We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does what it says on the tin - Small Luxury Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel De Tuilerieen
Ranked #19 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Does what it says on the tin - Small Luxury Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

Fantastic hotel in a great location close to everything you need in Bruges. Staff were helpful, the room we had was massive and nicely decorated in a traditional fashion. Great bathroom. Nice bar downstairs albeit quite small and pool and sauna etc there too. Parking is a bit of a struggle to get out of but other than that, can't complain. Perfect for couples.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gareth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    967
    342
    103
    40
    30
See reviews for
244
914
24
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

My fiancee and I stayed here for a couple of nights to celebrate our engagement, as a gift from our parents who had previously stayed here and raved about it. They weren't wrong!

From the moment you see the hotel on the beautiful river front, and step into the fancy interior you know this hotel is a bit special. We were then promptly checked in and showed our room, which was possibly the nicest room I've stopped in so far. The room was very large, and very well decorated. We were positioned at the front of the hotel too so could watch the boats go by the river.

The location is great, just outside the hotel you can go on a boat tour or Brugge. A few steps further and the roads toward the centre begins with all the quaint and unique shops, and in the centre itself there is the tower which has magnificent views over the whole town and some great restaurants. Try the flemish stew!

We had breakfast at the hotel, which is mainly a continental affair with cheeses and cold meats (not really our thing); although you could ask for hot food such as bacon (more our thing).

So to sum up, if you want an extra special place to stay with your partner while in romantic Brugge, you can't go wrong here!

Room Tip: The hotel situated just above the flag pole on the front was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottyB1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

This was an amazing hotel in possibly the most beautiful city that we have ever seen. We had a very nice room with a great view. It had one of those tv’s that come out of the cabinet at the foot of the bed. My girlfriend really enjoyed the large bathroom and most of all the bathtub, which was very comfortable to relax in after a cold day walking around. We walked a very short distance to the Christmas market that was going on and had a wonderful romantic dinner at one of the restaurants facing the market. We came back to the hotel and enjoyed a few glasses of wine in their bar area in front of a roaring fireplace. The staff was really friendly and the service impeccable. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LWood2277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed in the hotel for one night at the end of December and had a wonderful stay. We upgraded to an executive classic room which was really spacious had wooden floor boards, lovely furniture, heavy drapes and the most comfortable four poster bed which is very hard to leave!! The bathroom was a good size and had a shower, bath and two sinks. Our room was at the back of the hotel so we didn't have a view of the canal but on a one night stay this didn't bother us. Our friends had a standard room which was smaller and the bathroom did not have a separate shower. In my opinion it is worth the extra money to upgrade particularly if you're staying slightly longer. The one complaint I have about the rooms is that there are no tea/coffee making facilities.

The front desk staff were friendly and professional and gave us clear directions to the car park (at the back of the hotel) you have to pay extra for this but it's a rare benefit for most city centre hotels. We had drinks in the hotel bar and were served by a very jolly waiter - my Champagne came with a few chocolates and strawberries which was a nice touch.

We had breakfast in the hotel and I felt this was the one area where the service is not up to scratch. We had to wait more than 10 minutes before we were asked if we wanted any hot drinks - as there aren't any facilities in the rooms I think this should be asked straight away! There is an excellent spread but I had to go in the kitchen and ask several times for the water and juice to be replenished as well as for clean glasses and plates. The breakfast is expensive as well.

Overall our experience at the hotel was great and we would stay there again but get breakfast elsewhere!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VLA84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

I could not fault this hotel, I can see why it got the "Best Hotel in Belgium 2012"!

Firstly, the hotel is in an excellent location, it is about a 5 minute walk (past many chocolate shops) to the Bell Tower/Market Square and is situated along the picturesque canal.

Furthermore, the interior of the hotel was dressed for Christmas when we stayed (21st December) and was lovely. The hotel is classic and sophisticated and yet modern and comfortable. The bedroom was spacious and the bathroom was clean and contemporary.

There was the added bonus of a small swimming pool, sauna and steam-room which was fantastic as we had it to ourselves at the time and the décor was a Victorian beach style which I loved.

The breakfast was buffet style all you can eat and included, bread, meats, salmon, cereal, pancakes etc and amazingly a chocolate fountain-not something I would normally have for breakfast but when in the city of chocolate I couldn't refuse!

Finally, the staff were friendly and helpful, the receptionist booked a taxi for us and made a restaurant reservation as well which turned out to be a very nice meal. Good service all around. Could not recommended this hotel enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilyC03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

Located very few steps from all the attractions of Bruges.
Our room was at the back and vast. The bare wooden flooring could have done with some rugs for a little comfort.
The bathroom came with both a bath and walk in shower, and twin sinks. And was well stocked with plenty of towels and toiletries. Bath robes are available at reception, coming in handy getting to and from the small but warm indoor pool.
Both the sauna and steam room were switched off, which seemed odd or mean.

Breakfast is not cheap but it is truly excellent. Smoked salmon, Prosciutto, fresh croissants and all the usual, including a wide range of fresh fruits and berries. The coffee and the drinking chocolate were delicious.

After a day tramping about the medieval town and a swim back in the hotel pool, it would be pleasant to sit in one of the comfy chairs provided in your room and unwind with a warm drink (it was winter) before getting dressed to go out for dinner. However there were no tea making facilities.
You can, of course, order a drink though room service, but they charge, which is fair enough, but in addition they charge extra for bringing it to you room.
Result - left me feeling gouged, and annoyed that they are prepared to squander all the good stuff they put into this hotel for a few Euros.

We will probably return to Bruges, but to a different hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NickDidThat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

Loved this hotel. It had an authentic old world charm while having crisp modern baths. Shabby chic meets modern and boutique. Excellent location. Front desk lady was very kind with excellent recommendations. Rooms was so comfortable! Can't beat the high quality for the extremely reasonable price here. Just stayed 1 night which was perfect for wondering the city and relaxing in our beautiful hotel. Oh and they have a POOL????!?!!? Very surprising for a boutique hotel like this!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanceFlossTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#10 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.1 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Tuilerieen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Tuilerieen

Property: Hotel De Tuilerieen
Address: Dijver 7, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#14 Business Hotel in Bruges
#20 Family Hotel in Bruges
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel De Tuilerieen 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atmospheric hotel housed in elegantly restored 15th-century Flemish mansion, decorated with antiques, art objects & rich fabrics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel De Tuilerieen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Tuilerieen Hotel
De Tuilerieen Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing