We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel De Tuilerieen
Ranked #21 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, great location!”
Reviewed 24 December 2012

I came here with my boyfriend for a long weekend, and couldn't believe it when I walked into the room! We had a giant four poster bed, gorgeous French style cream and wooden decor, a large bathroom, our own garden...it was just lovely. Definitely one of the highlights of my trip and definitely one of the best bedrooms I've ever stayed in at a hotel. The hotel bar, although small is extremely sweet and cosy, the staff were always very friendly and the location of the hotel is excellent - just off the main square overlooking the canal. Beautiful!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gsejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    980
    349
    104
    42
    30
See reviews for
247
931
24
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria
Level Contributor
128 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

This may be the best hotel in Belgium, which is a lot to say. It is an exquisite experience best save for a special day. The rooms are lovely, the common areas delightful and the location superb. You are in the heart of the most magical medieval city in Europe, surrounded by canals, cathedrals, classic homes and fine restaurants. Come to be spoiled, you will find Flanders is for lovers.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NelsonVNile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

My partner and I stayed here for a week, a fortnight ago. All the staff were very polite, helpful and brightened up the foyer area. Our room was very luxurious and very comfortable. We were very fortunate to have the pool and facilities to ourselves for most of the evenings and with a lovely lounge area, we felt this was definitely worth the price. The best hotel we've ever stayed in, location is perfect!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeLoveRoma11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Lincolnshire, UK
Level Contributor
132 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

My wife and I spent a night in Bruges as part of a surprise 70th birthday trip for my Mum and we were also accompanied by my sister. We all loved the hotel and we picked it after visiting a few years ago. It has not lost any of its class and is still top notch. Check in was effortless, after leaving our bags for a few hours after arriving early on the ferry. We were shown to our rooms (both individually decorated, and huge) and our cases were brought up to us just after. The rooms are fantastic and we had only booked the standard ones. Both had canal views, were massive, lovely and warm and stocked to the hilt with great bathroom products. The only disappointment for me was the pool area; the pool was OK but the steam room was totally out of action and the sauna wasn't switched on. I did enquire about this but little happened. This did take the edge off the stay a little as I picked the hotel specifically to allow some time to releax in the pool area. Breakfast was excellent but the room was very busy and a little small. However, the quality of the food could not be faulted. We did struggle getting a taxi from the hotel back to the station but this was because of unusually high visitor numbers and was in no way the hotel's problem. Will definitely stay here again, the location and quality of rooms is absolutely excellent

Room Tip: All rooms are good; we've seen 4 and all are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PC&JC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

The hotel is in a central location in Bruges about a 20 min walk from the railway station over-looking one of the canals. There are lots of cobble stones in Bruge, so the journey from the railway station with luggage on wheels will be noisy. It was very easy to walk to all the main attractions of Bruges from the hotel.

We stayed in a room with a four-poster bed which was one of the most comfortable and luxurious that I have ever slept it. The matress was about 1 feet thick and you could fell yourself sink into it when you lay down. The duvet was thick and snuggly. The thick matress raised the height of the bed so that vertically challenged guests might need a leg up. The flat screen TV was a bit on the small side to watch comfortably from the bed. Tea and coffee making facilities were not provided in the room but fast and free WiFi was available in the room.

The bathroom was large and sparkling clean with two wash basins, a bath and a separate shower. The towel rail was heated and there was lots of hot water.

The bar in the hotel was very cozy and inviting with comfortable leather chairs and a roaring log fire. There are signed photographs of celebrities and politicians who have stayed in the hotel. We spent several evenings in the bar but were disappointed that on our last evening we were told that we had to leave for a private wedding function. It would have been good customer service to offer us an alternative of room service drinks.

The breakfast was excellent with a wide choice of the usual stuff including pastries, cold meats, cheeses and cereals and a chocolate fountain!. I particularly like the excellent selection of fresh fruit including strawberries, raspberries, blueberries, mango and pineapple. You could request eggs cooked whichever way you wanted them but I do not think a full English breakfast was on offer. Breakfast was included in our package but is a bit expensive otherwise (£25 pp).

The hotel also has a small swimming pool in what looks like a converted conservatory alongside a Turkish steam bath and a Scandanavian dry-style sauna. There is limited seating around the pool (just one bench) and the piped jazz music was annoying after a while. There are two recliner chairs on a raised platform but be careful of the steps leading to this area as they become very slippy when wet and I almost took a tumble. Bath robes are available free of charge from reception.

The staff were wonderful –always very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

This hotel is perfectly located for access to the "old town' of Bruges. 50 Paces, turn left and over the bridge and you are enmeshed in the delights of old Bruges. A city of tapestries, lace, historic buildings, the canal and of course top quality CHOCOLATE!
One kilo of fine Belgium chocolate for under 19 Euros. When you compare this with chocolates displayed at railway stations and other tourist sites (we saw 45-100 Euros per kilo) it is great value. Walking the old streets. taking a horse drawn carriage ride or gliding along the canal brings delights that few cities can match.
The hotel. We had a 3rd floor front room with a view of the canal and the old town. The room was a little small - but with clever positioning of your bags - you can take advantage of the facilities. The rooms are clean and very comfortable and have a good bathroom. I must endorse prior comments regarding the breakfast offerings.
I have not come across a better or more varied breakfast on any continent we have toured across the years. You can find delicacies here that will make your mouth water. If we ever have the good fortune to return to Bruges - this is the only hotel we would consider! The quality of the restaurants is the only slight negative we encountered. Perhaps we were just unlucky in choice. However we made up for the disappointments of the evening meal with many cafes/tea house/sweet shop during the day.
Be aware - it is very easy to overdose on chocolate. We found that the only cure was - more! This is a beautiful city/town and very accessible by rail and a short taxi ride from the station.

Room Tip: Try hard for a room with a view of the canal and the old city (front of hotel).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard-Ausartim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We were in Belgium anyway for a Mark Lanegan gig in Brussels, so we thought we`d check Bruges out, on a "somewhere we`ve always been curious about " thing.

We were made to feel very welcome, by the reception staff , and our room was ready, even tho we arrived before midday.
Initially shown a loft room, that was a little smaller than we`d hoped for, we enquired about upgrading. The young lady immediately took us to see another couple of options, and for 25 Euros extra per night, we secured Room 133.
It wasn`t the most magnificent from what we saw, but spacious, clean, extremely comfortable, and wonderful views over the canal.
The clip-clopping of horses on the cobbles and the quiet hubbub as people strolled along the canal was something I never tired of hearing, altho I realise not everyone appreciates that kind of disturbance.
As I said, we have stayed in grander hotels, but it was very tastefully done, intriguing; spotlessly clean and not too stuffy to feel "out of place".
Breakfast was amazingly varied, constantly re-stocked, goes on until midday and consists of an absolutely superb selection of very fine quality food. the staff were most helpful, but not at all "in your face" We tried to make it last as long as we could both mornings !!!
It would`ve qualified for the best breakfast in a hotel ever, if we hadn`t previously experienced the slightly better display at the Hotel Tiergarten in Berlin.
We only used the spa and pool on our last morning. I think I`d describe it as bijou !!! A fairly small area, but perfectly adequate, cutely done and again, spotless.
We thoroughally enjoyed our stay, and would most definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat-and-Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#8 of 97 in Bruges
685 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Tuilerieen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Tuilerieen

Property: Hotel De Tuilerieen
Address: Dijver 7, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#14 Business Hotel in Bruges
#20 Family Hotel in Bruges
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel De Tuilerieen 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atmospheric hotel housed in elegantly restored 15th-century Flemish mansion, decorated with antiques, art objects & rich fabrics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel De Tuilerieen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Tuilerieen Hotel
De Tuilerieen Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing