We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible customer service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel De Tuilerieen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel De Tuilerieen
Ranked #20 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Horrible customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary and wound up having a horrible night's sleep due to a noisy and broken a/c in our room. The staff were incredibly unhelpful and rude when we told them about the problem. It was not only the front desk staff, but the hotel management as well. It was the worst customer service I have received from a hotel ever.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Megan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    959
    342
    102
    40
    30
See reviews for
241
909
24
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

A little apprehensive a after reading some recent reviews but we could not have been happier. We booked 5 months ago and on arrival found we had a large room, extremely comfortable beds, great bathroom with a bath, a desk, much needed aircon and a canal view. Extremely helpful and efficient front desk and everything was just brilliant. We did not have breakfast included and got some great tips from the front desk about where to eat. Free wifi and car parking available as well definitely recommend this place as it is so well situated to explore this beautiful city.

Room Tip: Ask for room 231!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Well, I'm not quite sure what to say about this hotel. There are some positives and negatives. The photos of the rooms are quite gorgeous. In person, a bit dated, but OK. Bathroom was iffy, not terrible, but not great.

In the plus column: great location, centrally located and walking distance to just about everything. We went with our two children and were able to stay in an executive double with 2 beds no problem. Our room had nice views of the canal. We chose this hotel because of the pool which are hard to come by in Bruges. It is in a nice small greenhouse type of room, but the pool is quite small.

The other big minus for us that others have mentioned was a musty (almost like cats) smell as you enter the lobby. It is too bad as this hotel has the potential to be great.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank christineg754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Unfortunately our room booked several weeks in advanced was allocated to the attic. Room has a separate bath and toilet facility. The toilet "closet" appears to have been an after thought, from space perspective. The room has low ceiling and tight for even an average height person. The furniture reminded of IKEA company. There is not much of lobby as you enter the hotel. So called Old world did not quite ooze out from any of the spaces used, including the lounge. In fact it looks tired.

Room Tip: stay away from attic rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I stayed for almost a week in one of the loft rooms on the top floor. The hotel has great character and is well located away from all the noise of the town square but only 5 mins walking to all the action. I actually prefer this location because it is easy to get to the Church of our Lady and other sites on the same side of the river. View from the room over the canal was lovely. Can be noisy during the day with the horse carriages and tour boats but the tourists mostly start coming around 10am and thin out after 4pm. Staff were very friendly and seemed fluent in several languages.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

This is a really beautiful hotel in a great location, very close to everything. The staff are very nice. The rooms are spacious and the bed was very comfortable. We would highly recommend this hotel and hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spagnolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is classed as one of the most expensive hotels in Bruges but if so it is well worth it.
The ambience is superb with old world Flemish charm and décor with a lovely garden area at the rear. The rooms (We had a superior deluxe on the second floor - recommended room 235!) are expansive with separate bathroom - more like a mini suite. The view over the canals was wonderful and we had perfect site of the Bell Tower in a morning when the Eastern sun lit it up like a beacon. Some may not appreciate the road noise but it did not disturb us and was all part of the cosmopolitan feel of beautiful Bruges. The staff are exceptionally helpful.
If you visit Bruges do not miss the chance to stay at this wonderful Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Front with views to the Canal are exceptional - rooms 234 and 235.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkiery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#10 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.1 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Tuilerieen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Tuilerieen

Property: Hotel De Tuilerieen
Address: Dijver 7, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#14 Business Hotel in Bruges
#20 Family Hotel in Bruges
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel De Tuilerieen 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atmospheric hotel housed in elegantly restored 15th-century Flemish mansion, decorated with antiques, art objects & rich fabrics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel De Tuilerieen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Tuilerieen Hotel
De Tuilerieen Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing