We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Patritius”
Review of Hotel Patritius

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Patritius
Ranked #26 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Patritius”
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Fantastic stay in Bruges at Hotel Patritius. The room is decent enough size and was quaintly decorated. The bed was comfortable and facilities fine.

Location is great. Really less than five minute walk to Market Square.

Breakfast was delicious. Simple selection but all great produce which made it tasty and memorable. Good breads, cheeses and meat selection.

The owners are kind and very helpful. Would definitely recommend here to others!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    184
    36
    3
    3
See reviews for
87
368
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Friendly check in, polite owners.finally a good sized room in europe! Large bathroon with bathtub. Good toileteries. Generous breakfast with freshly baked breads.close to city centre,just a 5 minute walk.Good restaurants close by, especially Cafe Amand recommended by the owners.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deepaktirthani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The location was wonderful for walking around town and the included breakfasts were perfect; the highlight for me was the unlimited use of the fancy espresso machine. Hotel Patritius had a lovely yard with tables and chairs and lounge chairs. The hotel also had a library room with comfy couches; we used it to plan our day. I loved the birds and staircase as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaclyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, FL
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Patritius is one of a consortium of several small hotels in Bruges. It has been an inn for over a century and breakfast is served in a beautiful 17th century drawing room. Your hosts live in the carriage house behind the hotel, which is really more like a B&B, given the hotel has just 16 rooms. Breakfast includes freshly cooked eggs with a variety of continental fare, more than adequate for my tastes.

The room we occupied was quite attractive and comfortable, with a view of the garden area between the hotel and the carriage house, where guests have a pleasant place to relax after a day around Bruges. Room size wasn't large, but was quite comfortable, with perfectly fine linens and amenities. The room also has unobtrusive AC, although we didn't need it except to air out the room when returning in the afternoon. The only downside was that the window without a screen was easy to open and the window with a screen was very difficult to open (I only figured out how to open it after a mosquito has gotten in and nailed me).

Location is superb, far enough away from town center to be quiet, but close enough to get there in a short walk. You can also walk a short distance down to the old circular canal surrounding the city to check out the windmills. We found taxi service from the train station to be very easy, and metered cabs ensure you aren't abused financially (about 10 euros from station to Patritius, well worth it considering the distance is about a mile over cobblestone streets).

If you want to rent a bike for an extended period, there is a natural covered area leading through the hotel building where you can leave it overnight ... the bikes we rented had an integrated locking system and well-maintained shift mechanism. The only trick for bike riding is paying attention to the one way streets as given on the city map. I recommend a bike ride along the canal out to Damme at a minimum (at a casual pace, with stopping, no more than 3 hours round trip). I also recommend the bell tower/museum that you can climb for a small entrance fee ... just get there around 9:30am after breakfast at Patritius to avoid spending time in line, which will become quite lengthy as the tourists begin pouring into town later in the day.

I would cheerfully book this hotel again. It isn't a 5 star accommodation and doesn't try to be, but is well appointed, is an excellent value, and has a fantastic location.

Room Tip: I didn't ask for any particular room, and suspect rooms are generally allocated first come first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JAXers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel in convenient location but away from busy street noise. Onsite laundry facility was a great perk since we were traveling for a longer period. Simple but very good breakfast included was great too.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSicari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This hotel is located less than a 5 minute walk away from the Market Square in Bruges.

Our room was small but the beds were comfortable, and the air conditioning worked perfectly, as did the wi-fi.

The owners were very friendly as was their dog 'Fellini' who enjoyed hanging out in the hotel garden with us. The garden is very nice by the way, with tables and chairs and flowers.

The breakfast spread is good, with eggs available and lots of breads, pastries and cereals.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lachlan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2013

A charming, little family run hotel located in a quiet street, but very close to the main attractions - The Markt, The Bell Tower and so on. Rooms are nice, with enough space and a wonderful atmosphere, with wooden floors and walls with flower motives. We came to experience the fairy tale like atmosphere from this wonderful city and the hotel was part of the experience. The small garden is great for having a coffee, the staff was very friendly. We enjoyed very much our stay at this hotel and would highly recommended.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Carmen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel du Sablon
Grand Hotel du Sablon
#14 of 97 in Bruges
337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#9 of 97 in Bruges
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ter Duinen
Hotel Ter Duinen
#6 of 97 in Bruges
1,968 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anselmus Hotel
Anselmus Hotel
#28 of 97 in Bruges
523 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Patritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Patritius

Property: Hotel Patritius
Address: Riddersstraat 11, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Bruges
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Patritius 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Patritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patritius Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing