We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff, but Rough Stay at Times.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Olympia Bruges
Ranked #58 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My stay here was mixed. The staff was helpful & friendly, and the overall interior of the hotel was inviting, but the room was disappointing.

There were bugs around the window, and I spent some time getting rid of them as we had food in the room and didn't want them around. The bathroom smelled odd as well, so cleanliness was definitely an issue here. The room was otherwise good.

The location places it a 15-25 minute walk from the center of Bruges. Not a big problem for me, and at the price, I was willing to accept it. Buses are available if you want to get into town faster.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edrick42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (433)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Olympia Bruges
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

We visited this hotel as part of a Leger holiday. The staff were friendly and helpful, our room was clean and comfortable. The only complaint was the breakfast was a bit limited and people were fighting over the 2 toasters which took forever! It was located in a quiet street which was about 15 to 20 minutes walk to the centre of Bruges, which was fine for us but some of the more senior travellers in our party found it too far to walk and had to rely on taxis.
Overall I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for somewhere clean and basic.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidaylover4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This is a family run Hotel in a quiet residential area of Bruges, approximately 10 minutes walk from a selection of Restaurantsnd the main Bus Station, and 15 minutes from the Centre of Bruges.

The Hotel is spotlessly clean, and the rooms on the small side, but entirely satisfactory. Note that the rooms are not Air-Conditioned so they can get hot in the main Summer months.

Whilst only Breakfast is available, this is a very good Continental Style, with a selection of bread/rolls/cooked meats, and cheese, with Corn-Flakes and Muesli for Cereal Addicts. Two toasters and sliced bread, with jam and marmalade complete the food items, with orange juice/coffee/tea to drink.

All in all my wife and I had a very enjoyable 4 nights stay at this hotel, and it offers both friendly service along with good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidcollins45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This was a very basic hotel and we were somewhat disappointed with the rooms in particular. Although the bedding was clean our beds were made up of just a sheet and a buff blanket, it looked like an army bed! I asked at reception why some rooms had bedspreads that made the room look more inviting and ours didn't and was told not all rooms had them! The bathroom was dated and the tile grout mouldy however, the water was hot and the shower powerful. There was no air conditioning and no fans in the rooms. The room was airless and stuffy. There was only one window in the room to open and this opened inwards so was just above the head. A very near accident waiting to happen! The breakfast was mediocre but plentiful. Most of the staff were very friendly however there was some staff that appeared 'stand offish' and on occasions quite rude. The walk into town to the nearest set of restaurants was a good 20 minutes. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We were on the right side of the hotel, first floor and south facing so very very hot! Downstairs se...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pepsipuddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Reasonably priced for Bruges. Hotel is just outside the city gates but easy access to the city centre. Free parking outside the hotel but on Sundays only, however there is a mid-size car park round the rear of the hotel which was quite secure and free. Décor a little dated, particularly the bathroom.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben_Quilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We were on a Leger Holiday tour to Bruges with visits to Ghent, Ypres and Brussels and stayed at the Olympia for four nights.
Tentative because of the reviews previously written by others in Tripadvisor, we were pleasantly surprised on our arrival, mid evening to be greeted by pleasant staff (who remained so though our stay) speaking english, always helpful and obliging.
Our room (204) was clean and adequately equipped, descriptions of tired would be appropriate but as it proved over the four nights, quite comfortable, bed good, room quite big, bathroom by contrast small but again adequate. no kettle and such which could have made so much difference to us, drinks including tea/coffee available at a price in the bar at any time. Limited snacks available also (toasties and crisps). Plenty of very good places in Bruges to eat any type of meal at varied prices.
Continental breakfast, strange combinations to us Brits, but very tasty and plentiful and served in the first floor restaurant (lift from ground floor) - no complaints at all.
The hotel is close to the centre of Bruges, we, in our late 60s but relatively fit, were able to walk comfortably to the centre within 15 - 20 minutes, quicker were it to be necessary and of course Bruges IS beautiful.
In terms of would we stay here again, then yes we would, there are probably better hotels within the city but at what cost, this was very much ideally placed for us doing the "if it's Tuesday it must be Belgium" tour to get a taster for a further visit and to spend more time here abouts.
Would we recommend it, yes we definitely would.

Room Tip: All the same I think, first floor is perhaps cooler but access to all areas is the same
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnPlant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This hotel is a good 15 minute walk from the first square in Brugge, and nearer 25 mins from the main square. Pluses.. Free parking but not in a hotel car park, just on the street. Friendly staff. Minuses, a little dated and a little expensive for what is a basic hotel. However Brugge seems to be expensive for hotels so maybe you just get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
1.9 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
#68 of 97 in Bruges
629 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
1.8 mi away
Velotel Brugge
Velotel Brugge
#50 of 97 in Bruges
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#46 of 97 in Bruges
2,293 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Weinebrugge
7.6 mi away
Hotel De Stokerij
Hotel De Stokerij
#27 of 97 in Bruges
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olympia Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olympia Bruges

Address: Magdalenastraat 16, Bruges 8200, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: £53 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Olympia Bruges 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Olympia Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympia Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing