We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel!”
Review of Hotel Patritius

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Patritius
Ranked #25 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Rick Steves recommended this hotel as the best in its class - and it was. The owners are always available, and are very friendly and efficient. The hotel is elegant, beautiful, clean, secure and in a great location - just a couple of blocks from the square and around the corner from restaurants and shops. It's on a quiet street and has a nice courtyard. The rooms are beautiful, spacious and clean with great bathrooms as well. The upstairs hallway is really spacious and the downstairs includes a gorgeous chandeliered breakfast room with a super coffee machine that makes everything. They have a nice buffet and also offer to make eggs. There is a library/parlor room and also a small room with a computer/internet that is free of charge - including an english keyboard. They have an elevator as well. Every time we walked into the hotel, the owners made sure that they were available to greet us and to see if we needed anything. They assisted my friend greatly with a day trip that she wanted to attend. I couldn't recommend this hotel more highly and look forward to visiting Hotel Patritius again.

Room Tip: They're all good. Ours was a spacious room on the street and it was delightful and quiet. Othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carolj725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (626)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 626 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2012

We visited this hotel for 3 nights in September. Overall, a nice hotel in a very good location. It is withing walking distance of the town center and most attractions, with many restaurants and shopping nearby. The courtyard was especially nice for relaxing after spending a day of walking and sightseeing. The breakfast was also very good. Our only problem was that the toilet leaked into the floor in our bathroom. My husband advised the front desk of the problem, and later that afternoon we were told that it had been repaired. Unfortunately, it continued to leak, and there was always a puddle of water in the bathroom floor. Upon checking out, my husband informed the front desk that there was a still a problem with the leaking. We were told that it had been repaired, but that it would take a while for the leaking to stop. No one ever apologized or expressed any concern for this inconvenience. I was very disappointed in their response to the situation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sblanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We booked this last minute and had a small room on the top floor with two twin beds. The owner was always available but unobtrusive. The free wi-fi reached our top floor room with no problem. The breakfast was delicious, a choice of meats, cheese and pastries, with juices, coffee, and the owner made us our choice of scrambled or boiled eggs. The street is quiet at night and our room backed onto the hotel's courtyard. Another nice touch was the stand full of umbrellas for guests' use. A five minute walk from the Burg and Markt.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmcnally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Very good value for an expensive city. Very good breakfast is included. Rooms are clean and well decorated. Nice courtyard for relaxing in the afternoon. Good location, quiet but close to city attractions. Owners are on site and provide personal service. Will stay there again.

Room Tip: room 33 is one of the largest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank skatecreekrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Loved staying here! Centrally located, wonderful old mansion. As Australian's we really liked staying in a hotel that had history and European charm. The rooms very spacious and clean, uncluttered and tasteful decor. Bathroom large and clean, great shower and hot water! We found the Wi Fi worked ok in our room albeit the signal a bit weak at times. Breakfast was good, first time in our travels in Europe to have muesli that was not sweetened!! The lounge and reception foyer were spacious and again decorated well. Certainly recommend any one who likes a quiet, relaxed hotel to stay here.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Glen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We stayed here 1 night in August and we were extremely pleased with this lovely hotel in such a wonderful city. We stayed in a family room which was perfect for us travelling with our 2 teens. They had a separate room adjoining ours through a set of French doors. Our rooms, which overlooked the garden, were beautifully decorated as well as peaceful. Breakfast was plentiful and the coffee was delicious. We enjoyed chatting with the owners and found them to be very kind and helpful. Our only regret is that we did not stay longer in Bruges but we know that we will definitely be back and when we do return, we will stay at Hotel Patritius.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank Globall_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We spent four nights (Aug 13-16) in this wonderful little hotel. Our room was clean and well maintained, with a firm mattress. As many reviews indicate, the breakfast is very good. The front staff is extremely helpful, the hotel is minutes from the center of town and it is quiet at night. My wife and I enthusiastically recommend Hotel Patritius to anyone visiting this charming city.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcfromca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#8 of 97 in Bruges
747 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#11 of 97 in Bruges
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ter Duinen
Hotel Ter Duinen
#6 of 97 in Bruges
2,017 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel du Sablon
Grand Hotel du Sablon
#12 of 97 in Bruges
363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#18 of 97 in Bruges
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Patritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Patritius

Address: Riddersstraat 11, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Bruges
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £75 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Patritius 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Patritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patritius Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing