We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”
Review of Hotel Patritius

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Patritius
Ranked #24 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
Reviewed 31 March 2009

I have just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel and I absolutely loved it. The location is brilliant at about 2-3minute walk from the Brug Square, making popping back to the hotel during the day very easy.

The hotel is very nicely decorated and feels very individual, with each room/hallway being different from others. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. They even happily got breakfast ready early for us, so that we wouldn't go hungry before our early train back.

The room itself was very spacious - we went for the higher grade C room, but I didn't see the other grades so I don't know how it compares. The room was spotlessly clean, with very nice furniture including 2 nice armchairs. The bathroom was large with 2 sinks and a lovely big bath and there was always plenty of hot water. The TV in the room had 3 English Channels; BBC1 and 2 and ITV1, which we appreciated.

The breakfast was lovely. Mostly cold food on offer including breads, danishes, yogurts, fruit, cereal, fruit juices, cheese and cold meats. We were also offerred either scrambled or boiled eggs.

We would definetly recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TanyaBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    184
    36
    3
    3
See reviews for
87
368
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2009

The entrance to the Hotel is very impressive, high ceilings, stunning chandeliers and sweeping staircase together with beautiful individual pieces of furniture make you feel that you are staying somewhere a bit special.
Our room was also lovely, spacious with fabulous large windows and pretty decor. The bathroom was immaculately clean with a great power shower, although no shower curtain so you end up with a very wet floor!
The room facilities are a tiny bit basic, with no tea and coffee making facilities and a little t.v, although Bruge is so stunning you wont miss the television and breakfast is more than adequate with the normal selection of cereal, yoghurts, fruit, pastries, cold meats etc.
The staff were helpful when asked, but not overly attentive. It's a chic hotel, which could be massively improved with a little warmth from the staff.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brunorob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2009

This was my second visit to the Patritius hotel - my first being three years ago with my family - and I had no hesitation in booking again, this time for a romantic valentine’s weekend with my fiancé. I thought this time around it was my duty to add a review in support of this warm and wecloming establishment.

The old-world ambience and charm of the place was just as I had remembered it and the second floor room was both character and spacious with timber beams and a well fitted and modern bathroom. Both were spotlessly clean. The window provided us with a lofty view of the pretty garden and rooftops below.

We stayed for three nights and couldn’t really fault the place. Breakfast is a charming affair. There is a generous choice of (continental) breakfast items with eggs cooked as you desire and the most wonderful freshly squeezed orange juice in endless supply along with as much freshly brewed tear or coffee as you care to consume. This is served in a delightful period room with high ceilings elaborate cornices and imposing fire places giving all of which give a grand period feel.

The hotel is ideally situated on a quiet residential street only five minutes walk from the main market square and the owner proprietor husband and wife are always helpful and polite along and of course speak excellent English.

On the day of our departure the taxi ordered for us turned up ahead of schedule - though the drive was more than happy to wait and transported us to the train station for a reasonable 8 euros.

Overall I am happy to recommend the Patrituis without hesitation. It’s a charming hotel in a wonderful little city. The internet may furnish a choice of cheaper hotels (though at 306 euros B&B for a three night stay is more than reasonable by Bruges standards) but for us this is the place to stay in Bruges. We shall return again.

Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank makingyourmindup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2009

We got a Eurostar deal with Cresta which included first class travel and a choice of hotel and we chose this one because it looked a little more intimate than the other larger hotels.
So glad we did.

The hotel looks great, with high ceilings in the common areas and chandeliers in the reception and dining room. Staff were friendly but not over friendly. Service at reception was prompt and helpful. Our room was comfortable and clean although not over large. We peeked in other rooms and the ones we saw seemed bigger (we were in room 34).

The only slightly annoying thing was our double bed was two singles pushed together and had a tendency to separate slowly, creating an ever widening gap in the middle. They should clamp the beds together to prevent this.

Breakfast was either a boiled or scrambled egg along with a buffet of breads, cereal, fruits, etc.

We really enjoyed our stay and would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zsefjkgijng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2009

Good location 5 minutes from Burg just a little more from the Markt square. Hotel has very pleasant classical reception rooms. Our bedroom was comfortable and perfectly adequate, good shower with plenty of hot water. Breakfast was good with reasonable choice, but cooked option was eggs, scrambled or boiled, that's it. Owners were pleasant and courteous enough but not over helpful. We had the feeling that anything more than the basic was just a little too much trouble. Otherwise very good.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmbleAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2008

The hotel was beautiful!! It's what I expected and above when making the reservations online. The location was perfect, just far enough from the hustle/bustle of the markt but only 5-10 min walk away. The hotel was grand in it's decor, the furnishings and the building itself. Our room was a great size, the Quad family room (no 28), the beds were comfortable, bathroom good size and the whole room was clean. The only thing I would suggest to the owners is get a bigger screen TV, it's set a bit high up on the wall and could be like looking through a letterbox to see the screen. The breakfast in the morning was fresh and laid out nicely, there was a good variety of breads, cereals, fruit etc....they made our eggs to order but we would have liked to have bacon or sausages to go with that. The staff and owners were very nice, they were a pleasure to have a nice quick chat with, they also were very helpful in making sure that our stay was pleasant and helped us out with the parking situation. I would definitely recommend this hotel (price could be a bit high with the £££ dropping in value) but for the person traveling here I would tell them to stay at this hotel.

  • Liked — Pretty much everything about the hotel from the helpful owners to the rooms, etc....and the area.
  • Disliked — Only a few things; price could be a bit pricey if you're on a budget, a bit bigger screened telly and bacon & sausages for breakfast. Minute little things that we wish were included but not that important.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kilikamae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2008

Spent my birthday in Bruges. It was the most amazing four days ever. The hotel was stunning, very friendly and quiet. The hotel staff were lovely. We had a lovely room, right by the lift, but it wasnt a problem couldnt hear anything, thought we were the only people in the hotel!

Breakfast was lovely, choice of scrambled egg or boiled. Fruit, bread, pastries everything. great chance to fill up before a busy day sight seeing. Fresh orange and apple juice. its all self service and the staff leave you to it but are there if you need them.

only 5 minutes to walk to the Markt square, closer than it looks. Lovely location to pop back when your feeling exhausted mid afternoon!

I absolutley loved Bruges and this hotel. It was stunning and i would go again anytime.

it was fantastic

  • Liked — Staff, location, interior
  • Disliked — NOTHING!
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TrustyTravelAgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel du Sablon
Grand Hotel du Sablon
#14 of 97 in Bruges
337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#9 of 97 in Bruges
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ter Duinen
Hotel Ter Duinen
#6 of 97 in Bruges
1,969 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anselmus Hotel
Anselmus Hotel
#28 of 97 in Bruges
523 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Patritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Patritius

Property: Hotel Patritius
Address: Riddersstraat 11, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Bruges
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Patritius 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Patritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patritius Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing