We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Disappointed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Patritius

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Patritius
Ranked #25 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Southwold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2010

After reading all the reviews we were looking forward to having a 3 night break in this hotel but the room was a total let down half the size of the other rooms at the same cost .
Good location though and enjoyable stay but dont stay in room 26 its a broom cupboard.

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank cuthey55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    179
    34
    3
    3
See reviews for
82
355
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2010

I was highly impressed with this small but perfectly formed family run hotel. The owners are very quiet, polite and considered. You can see that they have put their all into this business and offer the highest attention to detail in all areas. They work extremely hard to make things run smoothly for their guests and I hope by reading this that they know people appreciate what they do. The hotel is situated only moments away from the main square in Bruges but lies in a quiet street away from the hustle and bustle. The public areas are warm and homely and there is a small courtyard garden which would be perfect on a summer's day to read your morning paper. The rooms are large and you can see a high level of personal investment in the furniture and decor. The bathrooms are on a par with the best and most expensive hotels. If I had one issue it would be that my TV could only be viewed with binoculars... it was so small. Somehow I reckon that the owner will soon get round to installing flat panel TVs when the market allows. WiFi is available in reception but I managed to get a good signal in my room on the top floor. No hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2010

Stayed 3 nights at the hotel, its in a great central location. It's in a lovely big old building and the hallway and breakfast room were quite impressive. Our double room was a good size with a huge bed which was lovely and comfortable. Bathroom was clean and had a good shower. Plenty to eat at breakfast time with a good selection of different things.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenclaws82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2010

Hotel Patritius is only a five minute stroll from the Markt, on the reasonably quiet Ridderstraat – it’s really well located to explore the centre of Bruges. The entrance is pretty spectacular, an old courtyard and garden with a large double-doored reception area off to the right. The family who run the hotel speak excellent English, and we were quickly checked in and put into a room which seemed to have just been decorated, judging by the smell of paint and varnish, and the different wallpaper to the photos we’d seen on the various travel websites. We were overlooking the garden, and had two large twins made up as a double bed, with a nice bathroom and bathtub/shower.

Breakfast was tremendous – a large continental spread of breads and pastries, cereals, meats and cheeses, with chopped fruit salad and fresh orange juice. Plus the option of boiled or scrambled eggs as well. The atmosphere was very serious though, with Mozart in the background and hushed self-conscious conversation between whispering couples. The food was excellent – they also do afternoon tea which is free between 3-4pm, but we were always out and missed this. The room was a bit cold, we couldn’t get the heating to work – but if it had really bothered us we’d have contacted the front desk, of course. The only minor annoyance was the drainage system for the upper floors seemed to run into and then out of our room (as we were on the end), so every time someone flushed a toilet there was a pretty loud gurgling whoosh in our bedroom!

There’s no cover for the desk at night, you are given a four-digit code for the large outer door and buzz yourself in, picking up the key from behind the empty reception. I guess some people might not like that (we could have picked up any key), but there’s a safe in the room if you have anything that’s really precious. The location is great, only a few minutes from everything. There’s a good-value modern Italian (Carlitos) around the corner on Hoogstraat, as restaurants can be very pricey in Bruges, particularly with the strong Euro. We decided to splash out one night and went to Bistro den Huzaar on Vlamingstraat – the food there was outstanding, highly recommended.

One last tip – if you want to buy some chocolates (probably near the top of gift shopping lists for most visitors to Bruges), then the chocolatiers in town are really expensive. If you continue away from the centre along Hoogstraat over the canal bridge into Langestraat, after a few minutes there’s a supermarket (Smatch) where we found exactly the same blocks of chocolate that were €5 in town, for only €1.99.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2010

Family of four stayed in the hotel one night. Check in was quick and easy and the staff was very helpful and accommodating. The room was great. One double bed and two single beds for the kids. The hotel was a five minute walk to the market square. The staff was very helpful giving us information about the local sights and good places to eat. The breakfast was a typical European breakfast with the addition of eggs made to order. Even though we had a short stay we enjoyed the hotel and the city very much and plan on staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familytraveler29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, IA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2010

My boyfriend and I visited Bruges and stayed at the Hotel Patritius for 1 night in Oct 2009. I wish we would have stayed longer! Bruges is such a cool town and the Hotel Patritius was very nice. We found the hotel in a Rick Steves 2009 Brussels, Amsterdam and Bruge Guidebook.
The hotel used to be a mansion. Each room is decorated very nice and has a very cozy feel. We had an en suite bathroom that was much larger than the traditional European bathrooms.
Great location for this hotel.
Breakfast was excellent. The owners put out the regular breakfast items but will also serve you hot eggs upon request. The coffee machine was very nice.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dsmtravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, GB
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2009

If you would like to spend some time in this beautiful city we feel that you will be well served staying at this hotel. It is a very short walk to the central areas of the city and is in a quiet location.

The hotel is a very elegant property having spacious rooms with high ceilings, and most of the period detail has been retained throughout. The bedroom was very large and had a well fitted en-suite bathroom, both of which were well presented and spotlessly clean. All the normal facilities were found in the room or were available from reception.

The continental breakfast buffet is of a good standard. Eating in the large stylish and relaxed dining room only added to the quality.

The two owners provide almost all of the service and they are welcoming, charming, attentive, helpful and talented linguists; their contribution made our stay delightful and that was in spite of the "Eurostar" problems that had a knock-on effect of wiping out their Christmas reservations without compensation.

There was nothing about this hotel we did not like and will use it again when we continue our exploration of this medieval city.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kjmicm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.0 mi away
Anselmus Hotel
Anselmus Hotel
#27 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#26 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#22 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#9 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#10 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Patritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Patritius

Property: Hotel Patritius
Address: Riddersstraat 11, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Bruges
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Patritius 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Patritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patritius Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing