We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good beds, good breakfast”
Review of Hotel Patritius

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Patritius
Ranked #26 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2009

Just returned from a short break, with friends , staying overnight at Hotel Patritius. Arrived early and although we could not check in to our room we were able to park in the garage parking (we had pre booked at 12 euro per night and it was a really big garage). We were made very welcome. We booked the hotels c categorie rooms and they were on the top floor (hotel has a lift) and they were both huge ( 35 and 38). Very clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. The hotel has free tea and coffe between 3and 4pm. The location of the hotel is only 5/10 mins from the town square so no problem finding places to have an evening meal. The continental breakfast was very good, with plenty of choice and you were offered either scrambled or boiled eggs. I would reccommed this hotel and I`m not easy to please.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tconUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (627)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

443 - 449 of 627 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2009

this is a wonderful family run hotel, within a few blocks of the center of town. The place is very well maintained and they have great breakfasts. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travellers-Ont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2009

We enjoyed a 2 night stay at Hotel Patritius last week (April 2009). The location is a short walk to Burg Square and the Markt Square. The entrance and common areas are beautiful - this is an old mansion with high ceilings and plenty of ambience. We had a room on the 2nd floor with windows (huge!) facing the street. It was a very large room - two twin beds pushed together, with a full bathtub/shower combination and one sink. There is also a large closet. The TV itself is small - but you shouldn't be spending your time watching TV in Brugge! There were several english channels and one channel with (older) US sitcoms - in english with flemish subtitles - these were interesting to watch to see the translations...

Breakfast was a large selection of cold items, yogurt, bread, jelly's and jams, cold meats and cheeses, cereal, fresh squeezed orange juice. They also brought you your choice of a scrambled or boiled egg and coffee or tea. More than enough to keep you going throughout the morning.

There is a bus stop just around the corner (2 blocks at the most) where you can pick up the bus back to the station for 1.3E each.

Fabulous stay!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ILnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2009

My friend and I have just returned from a 4-night stay in Bruges. With a choice of over 100 hotels to stay in, I think we chose well with this hotel. Rooms are beautifully furnished and the staff are helpful and polite. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms with low beams and would have preferred one of the larger ones on the second floor which have high ceilings. Lovely breakfasts set you up for a day of sight-seeing in picturesque Bruges - worth mentioning the freshly squeezed orange juice (delicious!). The hotel is in a quiet location but within easy walking distance of the centre of Bruges.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vivacp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2009

I have just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel and I absolutely loved it. The location is brilliant at about 2-3minute walk from the Brug Square, making popping back to the hotel during the day very easy.

The hotel is very nicely decorated and feels very individual, with each room/hallway being different from others. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. They even happily got breakfast ready early for us, so that we wouldn't go hungry before our early train back.

The room itself was very spacious - we went for the higher grade C room, but I didn't see the other grades so I don't know how it compares. The room was spotlessly clean, with very nice furniture including 2 nice armchairs. The bathroom was large with 2 sinks and a lovely big bath and there was always plenty of hot water. The TV in the room had 3 English Channels; BBC1 and 2 and ITV1, which we appreciated.

The breakfast was lovely. Mostly cold food on offer including breads, danishes, yogurts, fruit, cereal, fruit juices, cheese and cold meats. We were also offerred either scrambled or boiled eggs.

We would definetly recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TanyaBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2009

The entrance to the Hotel is very impressive, high ceilings, stunning chandeliers and sweeping staircase together with beautiful individual pieces of furniture make you feel that you are staying somewhere a bit special.
Our room was also lovely, spacious with fabulous large windows and pretty decor. The bathroom was immaculately clean with a great power shower, although no shower curtain so you end up with a very wet floor!
The room facilities are a tiny bit basic, with no tea and coffee making facilities and a little t.v, although Bruge is so stunning you wont miss the television and breakfast is more than adequate with the normal selection of cereal, yoghurts, fruit, pastries, cold meats etc.
The staff were helpful when asked, but not overly attentive. It's a chic hotel, which could be massively improved with a little warmth from the staff.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brunorob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2009

This was my second visit to the Patritius hotel - my first being three years ago with my family - and I had no hesitation in booking again, this time for a romantic valentine’s weekend with my fiancé. I thought this time around it was my duty to add a review in support of this warm and wecloming establishment.

The old-world ambience and charm of the place was just as I had remembered it and the second floor room was both character and spacious with timber beams and a well fitted and modern bathroom. Both were spotlessly clean. The window provided us with a lofty view of the pretty garden and rooftops below.

We stayed for three nights and couldn’t really fault the place. Breakfast is a charming affair. There is a generous choice of (continental) breakfast items with eggs cooked as you desire and the most wonderful freshly squeezed orange juice in endless supply along with as much freshly brewed tear or coffee as you care to consume. This is served in a delightful period room with high ceilings elaborate cornices and imposing fire places giving all of which give a grand period feel.

The hotel is ideally situated on a quiet residential street only five minutes walk from the main market square and the owner proprietor husband and wife are always helpful and polite along and of course speak excellent English.

On the day of our departure the taxi ordered for us turned up ahead of schedule - though the drive was more than happy to wait and transported us to the train station for a reasonable 8 euros.

Overall I am happy to recommend the Patrituis without hesitation. It’s a charming hotel in a wonderful little city. The internet may furnish a choice of cheaper hotels (though at 306 euros B&B for a three night stay is more than reasonable by Bruges standards) but for us this is the place to stay in Bruges. We shall return again.

Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank makingyourmindup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#9 of 97 in Bruges
749 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#11 of 97 in Bruges
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ter Duinen
Hotel Ter Duinen
#6 of 97 in Bruges
2,018 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel du Sablon
Grand Hotel du Sablon
#12 of 97 in Bruges
364 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#18 of 97 in Bruges
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Patritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Patritius

Address: Riddersstraat 11, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Bruges
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £75 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Patritius 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Patritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patritius Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing