We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice comfortable well located hotel”
Review of Hotel Patritius

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Patritius
Ranked #25 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2009

We easily booked the Patritius online, receiving an e-mail confirmation and paid on check out. We chose it on the back of good Tripadvisor reviews and weren't disappointed. The cost was 336 Euros for a twin room B&B for 3 nights in July. The hotel was pretty full Sat & Sun but much less by Tue morning.
We took a taxi from the station for 10 Euros as we weren't sure how far the walk would be on cobbled streets with wheelie cases!
The hotel is well located down a very quiet side street 5 mins walk from the Burg and Markt Squares, close to a variety of restaurants.
Our room, on the 3rd floor overlooking the garden, was a good size with plenty of wardrobe space and bath with shower over but fairly soft beds. Nicely decorated in white & blue but yes the TV is v small and v high - we didn't use it! The window had a mosquito screen which definitely worked as we slept with it open and we didn't get bitten! There was also a complimentary mosquito plug in repeller which we didn't bother using.
Breakfast was lovely and fresh - orange or apple juice; cornflakes, coco pops or muesli; fresh fruit salad; yogurts; breads & pastries; ham & cheese; countless spreads plus hot coffee or tea selection and cooked-to-order boiled or scrambled egg.
The family owners are reserved but will politely help with questions and there's a wide range of attraction leaflets and restaurant cards in the foyer. We received a free discount card valid at all attractions and tours to encourage visitors to stay in Bruges, plus a city guide book. Both on arrival & departure we were able to leave our cases in a side room.
Twice we took advantage of the free coffee or tea between 3-4 pm in the garden which was lovely and it's only 2 Euros at other times.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Parrotfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (619)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Patritius
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

426 - 432 of 619 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2009

Just stayed for three nights in room overlooking garden (27) in sunny, relatively hot weather. The owners were great, the room was clean and pretty, and the garden was beautiful, but with the hot weather the windows needed to be open and the mosquitos ate us alive. The last night we closed the windows for a hot, stuffy night, but the bugs were alrady in since the maid had the windows open. Local purchsed mosquito repel wipes were of no help. We willb be tiching dozens of bites each for days ruining our vacation.

Why is it that window screens seem to elue so much of Europe?

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Artumn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2009

Exceptionally well appointed hotel, welcoming and comfortable,situated in the centre of Brugge allowing pedestrian access to all the major facilities of the town. Outstanding points of the hotel are the availability of car parking and the magnificent 'continental' breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fergie005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2009

We booked the Hotel Patritius after reading all the decent reviews on here and there were spot on.

The hotel is in a great location literally a short stroll to the very centre of the city - and it is a short stroll! yet at the same time you dont feel as though you are staying right in the centre. The garages/parking spaces are useful and garages particularly roomy.

Our rooms 33 and 36 were spacious, very clean and sympathetically decorated in an individual stlye - tv is small yes - we didnt even turn it on in the 4 days we stayed so didnt matter. Rooms at back overlooking garden are much quieter rooms at front you can hear traffic in street below and passing people if you have windows open when hot which it was for us. Didnt bother us too much and is nothing like the noise you may get in a similar location in Paris for example!

Breakfast was great and service for this was excellent and the idea of free afternoon tea was good too so made use of that. Would agree with some comments that service was efficient and helpful if not the most warm you will ever get. Often however it is difficult to converse as warmly in a different language although the english spoken by staff was excellent on front desk/dining etc.

The price of rooms are fairly steep if on a low budget but comparably good with what we saw elsewhere - the city is by no means cheap anyway.

Overall I would gladly recommend the hotel for a short stay (it has no bar but given the amount in town is no issue) it was all we wanted and better and would go back there if we returned.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PALOSHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2009

We stayed at the Patritius for four nights in May. We found it excellent in all respects.

The location is perfect, in a quiet street two minutes walk from the Markt and a 10 Euro Taxi ride from the station. If you are local you can nip back between 3 and 4 for complimentary tea, coffee and delicious cake in the hotel's private garden.

The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable with huge beds.I have never slept so well on holiday ( this could also be because of the Belgian beer ). Bathrooms are clean and spacious but only have a shower head over the bath. Downstairs there is a very well appointed lounge and the dining room is excellent.

Berakfast is served at a reasonable time, if you don't want to get up too early you don't have to. There is a good choice of continental breakfast with freshly cooked eggs available.

The owners are a little reserved but very helpful and the hotel is very well run and spotlessly clean.

Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
1  Thank cabbie37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2009

This hotel was part of our honeymoon trip which the owners were aware of before we arrived. At reception we waited whilst the owner finished his phone call before being served. Despite his we were put into a poor room with one of the worst bathrooms I have seen in a hotel. No shower, black mould round bath and generally very old. (nothing like on website)The room was also overlooking the noisy street when we asked in advance for a garden view. When we complained after one night and reminded them we were on honeymoon we were moved to a room with a shower overlooking the garden. However they still totally ignored the fact that we were on honeymoon. The room service was adequate, but they forgot things both days, and the whole place was in need of an update. There were lots of white laminate units and fake wooden furniture, and my pet hate, plastic flowers!. However on the positive side, the garden was lovely, and the breakfast room was nice as was the breakfast, where the service was very good and there was lots of choice. It was very filling. Overall, be very wary of what room you go in and dont expect anything special.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NorthernSoul94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2009

It was a place I choose because I was having a hard time finding a reservation last minute and it was available. I wasnt expecting much. It has a family owned feel. It is a little run down, but you are in an old european city.. It was clean and they have a lovely garden in the back where you can sit. My only complaint is one of the ladies at the counter was very rude with me, surprisingly very rude! but everyone else was pleasant enough.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelbug23LongBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel du Sablon
Grand Hotel du Sablon
#14 of 97 in Bruges
352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#19 of 97 in Bruges
1,267 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ter Duinen
Hotel Ter Duinen
#6 of 97 in Bruges
1,994 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#8 of 97 in Bruges
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Patritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Patritius

Address: Riddersstraat 11, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Bruges
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £80 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Patritius 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Patritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patritius Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing