We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Olympia Bruges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Olympia Bruges
Ranked #56 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Dated hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in September 2013
Hotel is in a very good location only a ten minute walk into the town centre.
How ever the hotel is very dated , the decor is tired and furniture is of the 1980s . Beds are awful tiny single beds more suited for children.
No air con no tea making facility's , bathroom are very small. I asked for another room and the owner of the hotel said no and assured me every room was the same.
1 to 10 out of cleanness i would give it 6

Overall good location but hotel needs to be brought up to date .

Would I stay here again ? No

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Garywxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    172
    95
    25
    15
See reviews for
42
214
10
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weston-s-Mare
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed here as part of a coach tour. Good budget hotel within walking distance of the center. However there was no aircon in the hotel although temperature was in the 30s, also only one young lady to do everything( and she worked very hard). As another visitor said the hotel is dated and could do with tea and coffee making equipment, but Bruge is a beautiful place to visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lesbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed at this property for a one day stopover in Bruges as part of our 3 week vacation. The hotel is roughly 15 minutes walk away from the old city in a quiet residential area and we thought it would make a nice base from which to explore.

A few points:

1. Although the hotel has a bar, there is no food available except for the breakfast buffet. The price was reduced from 12€ to 10€ which is still a little pricey for what you get. This breakfast is only available between 8 - 10am. Remember to pick up some food/eat something before returning to the hotel for the evening or you will have to go back out.

2. The Wifi did not work for most of the night - this was an internal issue as we were getting an IP address but the router was not allowing access to the Internet. The front desk person had no idea how to fix it and insisted the problem was with the ISP( a reboot would have resolved it ).

3. The bedside light did not work on one side of the bed and as one person already mentioned, the lack of A/C in the room makes it quite stuffy. The room has the usual phone, TV, hair dryer, and a wardrobe for storing things and several other things that I do not consider ‘usual’ such as the moldy bathroom tiles and leaky window. The room also had a full bathtub (215) which my partner was happy to take advantage of.

4. In the hallway, the lighting needs to be activated by pressing a button. This is not a bad thing unless no one tells you about the button and you find yourself standing in the middle of the hallway in the dark not being able to see the keyhole.

Overall, the hotel did not strike me as ‘Medieval’ but run-down. Some of the staff seemed very aloof and not very friendly at all. The location was great but the lack of available food was not. The beds were comfortable enough (despite lacking duvets) and the room quiet enough to get a reasonable sleep. For the price in comparison with the other properties in Bruges it was a decent value even if there were some things that I didn’t care much for. For the one night stay I wasn’t going to bother trying to have anything fixed / changed but I absolutely would have if we had planned a longer visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a newer room - not 215.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank koldriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
259 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

My stay here was mixed. The staff was helpful & friendly, and the overall interior of the hotel was inviting, but the room was disappointing.

There were bugs around the window, and I spent some time getting rid of them as we had food in the room and didn't want them around. The bathroom smelled odd as well, so cleanliness was definitely an issue here. The room was otherwise good.

The location places it a 15-25 minute walk from the center of Bruges. Not a big problem for me, and at the price, I was willing to accept it. Buses are available if you want to get into town faster.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edrick42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We visited this hotel as part of a Leger holiday. The staff were friendly and helpful, our room was clean and comfortable. The only complaint was the breakfast was a bit limited and people were fighting over the 2 toasters which took forever! It was located in a quiet street which was about 15 to 20 minutes walk to the centre of Bruges, which was fine for us but some of the more senior travellers in our party found it too far to walk and had to rely on taxis.
Overall I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for somewhere clean and basic.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaylover4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

This is a family run Hotel in a quiet residential area of Bruges, approximately 10 minutes walk from a selection of Restaurantsnd the main Bus Station, and 15 minutes from the Centre of Bruges.

The Hotel is spotlessly clean, and the rooms on the small side, but entirely satisfactory. Note that the rooms are not Air-Conditioned so they can get hot in the main Summer months.

Whilst only Breakfast is available, this is a very good Continental Style, with a selection of bread/rolls/cooked meats, and cheese, with Corn-Flakes and Muesli for Cereal Addicts. Two toasters and sliced bread, with jam and marmalade complete the food items, with orange juice/coffee/tea to drink.

All in all my wife and I had a very enjoyable 4 nights stay at this hotel, and it offers both friendly service along with good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davidcollins45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

This was a very basic hotel and we were somewhat disappointed with the rooms in particular. Although the bedding was clean our beds were made up of just a sheet and a buff blanket, it looked like an army bed! I asked at reception why some rooms had bedspreads that made the room look more inviting and ours didn't and was told not all rooms had them! The bathroom was dated and the tile grout mouldy however, the water was hot and the shower powerful. There was no air conditioning and no fans in the rooms. The room was airless and stuffy. There was only one window in the room to open and this opened inwards so was just above the head. A very near accident waiting to happen! The breakfast was mediocre but plentiful. Most of the staff were very friendly however there was some staff that appeared 'stand offish' and on occasions quite rude. The walk into town to the nearest set of restaurants was a good 20 minutes. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We were on the right side of the hotel, first floor and south facing so very very hot! Downstairs se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pepsipuddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bruges hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
1.9 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
#69 of 97 in Bruges
3.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
0.6 mi away
Hotel 't Keizershof
Hotel 't Keizershof
#75 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#43 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,161 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Weinebrugge
1.2 mi away
Canalview Hotel Ter Reien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olympia Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olympia Bruges

Property: Hotel Olympia Bruges
Address: Magdalenastraat 16, Bruges 8200, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Olympia Bruges 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Superbreak UK so you can book your Hotel Olympia Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympia Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing