We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the sweetest market in the world” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Markt

The Markt
Book In Advance
More Info
US$175.72*
and up
Paris to Bruges Day Trip
Ranked #6 of 152 things to do in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Singapore
Level Contributor
138 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“One of the sweetest market in the world”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We were lucky, we arrived in Brugge ( or Bruges) in late April, it was a Tuesday afternoon. The Grote Markt has beautiful buildings and lovely architecture. Great place, and it can be crowded in the afternoon. But come evening, most of the crowd has gone as many come only for day visit.

We stayed in one of the hotel, and it was a good choice.

The next morning, we walked to the Grote Markt again and it transformed into a stunning, modernized market. So many varieties and so fresh and lovely market. it was bustling with people and activities. Many of the stalls, are actually long vehicle coach converted into high class stall, selling meat to cheese and another one roasting chickens and meat ( all automated). This is the time where the locals replenish their groceries for a week.

We enjoyed so much and found out that we were lucky to witness this morning market as it only happened once a week and that is on a Wednesday morning. We just could'nt have enough.

So, do time your visit when you come Brugge, you will enjoy much more with this sweetest market we had encountered.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank The-SCH-World-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,011
    1,241
    288
    56
    21
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“One of the prettiest squares in Europe.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Market square has to be one of the prettiest locations in Bruges. Designed like a wheel, the main shopping streets run off the central square like spokes in a wheel. On the periphery is where you will find a large number of cafés and restaurants offering outdoor dining and drinking - the perfect place for people watching.

Be aware however, the prices are very expensive, and, you won't be getting the best fayre available. You can expect to pay €10 for a toastie and €8 for a pint beer. If dining on a 3-course meal, we were paying on average between €60-80 with drinks.

Take a short wander into the side streets and you'll find cheaper and better options - but don't expect UK prices.

This is where the carriages line up to take guests on a 40 min trip around the city for €39 but be aware the drivers expect a tip, and will make sure you're aware of this. The mini bus city tours also depart from Markt square, priced at €16 p/p for a 30-40 min tour. We felt this was a poor choice as the bus doesn't stop to allow passengers to take pics, therefore I'd give this a miss.

Top tip- for a cheaper meal, there is a McDonalds equivalent on the square where you can get a burger type meal with fries and unlimited refill drink for €9

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank The-travel-writer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“It's in Bruges, enough said!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

For a great view, go to the third (?) level at the Historium museum on Markt Square. The view of Grotte Markt from the balcony is spectacular!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajilimojil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Fabulous market square”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Lovely to walk around and take photos but would advise to avoid eating or drinking in the square, it's a tourist trap Magnet.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Favorite Place in Europe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were here during the Christmas market and it was amazing. The waffle carts had great food with lots of tasty topping options (get the caramel!). There were horse-drawn carts that took you on short tours of the city, but we opted to explore on foot and off the beaten path. Everywhere we went everyone was incredibly nice and helpful. We went with two European friends and their family (she's French and her family came with us and her boyfriend is German). My friend's little sister (who is a pre-teen) had a great time and went ice skating. Since they are from northern France they knew the area pretty well and we walked through a lot of winding paths with no other people around, which was wonderful considering how many people were in the square.

Belgium in general was my favorite country, and this was my favorite city.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SiriusScientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Markt also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to The Markt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing