We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hotel in Bruges”
Review of Hotel Patritius

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Patritius
Ranked #25 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding Hotel in Bruges”
Reviewed 20 November 2011

A very well appointed hotel at a reasonable price. The location was very good; a close walk to the square and other sights. Everything about it was above average. The hotel was very well maintained. The breakfast was delicious. The rooms were very comfortable, well furnished and modern. The hotel had modern conveniences but had an old world feel to it. We highly recommend this hotel and will stay there again if we visit Bruges. It made our stay very pleasant and enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SKM692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    181
    36
    3
    3
See reviews for
84
362
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Topeka KS
Level Contributor
177 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

A friend and I shared a twin room, and we were very pleased with our stay. The hotel staff was warm and hospitable, the room was spacious and comfortable, and property was only a five minute walk from the Markt, but on a quiet street.

The bathroom was quite lovely, and very spacious by European standards, with a huge, double pedestal sink. We had a chairs, a table, a desk, an alarm clock, sufficient electrical outlets, ample storage space, a tiny frig, large windows, and cozy radiator heat. There was a small safe, although we didn't opt to pay the additional fee for a key.

Breakfast was served in a lovely dining room, and it was great. There were many options (pastries, yogurt, cereal, fruit, meat & cheese, juice, milk, tea, coffee), and we were offered our choice of cooked-to-order egg each morning.

Our room was up one floor at the top of a winding staircase, but there is a also small lift.

There are plenty of great places to eat in Bruge, and there were several excellent options near the hotel. The hotel staff was good about offering recommendations and giving directions.

I thought the value was excellent for this popular city, and I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reefwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

One of the nicest places we've stayed at. The owner , Garrett, is just the right mix of helpful, accommodating, and professional. Quiet oasis but close to everything. Spacious but cozy common areas, one with computer for guests. Coffee machine was unbelievable way to start your day!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yoido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

I stayed at the Hotel Patritius for the second time (this time with my sister) in July 2011. I chose this hotel especially as our first stay was so good (see my other review below). This hotel is great if you want a small hotel that is within easy walking distance of all the sights of Bruges. The rooms are quite small but very well thought out with plenty of wardrobe room. Also the room have easy chairs for you to sit and there is a safe in the room to keep all your valuables. You need to get a key for the safe from Reception and pay a deposit for it but you get this money back at the end of your stay provided you return the safe key. The breakfast in the hotel is really good plenty of choice and the price if very competitive. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucifer-the-cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Beautiful hotel run by a family who care!! Stayed in room 34, it is a excellent room, gorgeous bathroom despite what was previously said! Would definately choose to stay here again!! Great continental breakfast choice!! 10/10

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misde46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

This hotel is very conveniently located in Bruges - close enough to easily walk to everything, but off the main square so you get some peace and quiet. The owners are exceptionally nice, and very accomodating. The rooms were very nice (ignore the previous comments saying they are too small since that is the european standard), and the breakfast was definitely sufficient.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TWCCharlotte_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greasby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2011

This hotel was simply superb. The room that my wife and i stayed (room 34) was very comfortable, had air conditioning and a spacious bathroom(2 washbasins as well).The room was left spotless after cleaning ,something which we did not experience on our previous holiday. Breakfasts were a delight with a choice of cereals,fresh breads,croissants,cheese and meats of three varieties. The atmosphere was calming and relaxing and the owners were very helpful and knowledgable of the area and its attractions. Enjoyed are stay which was made by choosing such a good hotel

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoff710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.0 mi away
Anselmus Hotel
Anselmus Hotel
#29 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#27 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#20 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#10 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#9 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Patritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Patritius

Property: Hotel Patritius
Address: Riddersstraat 11, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Bruges
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Patritius 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Patritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patritius Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing