We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in Brugge”
Review of Hotel Patritius

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Patritius
Ranked #25 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“The place to stay in Brugge”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Very good value for an expensive city. Very good breakfast is included. Rooms are clean and well decorated. Nice courtyard for relaxing in the afternoon. Good location, quiet but close to city attractions. Owners are on site and provide personal service. Will stay there again.

Room Tip: room 33 is one of the largest
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skatecreekrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    187
    36
    3
    3
See reviews for
87
369
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wangaratta, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

Loved staying here! Centrally located, wonderful old mansion. As Australian's we really liked staying in a hotel that had history and European charm. The rooms very spacious and clean, uncluttered and tasteful decor. Bathroom large and clean, great shower and hot water! We found the Wi Fi worked ok in our room albeit the signal a bit weak at times. Breakfast was good, first time in our travels in Europe to have muesli that was not sweetened!! The lounge and reception foyer were spacious and again decorated well. Certainly recommend any one who likes a quiet, relaxed hotel to stay here.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Glen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We stayed here 1 night in August and we were extremely pleased with this lovely hotel in such a wonderful city. We stayed in a family room which was perfect for us travelling with our 2 teens. They had a separate room adjoining ours through a set of French doors. Our rooms, which overlooked the garden, were beautifully decorated as well as peaceful. Breakfast was plentiful and the coffee was delicious. We enjoyed chatting with the owners and found them to be very kind and helpful. Our only regret is that we did not stay longer in Bruges but we know that we will definitely be back and when we do return, we will stay at Hotel Patritius.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Globall_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We spent four nights (Aug 13-16) in this wonderful little hotel. Our room was clean and well maintained, with a firm mattress. As many reviews indicate, the breakfast is very good. The front staff is extremely helpful, the hotel is minutes from the center of town and it is quiet at night. My wife and I enthusiastically recommend Hotel Patritius to anyone visiting this charming city.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcfromca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We stayed here for two nights in mid August. The hotel is beautifully appointed and very clean.

Location. We took a taxi from the train station - 9 euros. I suppose you could walk but the cobblestone streets would be tough on luggage. The hotel is on a narrow, quiet street a few blocks from the main square (10 minutes walk). We were thankful we stayed here as several other hotels we considered were in considerably higher traffic areas and a couple were across the street from noisy nightspots.

Rooms and Hotel. The rooms were large with high ceilings and nicely decorated. The bathroom was a good size. Compared to other rooms we stayed in while travelling in Europe, these rooms were very spacious. There was also a lift which we appreciated after hauling our luggage up the stairs at other hotels. There was no internet in the rooms but it is free in the lobby. Breakfast is in a large room on the first floor. Nice selection of breads, meat and cheese.

Staff. The staff were all friendly and very efficient.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank To_Far_From_Paradise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We were very happy with our stay at Hotel Patritius. The owners were helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The location is not far from the main square. The ability to use the washing machine and dryer (you need to buy tokens) was nice since we were in the middle of a two week trip and packed light.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed two nights at the Hotel Patritius, 8-13-8/15. The room was a very nice size (we paid for the slightly larger double room) and the decor was nice. Everything was really clean and well taken care of. The bathroom was a nice size, updated, and lots of hot water!

Breakfast was great each morning with them offering a hard boiled or scrambled egg, pastries, cereal, yogurt, cheeses, meats, fresh fruit.

They do have a small safe in your room and ask a 20E deposit for the key, which is no problem. Our only issue is the wi-fi. I understand it's supposed to work downstairs or in the garden but we had issues with it there as well as our room. Normally, it wouldn't be an issue, but we were having problems with our bank and it was difficult to connect to our accounts. We did have to end up calling our bank internationally. The charge for two calls seemed reasonable (14E) but it was an inconvenience.

The location was good, except it is a long walk with luggage from the Markt. There is a closer bus stop, but we didn't know about it until asking. We loved Bruges and can't wait to return. I would definitely consider staying here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel du Sablon
Grand Hotel du Sablon
#14 of 97 in Bruges
341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#21 of 97 in Bruges
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ter Duinen
Hotel Ter Duinen
#6 of 97 in Bruges
1,982 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#24 of 97 in Bruges
1,522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#11 of 97 in Bruges
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Patritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Patritius

Property: Hotel Patritius
Address: Riddersstraat 11, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Bruges
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Patritius 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Patritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patritius Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing