We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Olympia Bruges
Ranked #57 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect for a short break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

We stayed for 4 nights with the Leger Beautiful Bruges tour. We found the hotel very welcoming with friendly, English speaking staff. It is very clean and tidy everywhere. It is situated in a quiet residential area but there is a bus stop just down the round if you need it. The rooms are adequate for a short stay and the beds are comfortable (sheets and blankets - no duvets). The bathroom is of the continental style with a small bath with a shower over. But there was always plenty of hot water and the shower was quite powerful (but not power-shower pressure!) The breakfasts are delicious - the usual continental fare of eggs, hams, cheese and breads, jams and yogurt etc. The bread is fresh every morning and if you are early enough it is still warm!! The eggs are very nice (probably free-range if the colour of the yolks are anything to go by). Plenty of nice coffee and a choice of different teas as well as orange juice and bottled water. The walk to the centre of town takes 15 minutes but it is all on the flat and plenty of bars etc on the way if you need them! The bar in the hotel serves a range of Belgium beers and cheese and ham toasties if you need a snack. The hallways are dark as they are inside the building but there are automatic timer switches all down the corridor to the rooms. The room itself has adequate lighting - bedside lights and wall lights - and the bathroom has lighting over the mirror which was good enough to shave by etc. This hotel is used by coach holidays so unfortunately there will be a bit of noise when coaches drop off guests etc. but the road is very quite otherwise.
We would gladly stay at this hotel again if we were in Bruges.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bren&Roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    176
    95
    25
    15
See reviews for
43
216
10
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

We spent a single night in this hotel, and it definitely met our needs for a single night stay, or perhaps even two nights would be okay. Parking is free and plenty so that was a great start, check in was friendly and welcoming. Our room was on the first floor, and I found the hall ways and in fact the entire hotel to be very dark or dimly lit, and then the room itself was also dimly lit and stuffy (despite trying to open the windows). The room was on a road which had a little noise, and was very small and cramped. There was a tourist bus who arrived quite late in the evening and made plenty of noise, and again in the morning. There was a small tv, and a very small bath provided. The rest was all very basic so would meet your needs for a single night, but not too much longer to be comfortable. The location was about a 10 minute walk from the town cbd, so if that's not good for you please consider this.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnikadeBruijne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

Me and my girlfriend have never seen such a dishonest hostel. We booked a room for this weekend, and learnt about a death in her family. We asked the hostel to have a discount on the price we paid, and to book for another weekend in july, for 2 double bedrooms instead of one (to go with a couple of friends).
They did not want to hear of it, and said that the total amount of the night we paid would not be refunded at all (even not a 20 or 50%).

Me and my girlfriend think this is totally scandalous, even more given the fact that we committed to book directly for another weekend, that would have been a good deal for them!

NO PITY, NO HUMANITY, the owner of the hostel can be ashamed!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aldug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bruges hotels

Gateshead
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Spent 3 nights at this hotel - couldn't fault it. Had read some of the reviews here, but our room on the ground floor was fine, found it comfortable and clean. Staff were friendly, especially the girl who worked nights on reception and the bar. The bar closes at 11, but to be honest we were so tired after being out and about all day I was ready for bed by then anyway. About a 5 to 10 minute walk into town, same to the railway/bus station.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GatesheadEllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed 4 nights on a Leger Beautiful Brugge stay. 4 nights was more than enough, the hotel room we first had was appalling, in the rafters and the roof shook with the wind and rain. It was perishing cold, the mattress on the bed had springs sticking out which hurt my back. I was so cold overnight I slept in my dressing gown. The hairdryer didn't work and the curtains didn't cover all the windows. The people in the rooms each side seemed to be having a competition on who could have their tv on loudest.
The only "food" they did apart from breakfast was toasted sandwiches and crisps, coffee and tea overpriced and cold in the so called bar which consists of 5 tables and chairs, too mean to provide tea making facilities in the rooms, mind you, looking at the electrics prob just as well!
After complaining we got another room which was slightly better only this time the mattressess were so soggy it was just as bad on your back but at least this room wasn't freezing.
Breakfast...cardboard museli, cheap cornflakes and the only fruit to make an appearance was a sorry bowl of tinned fruit cocktail, cheap and nasty yougurts, bread..toasters that took years to make toast, cheap orange juice, nasty cheap cold meat, rolls were okay. No pastries, croisssants or aything else vaguely interesting. Oh yeah, and hard boiled eggs. I have had MUCH better continentals than this, no, I am not a brit who expects full english but I do expect some effort. Coffee was like paint stripper.
We were unlucky with weather which isn't anyone's fault, however, this place is in the middle of NOWHERE.....................so you'd better like a good walk to get anywhere unless you want to pay 7euro taxi fares in and out to the centre.
I am not a fussy person and I know you get what you pay for, in this case we didn't, it is basic to provide a comfortable bed and warmth, a decent breakfast choice and not charge 8 euros for two bottles of water to have in your room.
Needs to buck up and not rely on the elderly coach trade who seem to be grateful and put up with anything, unless of course they got all the best rooms on the ground floor!!
Very disappointing and no where up to the Leger trip we did 4 yrs ago.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dorothy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

This hotels clean less,people are nice,but it's in the middle of nowhere.had a nap,got up about 9:30ish trying to find something to eat around the hotel but everything was closed.bars only opened till 11.But no food was served.You can take the bus 52 or 53 to the city centre(markt).

Breakfast wasn't that bad compared to the hotels I've been to.warm bread or bread rolls.ham cheese etc....

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christophertkf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012 via mobile

We travelled with Leger Holidays for a 4 day break over Easter. We arrived after 8pm and check in I felt was very efficient. We were located on the ground floor. Room was very nice & clean. I found the beds very comfortable, lovely and warm with extra pillows. Beds made up daily and rooms topped up with your standard toiletries if needed. The hotel in general was small & friendly - very quaint! Staff were happy to help, smiley and friendly. Got wi-fi no bother at all and it was free! Also you do get issued a code if you intend returning after 11pm.
Breakfast was very nice - cereal, yogurts, fruit and a nice choice of lovely fresh bread etc. Great breakfast to start the day.
Hotel was a 10-15 minute walk into the centre of Bruges.
Personally I really enjoyed my stay, would recommend and definitely would stay again!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelDreams7_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
1.9 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
#69 of 97 in Bruges
3.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
0.9 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#43 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Weinebrugge
7.6 mi away
Hotel De Stokerij
Hotel De Stokerij
#22 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel 't Keizershof
Hotel 't Keizershof
#74 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olympia Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olympia Bruges

Property: Hotel Olympia Bruges
Address: Magdalenastraat 16, Bruges 8200, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Olympia Bruges 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Olympia Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympia Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing