We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a reasonable hotel”
Review of Hotel Patritius

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Patritius
Ranked #26 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2008

I booked this hotel through Creast for the Eurostar deals which was absolutely fantastic to have a first class upgrade.

It is superbly located and after a few minutes walk we saw many of the restaurants I had researched within walking distance.

Let me be perfectly honest. yes it's 3 star, but it's quite a good 3 star. The rooms are very small they're absolutely fine but there is some old flat pack furniture that I'm sure they will at some point replace (however lots of hangers which was a huge plus) and the bathroom is extremely small but functions (even if the bathroom floods as there is no shower door just a curtain). The public rooms are very good.

The hotel is very quiet and there is very little noise from other rooms so you didn't have to worry. The TV's are old and small but they do the job and after a long days sight seeing all you want to do is have an early dinner and retire early so this was great to catch up on home TV.

The bit that really let them down is that whilst they were aware of our anniversary this was forgotten. I know it's only a small thing but I do feel it's the little things that make a great hotel.

Good all round hotel and we did have a lovely time here, but I think I would try somewhere else next time.

One final point we stayed during the week and it was an absolute dream being able to walk into anywhere to eat / drink without having to book however when it came to the Friday there was a marked difference. If you are able to try and travel during the week it is so much better. The Ice and Snow exhibition is outstanding too so make sure you see this if it is still on.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (619)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Patritius
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

449 - 455 of 619 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2008

We stayed in the Hotel Patritius in late October. This was our first trip to Brugge and Belgium, but it won’t be the last. The City was captivating and the hotel was just as good.

We had a professional but warm welcome from the owner. Our room was excellent . We had exchanged a couple of emails the week before to arrange parking (5 euro per day for very secure private parking) and had mentioned the hotel booking site had reserved a twin room and not the double we asked for. This was corrected with no trouble.

The room was large, decorated and furnished well (a curious mixture but mainly in keeping with the period) with a large built-in wardrobe ample for our 4 days stay. Bathroom was small but in good working order. NO SHOWER apart from the handheld attachment, but the bath was full size. We always had piping hot water any time.

Radio alarm and TV with the 3 main UK channels. Lots of other languages, even American. Small but good fridge with soft and alcoholic drinks. Only one small niggle, no kettle in the room. We read this in another review and took a travel kettle and had no problems.

Breakfast was excellent for the price and there were plenty of other hotel amenities but we never used those.

The hotel is about 10 minutes walk north east of the main square and there were canals 3 mins walk to the left or right as you leave the building. This always made the walk to and from the other attractions very pleasant. The location was very quiet. We overlooked the front and were never disturbed.

Brugge was fantastic. The people are great. Most seem fluent in at least three languages and were generally in great sprits for what is really one big tourist attraction. We found plenty to do for 4 days and hope to return again, but may look to travel a bit more to Gent or Antwerp next time.

We had one bad experience in a restaurant which was just badly run. There are so many to choose from it’s not worth risking it. So our advice is , if it looks ‘dodgy’ just politely leave and find another just round the corner.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 955Roger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2008

Hotel Patritius is a good looking hotel, well situated in the heart of Bruges, just a few minutes walk away from the Markt. Our room was a smaller than i'd imagined (I believe there are bigger ones in the hotel) but perfectly satisfactory.
My boyfriend made full use of the included breakfast buffet!

The hotel gives you a little discount card for various attractions including boat rides, the Choco-story, the Belfry tower.
There is a great Italian restaurant just down the road called Pili Pili.

Bruges is a lovely city to walk around, don't forget to check out the windmills on the outskirts. I challenge you not to come back laden with chocolate!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Soay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2008

My husband and I had the opportunity to visit Bruges on October 20th and 21st.We spent the evening in the hotel patricius and had a gorgeous room in a truly beautiful old mansion.The new owners have restored it to its original beauty and have mastered the art of making their guests feel very welcome.There is a grand winding staircase visible as you enter the reception area that is spectacular.
We had a room at the top of the stairs that was decorated in a rich red colonial style which was truly beautiful.
The breakfast ,which is included in the rates, is served in an elegant breakfast room and the atmospher is so special.The owner will come to your table and ask if you would like eggs prepared either scramled or soft boiled and inquire as to your beverage of choice-coffe or tea. We requested decaf coffe and expecting a sad instant bag and hot water were pleasantly suprised with a fresh brewed and delicious pot of coffee.In the center of the dining space is a buffet loaded down with juices,cereal,breads,meats and fruit.
The hotel is close to everything and was the highlight of our two weeks in Europe.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank happytraveler5689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2008

FIrst of all--I just LOVED Bruges in general, it is absolutely charming. The hotel was equally so. It's right off the main square, ideally located with tons of restaurants right near it. The hotel itself was absolutely lovely--the decor of the lobby and room was modern yet in keeping with the traditional aspects of the city. The host and hostess were sooooo nice, the room was immaculate, it was nice and quiet during the night and the breakfast was very nice. All in all I do not think you could ask for much more. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amyisinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2008

We found the details of this family-run Hotel Patritius on the web, and booked a room for three nights on a trip to Bruges to celebrate a birthday.

We couldn't have booked a nicer hotel in a more ideal spot, just a few minutes walk from the market square and not a long way from the many attractions found in this beautiful city.

The room we had, on the third floor, was large and very comfortable.

Breakfast offered a good choice of cereals, continental bread, fruit and boiled or scrambled eggs - with tea or coffee, of course.

There is a lot to see in Bruges. We particularly liked the displays in the Museum of the old St John's Hospital (especially the art work of Hans Memling in the chapel), a trip on the canal which gave very different angles on many of the buildings, and the Breydel De Coninck restaurant (conveniently half way between the hotel and the market square).

Summing up ? An excellent location, within fairly easy walking distances of most points of interest in Bruges

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Stillmoving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2008

We stayed at the Patritius Hotel in Bruge for four nights during a bitterly cold spell in March, arriving on a mid-afternoon local train from Brussels.
Luckily our luggage was fairly light as the walk to the hotel from the train station was a good half hour (allowing for a few wrong turns) and as soon as we arrived at the Patritius we knew we had chanced upon a gem.
Housed in a lovely old building a short walk from the main square, our room was absolutely enormous. I think we were extremely lucky with our allocated room as when we casually glanced in other rooms (as you do!) when the doors are wide open during cleaning, our's seemed to be twice the size. The bed was so comfortable and we didn't hear any noise from the street below.
Breakfast was fine with a choice of eggs and set us up for a day's sighseeing in beautiful Bruges.
Bruges is a gorgeous city with plenty to keep you occupied for a few days.
I would recommend the Patritius to anyone who likes a hotel full of character.

  • Stayed: March 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel du Sablon
Grand Hotel du Sablon
#14 of 97 in Bruges
352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#19 of 97 in Bruges
1,269 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ter Duinen
Hotel Ter Duinen
#6 of 97 in Bruges
1,995 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#8 of 97 in Bruges
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Patritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Patritius

Address: Riddersstraat 11, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Bruges
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £80 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Patritius 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Patritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patritius Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing