We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We enjoyed our stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Olympia Bruges
Ranked #56 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
353 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our stay here”
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We have just returned from 7 nights at this hotel and were very comfortable there. The weather was bitterly cold but the hotel was always lovely and warm to return to with drinks hot and cold plus snacks being served in the pleasant bar/lounge area. The radiators in the room and bathroom could be adjusted to suit you. There was always plenty of hot water too. Comments have been made about the dark corridors; the lights are not left on all day - you press the illuminated buttons when you are using the corridor. We asked for a quiet room and were given one but the road which runs past the breakfast room and lounges isn't busy so I don't think you will hear much noise from outside. The room has plenty of hanging space and hangers and lots of shelves.The hotel is located a 10 minute walk from the train station which makes day trips easy to do and is the same walking time from the lovely old town gate into Bruges. Breakfast is cereal, yoghurt, toast, croissants, cake, cheese, four kinds of cooked meat, choice of teas and coffee with tinned fruit salad on one morning. We thought it was more than enough to start the day. Valerie took over this hotel five years ago and is updating it but this all takes time and money in a recession. A new roof has been put on, industrial-size washing machines installed and flat-screen TVs fitted plus Wi-Fi is free - I wish that was the case everywhere. If you want modern fixtures and furniture or plenty of bars, restaurants and discos around the hotel then it won't suit you. If you want friendly, helpful staff and a reasonably priced stay in an expensive city then try here and Valerie and her team will look after you.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank flowerlady64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    182
    98
    25
    16
See reviews for
44
223
11
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

we arrived early and was greeted by the staff who booked us in and gave us our keys the room was as expected but could benefit from a kettle as the only drinks available were from the bar and was 3 euro each the hotel was just around the corner from the station and was within easy reach of brugge city center there is a public car park at rear at no charge . and the decor is dated but asa budget weekend we didnt mind . noisey neighbours was sorted by kim who asked them to be quiet. and they behaved after that . all staff are lovely and we look forward to returning again to the hotel in the summer when it is warmer.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral England
Level Contributor
292 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We visited this hotel for the fourth time on a Leger coach trip. The hotel is a 10-15 minute walk from the medieval centre but in a quiet location so you can get a good nights sleep. The room was spacious with plenty of storage space for your clothes. The double bed was very comfortable and there are spare pillows in the wardrobe if required. Bathroom looked a bit dated now as it is decorated in dark brown tiles. The bathroom had a bath and shower and the water was very hot which was great as it was very cold and snowy outside. Breakfast is on the first floor and is very good with the usual breads, cold meats, cheese, eggs, cereals etc. All rooms are on the ground or first floor and there is a lift if needed. The hotel does not do lunch or dinner but you can get soup or a toastie in the bar. There are plenty of eating places in Bruges. The bar is cosy and the prices for beer is only slightly higher than in town so you do not get ripped off. Lounge area quite large with plenty of comfy furniture. Staff are all excellent and very helpful, they all speak good English. If we were to travel independently to Bruges we would stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LizMarcWirralEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

I stayed here out of season so the hotel was very quiet, we were the only guests but the friendly owner made us feel very welcome, and made it clear that we could call her at anytime should we need any assistance. The hotel was clean.. the rooms comfortable. The location was great, just 5 minutes walk from the zand which has lots of bars and restaurants, and just 15 minutes to the historic market square with the belfry and other tourist attractions, museums etc would definitely stay there again and recommend it to anyone planning a trip to bruges in a slightly quieter location.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eviean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BROMSGROVE
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed as part of coach group & was able to spend Armistice day in Ypres. The hotel only does breakfast but its within walking distance of restaurants & bars. The rooms are ok, clean with comfortable beds. Bathrooms are a little dated but serve the purpose. Nice bar area that closes promptly! Service is friendly. I would stay again

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FEENCHAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Just returned from the Newcastle united match in brugge,stayed in the hotel olympia. Nice old fashioned family hotel looks like its been recently updated inside. Room was a triple on ground floor spacious ,nice bathroom , decent size tv but no tea/coffe facilities. Clean and tidy . Breakfast was basic continental nothing flashy. Would recommend for a short stay in brugge as its slightly out the way (around 20 mins from main square)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Woodseatsmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

This is an owner managed hotel and it shows. We were welcomed on arrival and were shown where we could park for free in streets behind the hotel - great benefit in a city!
Our room was basic but clean and reasonably comfortable and the continental breakfast was perfectly adequate. However, timed lights in the corridors were a bit archaic and a coat of paint would brighten things up.
Getting into the city could not have been simpler either via the railway station or under the railway itself, about 10/15mins in either direction
English appears to be spoken by all the staff, its a mandatory subject in schools, who were very helpful in all respects

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
1.9 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
#69 of 97 in Bruges
3.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
0.9 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#45 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Weinebrugge
7.6 mi away
Hotel De Stokerij
Hotel De Stokerij
#22 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel 't Keizershof
Hotel 't Keizershof
#76 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olympia Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olympia Bruges

Property: Hotel Olympia Bruges
Address: Magdalenastraat 16, Bruges 8200, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Olympia Bruges 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Olympia Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympia Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing