We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Barge”
Review of De Barge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
De Barge Hotel
Ranked #48 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Stayed here for two nights, Christmas markets and just a quick break. Rooms were small but adequate. Clean and warm.
Very good breakfast, easy walk into the centre of Bruges. Fed the ducks out of the window, they were waiting so it must be a regular occurrence.
I would recommend this Hotel for easy parking and just far enough away from the crowds.
Excellent.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank geranimo138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (488)
There are newer reviews for De Barge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2012

We stayed for two nights and loved it. You only know it's a barge because yes, the rooms are small and the decoration is very nautical. But it's modern, really well thought out and converted. If you want a soulless hotel with bigger rooms, and ambiance out of a procedures manual, then there are plenty of chain hotels out there for you.

We didn't get to try the restaurant because it only opens at weekends in winter (didn't see that on the website). The bar was closed one night - because it's near the coach park and Newcastle United fans were in town; last year it was Birmingham City and the manager had to call the police.

We felt that being on the edge of town added to the charm and the walk through the park was pleasant and at night felt very safe. (You can avoid it). Anyway after a good meal in town washed down with Belgian beer you need some exercise.

The highspot was breakfast. Extensive and good quality. And you can sit at a 'duck-level' window and be watched as you eat.

The manager and his staff were very helpful and attentive.

Frankly we can think of no reason to tell someone not to stay here unless they want to stay in the centre of town.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Two_Tankertonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We have just returned from 3 nights at this hotel. We chose this hotel as we actually live on a barge ourselves so thought it would be nice to stop on somebody else's for a change and we were not disappointed. We had booked the Captains Cabin which had plenty of room for just the two of us and our dog. Our room was on the first floor at the rear of the boat so we had two huge windows with a lovely view of the canal. We had no problems with the shower, it was hot within a matter of seconds.

The whole boat is kept lovely and warm so there would be no problem staying here in the Winter.

There was no smell of smoke as some reviewers mentioned. The window was kept open in the Smokers Lounge and this seemed to do the trick.

We were allowed to take the dog into the restaurant with us for breakfast which makes our lives a lot easier. The breakfast itself was great. We had just spent 2 weeks driving around Europe and the breakfast here was definitely the best by far. My husband liked it in particular because it was the first place he had been able to have bacon, egg and beans. The bacon was an unusual colour the first day we got there so we can see why one of the reviewers did say not to eat the bacon. However on the next two days the bacon looked and tasted like bacon so not sure what the difference was. There is also cereal, fruit, bread, preserves, pastries and pancakes.

Room Tip: I cannot say what the normal cabins are like but we definitely had no complaints about the Captains...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHaines70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012 via mobile

We absolutely loved staying in this quirky hotel, it was so different! Having read the reviews which complain about space, I can recognise that the 'cabin' rooms were snug but that is because the hotel is an actual barge not just made to be like a barge. The service was friendly and helpful and the breakfast offered a great range of quality hot and cold buffet options, tea, coffee and juices. Finally, the location was lovely. Not in central Bruges, it was only a 5 minute walk however through the beautiful Minnewater Park to one of the main tourist streets leading towards the centre. It was also extremely close to the station. I can thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting something a little different.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichelleBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Stayed here for one night in August. Easy enough to find with a satnav, check in quick and easy. We were given a map of Bruges which came in handy when we went out exploring! Our room was at the far end which proved a bit awkward to get to at night as it was pitch black and no lighting! The room itself was good, better than normal cabins you would get on boats, granted it wasn't huge, but the beds were comfy, the tv worked, the fan worked, the bathroom was decent, the shower powerful.
The location was ok, only a 10-15 minute walk into Bruges, however walking through the park late at night was not ideal.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donnym23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Really liked this hotel. The rooms, while not big, are quirky and really comfortable. We liked the barges going by. No too far to walk into the town and it was pleasant to walk through the park. The only complaint was that the shower really needed a good clean.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaHScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We love staying in quirky accomodation, when I found you could stay on a converted barge during a trip to Brugge, we jumped at the chance. The barge is located near to the bus station and so is an easy stroll to it. On checking in, the first thing to hit you is the all prevading cigarette smoke. We are not smokers and so find the smell particulary pungent (unfortunatly, it actually makes me feel nauseus and sick). The male receptionist, although friendly enough, actually blew his cigarrette smoke into my face whilst checking in, not a good impression or start to the stay! The lounge is right in the centre of the barge, at reception, and is actually the only place you can sit and relax. This is also the smokers lounge so if you do not smoke there is no where else to sit. The room was lovely, larger than we thought it would be, with a lovely bathroom. All the walls clad in lovely wood paneling, a sail spread across the ceiling above the bed and other nautical themed pictures and light fittings etc. We thought it was really lovely and tastefully decorated. The porthole windows overlooked the working canal and had a view of a path and trees. Breakfast is served next to the 'smoking' room - there is no getting away from it! and consisted of continental style items. Watch out for the eggs though! They are in a basket, shelled, and as I found out, uncooked! You have to put them a pan of boiling water and cook them yourself! Nearly a disaster! As stated, a lovely quirky place to stay, beautifully decorated clean bedroom and bathroom, shame about the smoke.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iloveholidays50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
2.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Weinebrugge
1.2 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#11 of 97 in Bruges
824 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rosenburg Hotel
Rosenburg Hotel
#39 of 97 in Bruges
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Gasthof Groenhove
Gasthof Groenhove
#62 of 97 in Bruges
132 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Olympia Bruges
Hotel Olympia Bruges
#58 of 97 in Bruges
433 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel 't Keizershof
Hotel 't Keizershof
#72 of 97 in Bruges
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Barge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Barge Hotel

Address: Bargeweg 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £91 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — De Barge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your De Barge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Barge Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing