We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of De Barge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
De Barge Hotel
Ranked #46 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unique Hotel”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This is a lovely unique hotel. One side faces the canal the other onto the car park which is mainly coaches but great for us as we could park right outside hotel for free. The cabins are small but very comfortable and perfectly adequate. Breakfast is plentiful with a good choice. To get to the town is only about 10 mins walk which is through lovely gardens. I loved my stay here and would have no hesitation returning. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We had room overlooking canal which I would think is probably nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1960Louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    191
    63
    13
    11
See reviews for
38
334
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Very good base for visiting Brügge - a few minutes walk to the beautiful historic town centre.
If (as we were) you are lucky enough to get a free parking space right outside and a cabin overlooking the canal, it could not be better. Good breakfast, too.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin with a view to the canal - the opposite side towards the bus parking is less charmin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danishtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed here in March whilst on a weekend break to explore Bruges. Hotel was very good, very helpful staff who were always willing to help.

Odd location, about 5-10mins walk from the centre, directly opposite a coach part on the canal. Luckily we had a room overlooking the canal and not the coaches!

Rooms were a bit small, but as we didn’t spend a lot of time in them this didn’t really matter.

Breakfast was fantastic, great choice and quality. Typical choices were waffles, bacon, eggs, fresh baguettes, fruit, cereal and the list goes on!

Overall enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it if you don’t mind not being near the centre.

Room Tip: Definitely try to get a canal facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Unusual hotel. 1 side the Canal with barges going by. Downside is other side views of coaches and flyover, BUT we did NOT hear any noise when at the hotel.
Good bits are it's away from busy part of Bruges. Also easy access to main parts of Bruges. We went via Minnewater Park. Also walking distance of Konningin Park with fountain/pond and a Band Stand.
The Hotel internal is all Nautical. Breakfast /Resteraunt is set out well. Breakfast was great with plenty of Choice, Fresh Food.
Standard Room is small But this is expected on a Barge. The room was decorated simple but nice.
Only down was a dirty drain of the Shower
Will go again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The hotel was very nice! But the cleaning staff was horrible! Such rude ladies!! But other than that it was awesome! It was very close to everything and the breakfast was delicious! I truly recommend it, nice getaway!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamia14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Just come back from a 4 day break in Bruges. We stayed in the lovely De Barge Hotel. The place was spotless and the manager 'Guy' was super helpful. The breakfasts were excellent with lots of choice. The rooms are small but have everything you need and the bed linen was crispy and white. We loved the main town with its quirky streets and endless shops selling beer, waffles and chocolate. We hired bikes from Pete's bike shop, excellent value at 8 Euro for 4 hours, didn't need them for longer than that as you can cycle around the perimeter of the town in 45 minutes. If you are looking for lively then this is probably not for you, but its perfect for a quiet break with lots of outdoor things to do. The boat trips on the canal are a good way of getting around and the market square and Belfry tower are a must. Would definitely visit this city again. One restaurant to avoid is Vivaldi's, waiters are very rude.... Bruges is not cheap so make sure you have plenty of cash.

Room Tip: Room 35 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orleans, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Away from the crowds and (pedestrian) traffic of Bruges, we found the Barge Hotel, calmly moored on a canal. However, the Old Town is just a short stroll away, on a safe pedestrian path winding through lovely public gardens.
We chose to book The Captain’s Cabin; it was very comfortable, with good linens and bedding, writing desk, modern bathroom & luxurious amenities and a surprisingly powerful shower; large windows looked over the canal and its waterfowl.
All other cabins are priced depending on being port or starboard facing.
Free WiFi, free parking as well as an outdoor patio are all welcomed details that attract picky travellers like us.
The restaurant (open for dinner Fri/Sat/Sun only) offered a good variety and we chose the Entrecote; it was one of the most tender I had ever tasted and was cooked exactly to our liking. The Breakfast Buffet displays a large variety of both hot and cold dishes, including smoked salmon! We lingered longer...
For a romantic getaway or to get away from land just for a while, go to The Barge Hotel for an unforgettable stay.

Room Tip: The Captain's Cabin is the best. Others are priced depending on facing canal or land (patio side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Orleans51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Weinebrugge
0.8 mi away
Gasthof Groenhove
Gasthof Groenhove
#64 of 97 in Bruges
121 reviews
1.2 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#9 of 97 in Bruges
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hotel De Stokerij
Hotel De Stokerij
#24 of 97 in Bruges
332 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rosenburg Hotel
Rosenburg Hotel
#40 of 97 in Bruges
423 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel 't Keizershof
Hotel 't Keizershof
#74 of 97 in Bruges
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Barge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Barge Hotel

Property: De Barge Hotel
Address: Bargeweg 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — De Barge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your De Barge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Barge Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing