We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very memorable and quirky for the right reasons”
Review of De Barge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
De Barge Hotel
Ranked #46 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very memorable and quirky for the right reasons”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Myself and my partner stayed for a short break over my birthday in early December.
We loved it. We are a young couple and love places with character that you will remember, this ticked all boxes.
10 min walk to the centre of Bruges maximum. Very quiet area and very friendly staff.
The resturant is certianly worth booking if you are planning a stay, the food was great.
We went at one of the coldest times of the year and were certainly never chilly.
If you get the option, get the Captains Room!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Captains room, certianly worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJFowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    196
    64
    13
    11
See reviews for
39
340
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rivarennes
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Spent 1 night here in December. Good location within easy walking distance of the old town and with free parking. Easy access by road. The restaurant was excellent both for an evening meal and breakfast. Reception was extremely efficient and helpful. Rooms a little small, but to be expected, it is a barge after all. A great place to stay if you are looking for something a little bit different.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frenchkatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tollesbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

If you like boats, you'll love this. A converted cargo barge (not entirely certain about its history) with very pleasant cabins - comfy, cosy, compact, not enormous, but what more do you want? Some cabins have windows which open directly onto the canal for a wonderful morning view. (some cabins overlook the coach park). Easy walk from the Rail Station, even dragging luggage. Excellent breakfasts. Restaurant only open at the weekend evenings and absolutely NO vegetarian options, if that matters to you. Pleasant, helpful staff, lovely place to stay. Would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a "Canal View" Cabin. Costs five euros a night more, but well worth it. Otherwis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPL909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We returned today from a wonderful weekend away. We stayed in the barge hotel which is a short walk away from the town. The barge is on the canal that surrounds the city. It is a quirky place clean warm and very welcoming. Breakfast is good and plenty of it. The rooms were clean and more than adequate, yes they are small but you only sleep in them.
The one criticism I have of our room which was room 30 was that it was above the smoking lounge and the smoke wafted into our room a bit and made it smell.
Bruge is a beautiful city well worth a visit and if you want quirky stay at the barge. The staff were very helpful and polite.
We would stay again.

Room Tip: Don't have room 30 purely for the smokey smell
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heathend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Spent 2 days here.Excellent value with free parking!A good Breakfast spread with views of the canal and big barges sailing past.Restaurant only opens at the Weekend.Had difficulty finding it when driving by car.Road works and diversion tested my skills in the backstreets! Watch out for cyclists who are everywhere and have right of way.The cabin size was OK with a a sliding door dividing it from the toilet and shower.Staff friendly and helpful. The route into old Bruges is across a pedestrian bridge and through a park which I was reassured was completely safe because"this is Bruges!"Make sure you take a street map which you can read in the dark as one beautiful cobbled street looks very much like others in the dark.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sqiffy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed on De Barge hotel on a Tuesday night whilst passing through Bruges. The obvious thing to say is that the hotel is a converted barge moored on the canal and being a barge it's going to appeal to some people more than others. If what you want in a hotel is huge rooms and absolute quiet, then don't choose to stay on a boat as the architectural constraints mean those things simply can't be delivered.

Anyway, De Barge was very easy to find; it's 5 minutes walk from the main Bruges station. There's space immediately outside to park about 6 cars and there's a public carpark nearby. Location wise, it's a 10-15 stroll through a park and old cobbled streets to the central Grote Markt so very well situated. We had the Officer's Cabin which is the biggest room (though still small by most hotel standards) that goes horizontally across the stern of the barge. The room was well decorated; papered with nautical charts and other marine-themed things. It had windows stretching across one side that looked up the canal and gave a great view of the working barges going past and the hungry ducks! The ensuite had a decent sized, slightly sunken shower and hot water was plentiful. Noise wise we could hear people in nearby cabins coming and going and naturally the bigger working barges going past, but it was nothing more than we expected.

De Barge has a restaurant that's open on Friday/Saturday/Sunday, so staying on a Tuesday it unfortunately wasn't open for us to sample, so we strolled across the park to a restaurant on the edge of a canal only 5 minutes away and had a wonderful meal. However I would say that come breakfast (which is the standard, plentiful Belgium buffet of hot bacon, eggs plus all the cold meats/cheeses and pastries) we really appreciated how pretty the restaurant was - especially when decorated for Christmas.

The staff at this hotel are incredibly friendly and as soon as we checked in we were presented with a map of the city and all the information needed about the hotel. The night cost us £91 which, given we had the best room, we thought was very good value for such an unusual stay located in central Bruges and with that rarest of rare thing...free parking!

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the Captain's Cabin that stretches across the stern of the boat and featu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We wanted to spend one night in Bruges and booked a room at this hotel as it looked fairly unique and sounded like a lot of fun.
The room was very charming and was like being on a ship. (It is an old converted ship).
The location of the hotel is next to a public park which is nice but a little bit weird if you want any services like shops or restaurants you would have to drive out or call a cab.
They offered a nice continental breakfast and they also have a restaurant on board which we did not try.
If you are driving there might be a shortage of parking. There are only 3 or 4 spots near the hotel but then again its a tight old city so parking is going to be an issue.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waerytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
2.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Weinebrugge
0.8 mi away
Gasthof Groenhove
Gasthof Groenhove
#64 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel De Stokerij
Hotel De Stokerij
#19 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#10 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rosenburg Hotel
Rosenburg Hotel
#41 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel 't Keizershof
Hotel 't Keizershof
#76 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Barge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Barge Hotel

Property: De Barge Hotel
Address: Bargeweg 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — De Barge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your De Barge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Barge Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing