We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel. Very expensive breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel De Tuilerieen
Ranked #22 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Leicestershire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel. Very expensive breakfast”
Reviewed 31 July 2009

This hotel is fabulous, great location and nice staff. The only issue we have was the cost of the breakfast (30 euros per head). If you're going here make sure that breakfast is incluedd in the price, otherwise this 'extra' can prove to be a bit expensive.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydHandley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    987
    356
    106
    44
    31
See reviews for
251
943
24
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2009

The breakfast was very nice with a super chocolate fountain, the staff is very friendly and helpfull. The hotel is located in the center of Brugge so you don't need your car anymore once you are there.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 75batman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2009

This was our second stay at the Tuierieen.Last time we stayed in a suite with four poster bed but no view and this time we stayed in a standard room in the eves with a view of the canal from the velux windows . For the amount of time spent in the room we felt that the standard room was perfectly adequate and despite being small was just as well appointed as the suite. The breakfast is to die for if you like chocolate and champagne.It is a self service buffet with a great choice of fresh breads and pastries as well as pancakes, home made chocolate spread, meats, cheeses, fresh fruits and a small selection of cooked food. But the main focus is the chocolate fountain with a tray of melon and pineapple to skewer and dip in. There is tea, coffee, juices and you can help yourself to champagne. You can take as long as you like over it without feeling pressured to move on and it will certainly keep you going for most of the day.
The location is right in the heart of Bruges, overlooking one of the main canals and with plenty of restaurants and bars to choose from nearby.
All of the above are good reasons to stay at the Tuilerieen. However I couldn't help but feel that it has passed it's heyday. Some areas seem to lack a bit of simple maintenance and the spa could do with a bit of updating. We had to ask for the steam and sauna to be turned on as if they were cost cutting and only putting it on when required. When it was turned on we had to wait for it to heat up and then it didn't work properly. Towels were provided but there was no drinking water, which I consider should be standard in any spa and certainly one which sells itself as luxury.
The receptionist also had to work the bar, so that when she was serving in one there was no one else to serve the other. It just felt like more cost cutting and not what you expect from a hotel which prides itself on being a member of " The leading small hotels of the world".
If you can bag a good deal on the Internet then this is a great place to stay but I wouldn't be happy to pay full price when there are so many other places to choose from in Bruges.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tabithaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doncaster
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2009

Very good service from friendly, helpful staff. Clean, comfortable rooms, with a constant supply of fresh towels and bed linen. Excellent breakfast, from freshly cooked eggs, to chocolate fountain and champagne !
Bruges is ideal for a few days break, endless places to eat and drink, and you are always made welcome.
Athough there is secure, private parking at the hotel, we used the station car park this time, for only 2.5 euros a day.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benjaminDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2009

This hotel is a short walk to all the attractions. It's not cheap but go to price compare site for a deal. Staff are helpful with great service. Rooms are comfy, we stayed in one of the courtyard rooms, very quiet and large. Great bathroom. There is a 'Turn Down' service with chocolate which was a nice touch. There is no coffee making or kettle. Great food in the restuarant but it is not operated by the hotel and they like cash but you can add to your room bill if you are persistant. Breakfast is Euro 30 including as much Champagne as you like. If this is too much for you turn right out of the hotel, left over the canal bridge and there is a great little cafe on the left! It was Euro 25 per day for T.V and internet connection, expensive considering the room rate. If you approach the hotel by car and it's on your right go past and turn right at the next junction then look for a small turning on your right. You will now be heading towards a dead end! Turn right under an arch and you will see the metal gates into the hotel courtyard parking. Book this in advance. You can get a canal ride on a tourist boat oposite the hotel. Horse and cart guided tours are popular. This is a great city, compact, safe and east to get around. The people are friendly and nearly all speak English. Lot's of tourists but this only enhanced the feel of the place and the people watching factor! Check out 'what's on' as they have live music, Jazz, Rock etc in the main square. It's packed but free! We made the jounrey by car via the tunnell and it only took a max of 3 hours door to door from central Kent. It was easy with the Tom Tom and the traffic in the city was minimal.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillybuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2009

We arrived late morning and were awed as we stepped into the hotel. The hotel is luxuriously appointed, yet instills an instant sense of comfort. The hotel is well staffed and the staff are fully service oriented. The location is perfect from which to visit the city and nearby World War I landmarks.
The room was comfortable and large for European accomodations. The bed was large and comfortable, there was a suitable sitting area, desk and bath with shower AND bathtub. Mais oui!
We will return there should we ever visit Belgium again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SullyBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beringen
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2009

This hotel was really fantastic. The ideal place to have a romantic visit to Bruges. The rooms were very beautiful and clean. Also a good place to relax (sauna, jacuzzi, etc...) Breakfast was really really good and the service is of outstanding quality. Your wish will be fulfilled by the friendly staff, and always with a smile. Nothing is to much for them. I can recommand this place to everyone who want to have a nice stay in Bruges.

Fam. Vanlommel

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erwin1257897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#8 of 97 in Bruges
722 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#24 of 97 in Bruges
1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.1 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Tuilerieen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Tuilerieen

Property: Hotel De Tuilerieen
Address: Dijver 7, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Bruges
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#20 Family Hotel in Bruges
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel De Tuilerieen 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atmospheric hotel housed in elegantly restored 15th-century Flemish mansion, decorated with antiques, art objects & rich fabrics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel De Tuilerieen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Tuilerieen Hotel
De Tuilerieen Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing