We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, charming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel De Tuilerieen
Ranked #22 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2014

In my opinion of the best hotels in Bruges, as matter of fact during the boat tour (a must), the guide showed the hotel as one of the greatest. Many actors and singers like Colin Farrell stayed there during the shooting of the movie "In Bruges".
Our room was huge (number 41), with 2 queen beds, very quite even though it was on the ground floor. Bathroom was very big as well. Staff was really friendly and nice. We didn't have breakfast so I can't judge it. Free wifi in the whole structure. There is also an inside swimming pool, sauna and turkish bath.
Position is perfect, right in front of the canal, and 5 min walking from the main square.
I absolutely recommend this charming hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gipsyqueen90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

450 - 456 of 1,546 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

on a calm street overloooking the canal but a black away from the main squares. Parking at the back, a nice little terrace for afternoon drinks. Did not use the spa and indoor pool but looked attractive. our room was ample and impeccable. A shame the bathroom did not contain a shower or a shower holder in the bathtub though.
Wi-fi reception was spotty at best in the room (3rd floor) and the doors are thin and do not isolate you from the noise in the hallway (like a crying child in the morning for example).
But aside from these details, we loved our stay and would come right back next time we return to Bruges

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

At first, they have us a room at the back of the garden. It's smelt bad and the floor was cold. I was so disappointed....
Then they changed us to another room in the main building which was just perfect. Large room, perfectly decorated with a view on the canal. The bathroom is not perfect, but it's clean, modern and ok.
The rest of the hotel is very nice, you can stay there to read and have a cup of tea if you want. The location of the hotel is perfect.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QueshuaParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Had a stunning room over looking canal on first floor - well recommended here on this site. Usually choose modern but wanted an old style charm for our romantic birthday weekend away ( child-free) - hotel did not disappoint. Didn't find noise an issue - think the moaning on here a bit over the top! However, we did not have a co-joining room. Breakfast hall was lovely. Love to swim and went twice in two days - always by ourselves. Staff so welcoming. Just included tea and coffee in room as we stayed - which was lovely. Read a book with a cup of good English tea in a beautiful window side chair and kept looking up for the view. Did ramble all over Bruges but enjoyed some quiet moments in that lovely room. Not cheap - organised a deal over phone which happened to include breakfast but a real treat! Think hotel should rank higher. Gave me all I dreamed of before I arrived. Location is really perfect too.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosa132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

When we made our reservation, it did not include breakfast. That was a deliberate choice on our part because we did not want to pay 50 Euros for breakfast for the two of us. There was a free continental breakfast at the meeting I was attending and my wife would have chosen to go with other wives to a cafe for breakfast. When we arrived at the hotel, the young lady on the desk told us that we had a room upgrade and that breakfast was included. Needless to say, we were surprised and pleased. There was another couple with us who were told the same thing. At NO time when we went for breakfast, were my wife or I asked to sign any document indicating that we were responsible for paying for breakfast. When we checked out, we were surprised to be told that we were responsible for 3 days worth of breakfasts. We asked that the Manager be contacted about this. Mr. Vandenheede absolutely refused to consider that it was possible that we had been misled, despite the confirmation of my colleague. He stated that we would have been required to sign a document at breakfast confirming that we were required to pay for breakfast. I asked him to send me a copy of the document that we had signed at breakfast knowing full well that he would not find one. Mistakes are made and his clerk clearly made one at check in that resulted in us paying 150 Euros that we would not otherwise have chosen to pay. it was the interaction with Mr. Vandenheede that soured our feeling about our stay here. We politely communicated with him via email after we left but he absolutely rejected our claim and was not prepared to offer any solution. Other than that, we were very pleased with our stay. With the exception of the misstatement at check-in and Mr. Vandenheede, the staff provided great service.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
8  Thank Drpfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeTuilerieen, General Manager at Hotel De Tuilerieen, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Sir,

Many thanks for you review.
We wrote indeed several emails to solve this situation.
During your check in our front desk officer informed you and your friends about a free upgrade.
She never mentioned to offer breakfast for free. They are not allowed to offer such discount.
On your reservation form it was clearly indicated that breakfast was not free of charge.
During our emails, you mentioned that the person who checked you in and gave in your opinion the wrong information was a "brunette'. However later you changed your story that this girl was a blond girl. You also mentioned that nobody was asked during breakfast to sign a document, however that is not correct. In another email there is mentioned that our breakfast staff did ask your friends to sign a document.
I do understand this situation is not nice to experience, however I do believe that if you make your reservation and you are informed on your reservation form and in the leaflet we give all our guests during check in, that breakfast is not included, you are responsible to know that breakfast is not included. If all our guest would inform us during check out, breakfast was offered complimentary by somebody who checked us in, it's of course a difficult situation. For this reason, we never allow our staff to offer breakfast complimentary.

With kind regards,


Vandenheede Kristof
General Manager
Hotel De Tuilerieën

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Fabulous hotel in heart of Bruges! Stayed for a couple of nights after visiting Ghent with my Husband and 2 kids. Chose hotel as there aren't many options for hotels with pools in area and a swim with the kids at the end of a sightseeing day is always a treat!
Hotel has not disappointed. Staff very helpful, bars and lounges enchanting,pool small but very nice and quiet (we were the only ones there each time used it) and also had a steam room and sauna. Location good, right in historic part of town and close to all main attractions. Room and decor really nice.
Only minus points are because of noise. We had a room on first floor looking over canal.....at first seemed wonderful but there's no double glazing and the street noise was quite loud during the night and early morning. More bothersome though was the adjoining room......we had a connecting door that whilst locked had no soundproofing at all. Our Dutch speaking neighbours, whilst I'm sure were lovely people,woke us up super early with their lively early morning chat and smokers coughs! It was like we were sharing a room with them.

Would I stay at this hotel again, yes it was just lovely in so many ways.....but I would ask for a room on the back overlooking the courtyard in a quiet location and would definitely not take a room with an adjoining door!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Voyage-Jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My husband surprised me with a trip to Bruges for our first wedding anniversary and I have to say that the Hotel De Tuilerieen is not the normal sort of hotel we stay in (we usually go for something s bit more budget as we spend so much time out and about while on city breaks) so this was a lovely surprise! The location of the hotel is excellent - a short walk to either the main Markt sq our the Church of Our Lady (although nothing in Bruges is that far away!). We realized we could have walked to the hotel from the train station - however a taxi was only 7 Euro. We arrived before our room was ready but the staff were very helpful giving us maps and explaining the area and locking our bags away while we went to explore. When we were able to get in to our room it was gorgeous - Room 242 - it has gorgeous canal views, a 4 poster bed and large bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was great. The room was almost so nice it was a shame to leave it and explore Bruges! From the windows you can hear the bells and the horses going past.
We did not have breakfast at the hotel as it was an additional 25 Euro which I thought was a little steep. We did not use the pool or spa due to the length of time we were in Bruges.
When we came to leave again the staff were happy to take our bags and call a cab - very helpful.
I would recommend the Hotel De Tuilerieen for a special treat!

Room Tip: Room 242 - lovely canal views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bryonybooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#9 of 97 in Bruges
756 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,568 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Tuilerieen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Tuilerieen

Address: Dijver 7, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Bruges
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#20 Family Hotel in Bruges
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £127 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel De Tuilerieen 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atmospheric hotel housed in elegantly restored 15th-century Flemish mansion, decorated with antiques, art objects & rich fabrics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel De Tuilerieen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Tuilerieen Hotel
De Tuilerieen Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing