We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location , sadly let down by cleaners”
Review of Hotel Patritius

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Patritius
Ranked #21 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2009

Just back from four nights in Bruges - travelled by car so having the benefit of a garage on site (albeit having to pay) was great as we imagine trying to find daily parking nearby could have been a nightmare. There is the option of free parking on site as well but you have to leave keys in case your car needs to be moved. Management were both welcoming and courteous throughout. Sadly we couldn't say the same for the cleaners. As seems to be the trend these days we would hang up our towels if not requiring fresh ones - day 2, hang towels - all replaced. Polite word with manager saying no need to replace. Day 3 - one towel needs replacing so as directed is left on bathroom floor - cleaner doesn't replace but instead folds all towels. Day 4 - cleaner doesn't clean room at all! Complain to manageress who despite it being after 9.30pm and her night off insists on attending to make bed, replace towels, empty bins etc. Final morning and we're still in our room at 10am - cleaner knocks and before we could even respond had entered the room! We explain we have the room until 11am and are still changing, packing and so on. She moans and leaves. We raised this with the management who said the cleaner was new (ex-4 star hotel) and probably being a bit too keen. We would prefer to call her 'intrusive'. Apart from the issue with the cleaner, a good stay although we found our room at the front a little noisy from local traffic driving along the cobbled street - would recommend room overlooking the back . Good breakfast ,although apart from a choice of poached or scrambled eggs, no hot food, although good variety of meats, cheeses, cereals. Great location, everything within easy walking distance. Perhaps a little dear but then again nowhere in Europe seems to be cheap at the moment.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank baser999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (642)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

453 - 459 of 642 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2009

We stayed 2 nights in Bruges and loved it all. The hotel was charming, clean, I would return in an instance. If you have any wheeled luggage, take a taxi if you are arriving by train. We took the bus from the train station and walked the cobblestone streets but opted for a taxi on our return to the station - it was worth it! The hotel is just a tad worn but it was so grand and charming! There was also a wonderful breakfast included. Bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet. Staff was great! There was a computer in the lobby but you had to pay to use it. No wireless.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CleoandMonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2009

Just returned from a short break, with friends , staying overnight at Hotel Patritius. Arrived early and although we could not check in to our room we were able to park in the garage parking (we had pre booked at 12 euro per night and it was a really big garage). We were made very welcome. We booked the hotels c categorie rooms and they were on the top floor (hotel has a lift) and they were both huge ( 35 and 38). Very clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. The hotel has free tea and coffe between 3and 4pm. The location of the hotel is only 5/10 mins from the town square so no problem finding places to have an evening meal. The continental breakfast was very good, with plenty of choice and you were offered either scrambled or boiled eggs. I would reccommed this hotel and I`m not easy to please.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tconUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2009

this is a wonderful family run hotel, within a few blocks of the center of town. The place is very well maintained and they have great breakfasts. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travellers-Ont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2009

We enjoyed a 2 night stay at Hotel Patritius last week (April 2009). The location is a short walk to Burg Square and the Markt Square. The entrance and common areas are beautiful - this is an old mansion with high ceilings and plenty of ambience. We had a room on the 2nd floor with windows (huge!) facing the street. It was a very large room - two twin beds pushed together, with a full bathtub/shower combination and one sink. There is also a large closet. The TV itself is small - but you shouldn't be spending your time watching TV in Brugge! There were several english channels and one channel with (older) US sitcoms - in english with flemish subtitles - these were interesting to watch to see the translations...

Breakfast was a large selection of cold items, yogurt, bread, jelly's and jams, cold meats and cheeses, cereal, fresh squeezed orange juice. They also brought you your choice of a scrambled or boiled egg and coffee or tea. More than enough to keep you going throughout the morning.

There is a bus stop just around the corner (2 blocks at the most) where you can pick up the bus back to the station for 1.3E each.

Fabulous stay!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ILnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2009

My friend and I have just returned from a 4-night stay in Bruges. With a choice of over 100 hotels to stay in, I think we chose well with this hotel. Rooms are beautifully furnished and the staff are helpful and polite. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms with low beams and would have preferred one of the larger ones on the second floor which have high ceilings. Lovely breakfasts set you up for a day of sight-seeing in picturesque Bruges - worth mentioning the freshly squeezed orange juice (delicious!). The hotel is in a quiet location but within easy walking distance of the centre of Bruges.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vivacp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2009

I have just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel and I absolutely loved it. The location is brilliant at about 2-3minute walk from the Brug Square, making popping back to the hotel during the day very easy.

The hotel is very nicely decorated and feels very individual, with each room/hallway being different from others. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. They even happily got breakfast ready early for us, so that we wouldn't go hungry before our early train back.

The room itself was very spacious - we went for the higher grade C room, but I didn't see the other grades so I don't know how it compares. The room was spotlessly clean, with very nice furniture including 2 nice armchairs. The bathroom was large with 2 sinks and a lovely big bath and there was always plenty of hot water. The TV in the room had 3 English Channels; BBC1 and 2 and ITV1, which we appreciated.

The breakfast was lovely. Mostly cold food on offer including breads, danishes, yogurts, fruit, cereal, fruit juices, cheese and cold meats. We were also offerred either scrambled or boiled eggs.

We would definetly recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TanyaBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel du Sablon
Grand Hotel du Sablon
#12 of 97 in Bruges
411 reviews
0.2 mi away
Flanders Hotel
Flanders Hotel
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ter Duinen
Hotel Ter Duinen
#6 of 97 in Bruges
2,084 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Botaniek  Hotel
Botaniek Hotel
#8 of 97 in Bruges
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Patritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Patritius

Address: Riddersstraat 11, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Bruges
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £72 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Patritius 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Patritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patritius Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing