We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a shame about the dirt!”
Review of Hotel Van Eyck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Van Eyck
Ranked #65 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Trusting about all the good reviews, we booked this hotel for a little stay (one night). For sure the host was very kind, helpfull and nice, the position was very good but, on the other hand, our room (#9) was in no way clean! There was dust everywhere, hair and dirty towels... We cannot understand if we were so unlucky with that room or if all the hotel is managed in that way. P.S. pay attention to the stairs.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank ilarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Van Eyck
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2012

Excellent. We reiterate all the wonderful things said in previous reviews. This place is a little gem and the patron is so kind and helpful. Breakfasts were fantastic. A truly delightful stay.We would love to return here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizbetManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

A stay at Hotel Van Eyck is very much recommendable for anyone who is planning to visit Brugge for a couple of days. The hotel is located at a short walk from the Market Square, an excellent location if you want to explore the city by foot.

The landlady is very friendly and helpful, she helped us when we had questions about the city and she did her best to make sure we had a great holiday. She also maintains the breakfasts. In the breakfast room, classical music plays in the background, which I personally thought really made for an even nicer atmosphere.

Our room was very good and I should say that I was impressed with how well it obviously was maintained by the hotel. The bathroom was also certainly satisfactory.

As I wrote in the beginning of this review, I do recommend Hotel Van Eyck. Concluding, I would like to thank the landlady again, for being very helpful and kind.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VRomeijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

My husband and I visited brugge in May 2012 and stayed at Hotel van Eyck. What a pleasure! Marilieu, is not only the owner, but also the cook, the cleaner, the receptionist and tourist guide. Always a happy, smiling face. This hotel reflects the atmosphere of Brugge. Old, but beautiful! Excellent breakfast in a warm, cosy room with classical music in the background. Excellent location. Very close to "grote markt" and sightseeings. We totally recommend this hotel. Thank you, Marilieu, for making our stay an absolute pleasure!

Room Tip: Ask for room 7 for a view over the bell tower
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pixie1505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

My wife, her mother and I stayed here for only one night: as we were passing through and meeting people on this visit to Brugge, we'll be staying longer next time. We've never stayed at the same hotel twice when visiting Brugge: we have found our resting place now.

The location is quiet, yet very central and within walking distance of everything you'll want to see in this lovely city.

The best breakfast selection I've seen in Belgium or anywhere on the continent for that matter and laid out beatifully in the lovingly restored breakfast room. Classical music is playing in the background while you graze through all the breads and cakes on offer. We sadly didn't do the meal justice: we had eaten late the night before and had to leave for the UK early.

Our room was fine: the whole building is old and well used, but it has charm and many good atributes which added together make it an interesting and pleasant place to stay.

Owned and fronted by the same lady: she loves her hotel and it shows!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lincolnshirechap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

As mentioned by previous reviewers, the lady who operates the hotel is charming, sincere, very nice and helpful. The breakfast is lovely - so many different types of breads, pastries, + granola, fruit, and some cold meats. The breakfast room is decorated very beautifully and it was a joy to be there. Within walking distance to the main train station (around 15-20 minutes) and close walking distance to the sights and shopping areas of Bruges. Stale cigarette smoke odour in the room and common areas. Could get hot in the warmer months (no air con). No wi-fi.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayden615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Great location. Excellent and knowledgeable host. Very clean with lots of atmosphere. Breakfast exceeded expectations and in a lovely setting. Price very reasonable and would have no hesitation recommending this hotel. The owner though very busy took time out to help us out with our 101 questions. Well deserved of a top rating.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
#67 of 97 in Bruges
179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Goezeput
Hotel de Goezeput
#32 of 97 in Bruges
720 reviews
0.4 mi away
Canalview Hotel Ter Reien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marcel
Hotel Marcel
#50 of 97 in Bruges
250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Malleberg
Hotel Malleberg
#39 of 97 in Bruges
320 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Acacia
Hotel Acacia
#24 of 97 in Bruges
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Van Eyck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Van Eyck

Address: Korte Zilverstraat 7, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: £68 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Van Eyck 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Van Eyck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Eyck Hotel
Van Eyck Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing