We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Patritius

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Patritius
Ranked #25 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth,Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2009

Exceptionally well appointed hotel, welcoming and comfortable,situated in the centre of Brugge allowing pedestrian access to all the major facilities of the town. Outstanding points of the hotel are the availability of car parking and the magnificent 'continental' breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fergie005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    179
    34
    3
    3
See reviews for
82
355
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
S West
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2009

We booked the Hotel Patritius after reading all the decent reviews on here and there were spot on.

The hotel is in a great location literally a short stroll to the very centre of the city - and it is a short stroll! yet at the same time you dont feel as though you are staying right in the centre. The garages/parking spaces are useful and garages particularly roomy.

Our rooms 33 and 36 were spacious, very clean and sympathetically decorated in an individual stlye - tv is small yes - we didnt even turn it on in the 4 days we stayed so didnt matter. Rooms at back overlooking garden are much quieter rooms at front you can hear traffic in street below and passing people if you have windows open when hot which it was for us. Didnt bother us too much and is nothing like the noise you may get in a similar location in Paris for example!

Breakfast was great and service for this was excellent and the idea of free afternoon tea was good too so made use of that. Would agree with some comments that service was efficient and helpful if not the most warm you will ever get. Often however it is difficult to converse as warmly in a different language although the english spoken by staff was excellent on front desk/dining etc.

The price of rooms are fairly steep if on a low budget but comparably good with what we saw elsewhere - the city is by no means cheap anyway.

Overall I would gladly recommend the hotel for a short stay (it has no bar but given the amount in town is no issue) it was all we wanted and better and would go back there if we returned.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PALOSHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme
Level Contributor
196 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2009

We stayed at the Patritius for four nights in May. We found it excellent in all respects.

The location is perfect, in a quiet street two minutes walk from the Markt and a 10 Euro Taxi ride from the station. If you are local you can nip back between 3 and 4 for complimentary tea, coffee and delicious cake in the hotel's private garden.

The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable with huge beds.I have never slept so well on holiday ( this could also be because of the Belgian beer ). Bathrooms are clean and spacious but only have a shower head over the bath. Downstairs there is a very well appointed lounge and the dining room is excellent.

Berakfast is served at a reasonable time, if you don't want to get up too early you don't have to. There is a good choice of continental breakfast with freshly cooked eggs available.

The owners are a little reserved but very helpful and the hotel is very well run and spotlessly clean.

Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank cabbie37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2009

This hotel was part of our honeymoon trip which the owners were aware of before we arrived. At reception we waited whilst the owner finished his phone call before being served. Despite his we were put into a poor room with one of the worst bathrooms I have seen in a hotel. No shower, black mould round bath and generally very old. (nothing like on website)The room was also overlooking the noisy street when we asked in advance for a garden view. When we complained after one night and reminded them we were on honeymoon we were moved to a room with a shower overlooking the garden. However they still totally ignored the fact that we were on honeymoon. The room service was adequate, but they forgot things both days, and the whole place was in need of an update. There were lots of white laminate units and fake wooden furniture, and my pet hate, plastic flowers!. However on the positive side, the garden was lovely, and the breakfast room was nice as was the breakfast, where the service was very good and there was lots of choice. It was very filling. Overall, be very wary of what room you go in and dont expect anything special.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NorthernSoul94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2009

It was a place I choose because I was having a hard time finding a reservation last minute and it was available. I wasnt expecting much. It has a family owned feel. It is a little run down, but you are in an old european city.. It was clean and they have a lovely garden in the back where you can sit. My only complaint is one of the ladies at the counter was very rude with me, surprisingly very rude! but everyone else was pleasant enough.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbug23LongBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2009

I liked this hotel very much. I chose it based on Trip Advisor reviews. Since I wanted to reserve early and for four nights, I really wanted the right hotel for a longish stay. The room was absolutely lovely. Obviously, enormous care went into furnishing each and every space within the hotel. The sitting room, the breakfast room and the common areas were as lovely as the individual rooms themselves. The morning breakfast included in price was more than one could reasonably expect. Wonderful local pastries, breads and cheeses, etc. Lots of healthy and unhealthy food choices, something for everyone. Fresh orange juice and excellent coffee combined with the lovely ambiance of the breakfast room itself, made the beginning of each day special there. I had a couple of problems with this hotel which may be unique to me alone. I always prefer that a hotel sets a price so that it can include things that have become basic in this modern world we live in. I don't like to be charged for extras that tend to be included in most other places. An extra five dollars to use your hotel room safe, expensive extra charges (per hour) to gain access to a wireless internet connection, slightly less to use the common computer in their lounge. I don't much like 11:00 am checkouts with a stern note in the room stating that after 11:00 one will most certainly be charged for an additional day. These little things tended to take the glow off what would have otherwise been a pretty near perfect stay. Again, maybe its just my preference to be charged for everything all at once. Discussing this with the owner, he explained that profit margins were tight and that his wasn't a business hotel, but so many non-business types also need to connect with family and friends while on the road, touch base, skype, send photos, etc. The world is changing so quickly and I think even small family hotels will need to provide for these changes, even if it means raising prices a bit. It is obvious that the family who runs this hotel is hard working and dedicated. They want to provide the best experience possible for their guests. They do almost a perfect job.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sneilkSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2009

We wanted a larger room than the average for Bruges - and we got that here - and more. The room for four people (No 28) is particularly good for families or friends who don't want to be on top of each other, being two rooms divided by glazed doors, overlooking the pretty garden. Newly decorated and very stylish. This elegant mansion hotel is beautifully kept by the owners who work very hard to ensure the comfort of their guests. Special thanks to Alvi who couldn't have done more to help us. The location is excellent - only yards from the prettiest canal in Bruges and five minutes walk to the central Markt. The buffet breakfast was very extensive and nicely presented.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeejayRutland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.0 mi away
Anselmus Hotel
Anselmus Hotel
#27 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#26 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#22 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#9 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#10 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Patritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Patritius

Property: Hotel Patritius
Address: Riddersstraat 11, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Bruges
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Patritius 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Patritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patritius Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing