responded to this review, 11 May 2010
Thank you for this kind review. Hope to welcome you again in our hotel.
Concerning the wifi it is dificult to have a perfect reception in every room because it is a classified monument and whe have many rools we have to apply. Never the less we are searching to improve the free wifi reception in the building
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    683
    403
    84
    27
    27
See reviews for
163
778
39
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Anglia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2010

I picked this hotel because of its fantastic trip advisor reviews. The stay was in honour of my friend Pam's surprise 50th birthday treat, so we wanted to be all together & we wanted it to be really nice. It was simply lovely. A fantastic room in the attic - all to ourselves. Huge bathroom - as already mentioned in other reviews, clean linen everyday, receptionists and staff VERY friendly and helpful. Delicious breakfast buffet, perfectly located for Art, Museums, shops, the incredible fish market and beautiful architecture. If you want five star service - but can't afford five star prices.... this is the perfect hotel. I would definitely like to go back, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GandTforMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2010

We booked a Baroness room for 3 nights to celebrate a 50th Birthday.The room was beautifuly furnished and the bathroom very spacious with a large deep bath and a seperate full size shower cubicle.Our room overlooked the street and though one could hear the traffic it did not prevent us sleeping. If noise could be an issue they do have rooms that overlook the fantastic courtyard garden.The breakfast buffet is extensive offering cooked items, continental foods ,cereal, fruit and much more. . it is also included in the price(unlike many other hotels).The hotel staff are charming and are able to recommend Restaurants in the area and book them for you as well.Many of the most popular ones are fully booked even during the week .Most Restaurants close at 10pm
and are also closed for 2 nights mid week Be warned, Bruge is very expensive for eating out ...eg 2 sandwiches and 2 beers 24 euros. A 2 course meal with wine is 100 euros plus for two people.Even so, we had a lovely time and would certainly use this Hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riaujonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2010

Simply keen to add my 5 stars to the collection for this excellent hotel. Minutes from the centre, but on a quiet street; great to retreat to when you've had enough lace and chocolate for one day! Clean fresh rooms, we had clean towels daily. Our room was a 'Knight' room with the flowery wallpaper and beams, windows on a quiet side street.
Breakfast amazing as has already been said many times. Lovely fountain in the rear courtyard with some seats for contemplation or quiet moments before or after seeing the town. Staff were always very polite and obliging. Don't hesitate to book here.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwanakondoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2010

wife and I just had three night stay here based on existing reviews, all of which are spot on. Location is excellent, short walk to bars and restaurants etc. parking is extra cost, but in safe underground carpark across the road for 10 euros per day. Staff here were very helpful and spoke good English, breakfast included is fantastic in beautiful room looking onto gardens and fountain. Our bedroom not luxurious, but very good value, clean, and very comfortable bed. Bruges is well worth a visit, has numerous varied bars and restaurants, and this hotel made our stay v.v. enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colinpNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire UK
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2010

First visit to Bruges, 2 really nice surprises. Firstly the location, at most two minutes walk to the Burg over a small bridge and only a further minute to the markt. Secondly the rooms - we booked a garden suite, pretty courtyard view with a fountain, a nice sitting room downstairs , large comfy bed and bath/shower room above.Service from reception excellent throughout and only 10 euros taxi from the station and minibar beer 2 euros !

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marathonman52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Mass.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2010

We had a lovely time at this hotel on a snowy February day. The walk from the train station was easy and the hotel couldn't have been better located: on a quiet street near but not in the busy center. Both of the receptionists who were at the desk when we were there were exceptionally pleasant and helpful. We asked for a recommendation for a nice, mid-priced, non-touristy place for dinner, and the restaurant was just what we hoped for. Our room was in the annex, reached by going through the back courtyard which must be lovely in the summer. The world's slowest outside elevator took us to the room - take the stairs instead. The room was under the eaves, and the bright floral patterned wall paper was the only discordant note in an otherwise lovely, basic room. The free internet in the lobby, and the excellent and bounteous breakfast were greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank landscapelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#21 of 97 in Bruges
1,248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel De Tuilerieen
Hotel De Tuilerieen
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,524 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#24 of 97 in Bruges
1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#8 of 97 in Bruges
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jan Brito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jan Brito

Property: Hotel Jan Brito
Address: Freren Fonteinstraat 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#23 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#33 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jan Brito 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of Bruges in a 16th-century listed building. Much more than the exterior has been preserved. This impressive mansion has been tastefully refurbished, conserving unique decorations from former centuries: marble mantelpieces, paintings, oak staircase, exposed oak beams. Quietly situated in the heart of Bruges : 20 mtrs from the most romantic and picturesque canals, 200 mtrs from the Burg square (City Hall) and Market square (Belfry). 37 Rooms fully en-suite, hairdryer, telephone, television with English language programs, minibar, free coffee and tea making facilities. Breakfast buffet, lift, bar, wifi, lounge, large renaissance garden with 100 year old beech tree. Public underground parking at only 200 meters (please make a reservation). Since October 2016 the hotel also has a fitness, sauna and hammam in the garden pavillion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Jan Brito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jan Brito Hotel
Jan Brito Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing