We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, friendly-ish staff, location is ok. A bit dated.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Olympia Bruges
Ranked #57 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel is outside of the town centre and takes about 10-15 mins to walk to the edge of it.

Hotel is fine for the budget conscious traveller like us! Far from amazing, but still ok.

Lady who checked us in was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pevans183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

The hotel Olympia is situated in a very nice residential area. It is outside the centre and a 10-15 minute walk to the station and sights but the upside for me was that is was very quiet and nice to be in a normal neighbourhood. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and speak great English. It's reasonable value for money in an expensive city. For those who bemoan the lack of tea-making facilities - this is a very English thing in my view and not common on the continent.
the main drawback is that there are no restaurants in the vicinity so you have to either stay in town or go back and forth. However, if you arrive by car, parking is free. I was warm and comfortable, bathroom was a bit dated but fine with nice hot shower and clean.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTSouthsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel have a combenient location. Staff really helpfull and friendly. Bed and averall room is ok. BUT o my god the shower. Im 6' and 190 lbs an i can't fitin the shower/tub. Be carefull with that is a deadtramp super slipery. For the locatiin is very good.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We visited this hotel in August on an overnight stay. We arrived and found the staff helpful on arrival. The rooms are dated and the lack of tea and coffee facilities was disappointing, but we were there to enjoy Bruges. The location is good, only a ten minute walk to the action in the centre. We did not have breakfast as we wanted to return to the centre before we left. The beds are quite small, our party were four needing a double and a twin room which was supplied. The double was two beds pushed together. The bathroom was clean and for our needs, a budget hotel, it was fine. If you are looking for a cheap place to stay, with a bed and bathroom, this is good value. Just don't expect "sparkling".

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This is by far the worst hotel we have ever stayed in, the staff were unfriendly & unwelcoming. The room was awful and lacked even basic amenities such as tea making facilities, the bathroom was horrible with dark brown tiles & plaster strips on the bottom of the bath [presumably as a non slip surface] the shower curtain cut across the bath which meant standing side on in the shower. We were charges 2 euros a night for a key to the room safe & the room was so cold we slept with a coat on the bed. Breakfast was so poor we didn't bother after first morning & waited until we went out to eat. The hotel was a good 20mins walk from centre of Bruges and as the room offered little comfort & we did not feel we could go back for a rest & go back out later so we ended up walking around Bruges for hours. How this hotel gained 3 stars is a mystery!

Room Tip: I don't think there are any good rooms in this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cairns108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed here in September 2013
Hotel is in a very good location only a ten minute walk into the town centre.
How ever the hotel is very dated , the decor is tired and furniture is of the 1980s . Beds are awful tiny single beds more suited for children.
No air con no tea making facility's , bathroom are very small. I asked for another room and the owner of the hotel said no and assured me every room was the same.
1 to 10 out of cleanness i would give it 6

Overall good location but hotel needs to be brought up to date .

Would I stay here again ? No

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank Garywxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed here as part of a coach tour. Good budget hotel within walking distance of the center. However there was no aircon in the hotel although temperature was in the 30s, also only one young lady to do everything( and she worked very hard). As another visitor said the hotel is dated and could do with tea and coffee making equipment, but Bruge is a beautiful place to visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
2.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Weinebrugge
1.8 mi away
Velotel Brugge
Velotel Brugge
#42 of 97 in Bruges
971 reviews
1.9 mi away
Green Park Hotel Brugge
Green Park Hotel Brugge
#69 of 97 in Bruges
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lace Hotel
Lace Hotel
#91 of 97 in Bruges
292 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
0.6 mi away
The Golden tree hotel
The Golden tree hotel
#67 of 97 in Bruges
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olympia Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olympia Bruges

Address: Magdalenastraat 16, Bruges 8200, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: £53 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Olympia Bruges 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Olympia Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympia Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing