We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with plenty of character.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel De Tuilerieen
Ranked #22 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with plenty of character.”
Reviewed 23 November 2012

The hotel is in a central location in Bruges about a 20 min walk from the railway station over-looking one of the canals. There are lots of cobble stones in Bruge, so the journey from the railway station with luggage on wheels will be noisy. It was very easy to walk to all the main attractions of Bruges from the hotel.

We stayed in a room with a four-poster bed which was one of the most comfortable and luxurious that I have ever slept it. The matress was about 1 feet thick and you could fell yourself sink into it when you lay down. The duvet was thick and snuggly. The thick matress raised the height of the bed so that vertically challenged guests might need a leg up. The flat screen TV was a bit on the small side to watch comfortably from the bed. Tea and coffee making facilities were not provided in the room but fast and free WiFi was available in the room.

The bathroom was large and sparkling clean with two wash basins, a bath and a separate shower. The towel rail was heated and there was lots of hot water.

The bar in the hotel was very cozy and inviting with comfortable leather chairs and a roaring log fire. There are signed photographs of celebrities and politicians who have stayed in the hotel. We spent several evenings in the bar but were disappointed that on our last evening we were told that we had to leave for a private wedding function. It would have been good customer service to offer us an alternative of room service drinks.

The breakfast was excellent with a wide choice of the usual stuff including pastries, cold meats, cheeses and cereals and a chocolate fountain!. I particularly like the excellent selection of fresh fruit including strawberries, raspberries, blueberries, mango and pineapple. You could request eggs cooked whichever way you wanted them but I do not think a full English breakfast was on offer. Breakfast was included in our package but is a bit expensive otherwise (£25 pp).

The hotel also has a small swimming pool in what looks like a converted conservatory alongside a Turkish steam bath and a Scandanavian dry-style sauna. There is limited seating around the pool (just one bench) and the piped jazz music was annoying after a while. There are two recliner chairs on a raised platform but be careful of the steps leading to this area as they become very slippy when wet and I almost took a tumble. Bath robes are available free of charge from reception.

The staff were wonderful –always very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    987
    356
    106
    44
    31
See reviews for
251
943
24
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

This hotel is perfectly located for access to the "old town' of Bruges. 50 Paces, turn left and over the bridge and you are enmeshed in the delights of old Bruges. A city of tapestries, lace, historic buildings, the canal and of course top quality CHOCOLATE!
One kilo of fine Belgium chocolate for under 19 Euros. When you compare this with chocolates displayed at railway stations and other tourist sites (we saw 45-100 Euros per kilo) it is great value. Walking the old streets. taking a horse drawn carriage ride or gliding along the canal brings delights that few cities can match.
The hotel. We had a 3rd floor front room with a view of the canal and the old town. The room was a little small - but with clever positioning of your bags - you can take advantage of the facilities. The rooms are clean and very comfortable and have a good bathroom. I must endorse prior comments regarding the breakfast offerings.
I have not come across a better or more varied breakfast on any continent we have toured across the years. You can find delicacies here that will make your mouth water. If we ever have the good fortune to return to Bruges - this is the only hotel we would consider! The quality of the restaurants is the only slight negative we encountered. Perhaps we were just unlucky in choice. However we made up for the disappointments of the evening meal with many cafes/tea house/sweet shop during the day.
Be aware - it is very easy to overdose on chocolate. We found that the only cure was - more! This is a beautiful city/town and very accessible by rail and a short taxi ride from the station.

Room Tip: Try hard for a room with a view of the canal and the old city (front of hotel).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard-Ausartim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We were in Belgium anyway for a Mark Lanegan gig in Brussels, so we thought we`d check Bruges out, on a "somewhere we`ve always been curious about " thing.

We were made to feel very welcome, by the reception staff , and our room was ready, even tho we arrived before midday.
Initially shown a loft room, that was a little smaller than we`d hoped for, we enquired about upgrading. The young lady immediately took us to see another couple of options, and for 25 Euros extra per night, we secured Room 133.
It wasn`t the most magnificent from what we saw, but spacious, clean, extremely comfortable, and wonderful views over the canal.
The clip-clopping of horses on the cobbles and the quiet hubbub as people strolled along the canal was something I never tired of hearing, altho I realise not everyone appreciates that kind of disturbance.
As I said, we have stayed in grander hotels, but it was very tastefully done, intriguing; spotlessly clean and not too stuffy to feel "out of place".
Breakfast was amazingly varied, constantly re-stocked, goes on until midday and consists of an absolutely superb selection of very fine quality food. the staff were most helpful, but not at all "in your face" We tried to make it last as long as we could both mornings !!!
It would`ve qualified for the best breakfast in a hotel ever, if we hadn`t previously experienced the slightly better display at the Hotel Tiergarten in Berlin.
We only used the spa and pool on our last morning. I think I`d describe it as bijou !!! A fairly small area, but perfectly adequate, cutely done and again, spotless.
We thoroughally enjoyed our stay, and would most definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat-and-Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London England
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Agree with all the other comments about location and decoration (though, having been an antiques dealer, I thought they could have used a few real antiques rather than the ersatz variety). We were upgraded to a suite in the courtyard as they had run out of twin beds, so no view, rather troublesome windows and curtains, but spacious, and a lovely soft double bed with down pillows (as at home) for me and a firmer sofa-bed conversion (that suited my friend very well) downstairs in the sitting room. Excellent bathroom with bath and separate shower cubicle and twin basins but a tiny and not-very-well-insulated loo off the sitting area.....The great bonus was the breakfast, the best I've ever known in an hotel - every kind of cereal and porridge to order, high quality coffee made as requested (rare!!!), highest grade fresh fruit (again rare), eggs etc to order, wonderful bread, superb chocolates to finish. It IS expensive so make sure it is include in your package, as it was for us. We also enjoyed the small heated swimming pool and the sauna after a dank day's sightseeing. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ross39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Yes totally agree with all past comments. Excellent location. Our room was up on the third floor in the roof space, with views to the back of the hotel. Large bathroom, separate toilet, tastefully decorated. Duck down pillows/mattress topper, large and comfy bed. The swimming is more of a plunge pool, but probably nice in the summer when it is warm. We paid the 25 euros to park the car in the hotel car park, but the 25 euros each for breakfast was a bit much for us, it would have been nice to have a "poor man's option", perhaps we will indulge when we go back for a "special occasion", there are plenty of options for breakfast close-by.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tryavna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WALLASEY
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

This hotel is everything it says it is. Ideally located from all the sights 2 minute walk to the main Markt Square. Beautiful decor, very inviting and friendly staff. Rooms are lovely and although ours overlooked the back the views were still fantastic. Breakfast was amazing with so much choice !! Gorgeous lounge with roaring fire just right to relax in. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: book bed and breakfast when making reservation as it is 25 euros each per person per day if not. ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2012

This hotel was recommended to us by family friends and it didn't disappoint! Fantastic central location next to the canal and a short walk from the main square. Our room was large, beautifully decorated (as was the whole hotel) and overlooked the canal. The hotel has a swimming pool and sauna which we used several times during our stay and each time were the only people in there! I would recommend paying the extra for the breakfasts as it was one of the best breakfasts we have had- cooked eggs and bacon, continental and a chocolate fountain! I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wanted to explore Bruges.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have lovely views of the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KandJ3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#25 of 97 in Bruges
1,523 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#8 of 97 in Bruges
722 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Tuilerieen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Tuilerieen

Property: Hotel De Tuilerieen
Address: Dijver 7, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Bruges
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#20 Family Hotel in Bruges
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel De Tuilerieen 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atmospheric hotel housed in elegantly restored 15th-century Flemish mansion, decorated with antiques, art objects & rich fabrics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel De Tuilerieen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Tuilerieen Hotel
De Tuilerieen Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing