We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely large house in quiet area”
Review of Gasthof Groenhove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gasthof Groenhove
Ranked #61 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Had a pleasant friendly welcome from Heinz on arrival. He told us a bit about the area & gave us a map & marked all the areas of interest on it. He also loaned me a road map of how to get to a beach in holland which was less than an hour away.
Breakfast was from 8.30 till 10. cereals, meat, cheese, rolls, jams etc, enough to keep you going for a few hours. Room was spotlessly clean & freshly decorated. Do bring a kettle though as there is not one supplied. Beds very comfortable & bathroom had a good quality shower.
Free parking is a bonus & its about a 20 minute stroll into the centre of beautiful Bruges.
Had a great 3 days here, would definitely return!

Room Tip: If you have walking difficulty, ask that you are not put in the top floor rooms as the steps are ste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2013

My wife, son and myself recently returned from a short break to Bruges where we stayed at the Gasthof Groenhove. As previous reviewers have stated it is within 15-20 minutes of the centre, has on-site parking (no charge) and clean and spacious rooms. Breakfasts were plentiful with cereal, meats, cheeses, pastries and cake plus a good selection of teas, coffee and fruit juice.

On arrival Hans provides a brief introduction to Bruges and provided us with a map giving directions from the hotel to the various attractions together with a card which, when shown at the attractions, enabled a reduced entrance fee to be obtained.

The room also had a well stocked mini bar, although we did not take advantage of it, we would of preferred tea/coffee making facilities.

Taking everything into account we were very satisfied and would not hesitate in using the hotel again. It was nice to be able to park the car on arriving and not using it again until our departure on the final day.

Room Tip: Our room was number 4 with the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simp001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Agree with all the previous complimentary comments.....a clean small hotel within walking distance of the city centre(c. 15 minutes to the city gate), free wifi etc
Although there are no coffee making machines etc in your room you are only about 200 yards from a very well hidden Carrfour supermarket......where you can stock up for drinks/refreshments for your stay and return journey.
The hotels owner is charming and could not be more helpful.....speaks excellent English ......

Easy to find the Hotel using satnav and you are able to park your car in the large private secure garden.
Bruges is like a much smaller version of Amsterdam but without all the nasty bits and the crowds......the only thing we saw leaning out of a window was a labrador dog sunbathing it's head!!!
Enjoy your stay .....we did

Room Tip: We had room One.....tucked away around a corner on the ground floor....large double bed plus very la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kalives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Nice hotel in a quiet part of the district. 20Min walk into the centre of town. We were 5 adults and one baby and the 2 bedroom accommodation was good. Nice bathroom and shower. We were on the top floor so a little climb but no problem. Host was very helpful and full of information about the things to see in town. Breakfast was good and enough to eat and drink. Several restaurants close by as well as a small supermarket. Good parking, nice garden.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aswell_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Excellent host who spoke good English and was very helpful with his local knowledge. Clean hotel in a quiet location but only 5 minutes walk from local shops, pubs, restaurants etc
Good sightseeing location as only 20 minutes walk from Brugge Centre, but the busses run every 10 minutes.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

A lovely large guest house on the outskirts of Bruges, set in a beautiful garden.

Our room was big and light with traditional furniture. It was very homely, and even had a little Christmas tree, complete with lights. The bathroom was larger than average and had a lovely big bath. Everywhere was very clean.

We realized on arrival that breakfast would be served too late for us, as we had to set off early to catch a ferry at Calais. At first, the landlord seemed a little thrown by our request to have a coffee and a light breakfast earlier than usual, but he said that he would ‘see what he could do’. In the morning we were thrilled to smell freshly baked bread as we went downstairs, and then to realize that he had specially prepared a full breakfast for us. We had a wonderful breakfast and especially enjoyed the delicious pastries and croissants. We really appreciated his kindness in doing this for us.

We would definitely return and recommend this establishment to others.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank europair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

The Gasthof is a great little hotel - has the feel of a guest house but with the practicality of a hotel. The room we had was spacious, nicely appointed very clean and comfortable - a few little touches that they had included made the room feel warm and welcoming. Hans is really nice there to meet and welcome you in, gives you a quick reference of main attractions on a map that he gives you - he is really friendly and helpful without being invasive. Location is a 15-20 minute walk to the centre of Bruges in a residential street. It is pancake flat so as long as you are ok with walking its a very easy stroll, just far enough outside to feel its a break from hustle and bustle of the city when you return. Breakfast is ample, fresh and perfect (for our taste) to start the day. Hans is there to give you coffee and tea as you need. Overall it's just rights for a visit to Bruges - on site parking - saw lots of people lunging suitcases on cobbled streets for city centre hotels- don't do it this hotel is a much better choice. Only suggestion Hans - tea / coffee making facilities in the room - a nice little thing especially in the winter - when we arrived back after an all day in the cold a sit down and cup of tea would have been nice before we set off back out for the evening - but that's a minor issue in a otherwise really good experience! Thanks added to a lovely trip to Bruges!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cumbawsmba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
1.1 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#11 of 97 in Bruges
830 reviews
0.8 mi away
De Barge Hotel
De Barge Hotel
#49 of 97 in Bruges
491 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Weinebrugge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel 't Keizershof
Hotel 't Keizershof
#73 of 97 in Bruges
203 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#24 of 97 in Bruges
626 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Cavalier
Hotel Cavalier
#55 of 97 in Bruges
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof Groenhove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Groenhove

Address: Gulden-Peerdenstraat 30, Bruges 8310, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £74 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasthof Groenhove 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gasthof Groenhove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasthof Groenhove Bruges
Gasthof Groenhove Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing