We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly hip and cool”
Review of Charlie Rocket's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Charlie Rocket's
Ranked #29 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Bruges
Reviewed 19 May 2013

My friend and I were totally surprised when we saw an American-themed bar instead of a hostel that we booked for our trip to Bruges. Got a bit anxious that the hostel did not really exist. We later found out that the rooms were upstairs and so we felt a bit excited about the set up. However, we didn't have the chance to spend time in the bar. The stairs and hallways to the rooms were pretty dark at night but it was ok. The rooms were clean. The bathroom and toilet were shared but they were clean as well. Nothing to rave about the facilities, but the fact that they were well-kept made us like the place and it exceeded our expectation as hostels in europe especially in italy can be horrible. Moreover, there's some real hip vibe to the place that makes us want to go back. We love Charlie Rockets!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Superstrut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2013

This place is heaven....for people like me and for people who aren't like me....hahaha just joking. I think I quickly fell in love with this place. Though I went there alone but once I reached there I wasn't alone anymore. I met there Bridget, Sammy and their "Google-mouth" gang...they were ready to explain every thing in the world.. we spent several hours drinking beer, eating brunch, chatting, playing pool and doing other mad stuff...It was great. Next time I'll be here, I won't be wasting any time and will come back here directly....loved this place!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salah_B257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

I spend 3 n. Here, in is a n definitely young place. Good admosf, great draft beer and the bedt in middle of everything. Good price if u are a backpaker like me.
The cleand is ok, but dont spect a tub or jacuzzy, is more like a bed and breadfast or guest house.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moniclone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I have recently returned from a 3 night stay while being part of a 40 man rugby touring side.
I will be brief the rooms are cramped and very dated and dirty (2 members of team were bitten badly by fleas!!1). Breakfast is basic ! a couple of sliced loafs dairy lea , jam or marmalade.. oh and a cup of coffee all in bar area. Drinks very expensive 9 euro for a vodka and lemonade !!! come on its a back packing destination.

So in short although I thoroughly enjoyed my weekend on the rugby side this accommodation is a one night stay only and move on folks , very basic and in need of a good clean.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

I recently visited Charlie Rockets with a friend and we had a great time. First of all the hostel (and remember its a hostel before you expect a 5 star hotel) was really cool n hip. Being a old converted cinemadds to this and you get the feel of an enjoyable place as soon as you enter. The staff were really helpful and friendly, and helped tell us good places to go not just in Bruges but in antwerp and brussels too. The rooms are basic, but were very clean, which is exactly what I expected for a hostel. Wasn't expecting to be blown away by the rooms. The pool room in the place is also good, and is a good place to meet people. Don't have anything bad to say about Charlie Rockets, and think people who do slate it haven't researched it as a hostel. Will definitely return if I go back to Bruges.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Soy mochilera, y este establecimiento deberia cobrar mucho menos por habitaciones tan oscuras y sucias. Los baños y las duchas lo peor, no habia agua caliente y echaban muy poca agua. En la habitacion escuchabamos la musica del local y no pudimos dormir.

I am a bag packer, and this hostel it is too expensive for the quality that they offer. The rooms are really dark and dirty. The showers and the lavatories worst, there was not warm water and even no enough water. In the room we can heard the music from the bar, and was imposible to sleep.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

This is my favorite place in this city as it caters every requirement: great music, wonderful ambiance and easy place to meet new people. Staff is helpful, rooms are good, comfortable bed , clean bathrooms. AND… they have pool tables !! Location is central, close to all major sites. Very good experience it total.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lida O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Passage
Hotel Passage
#88 of 97 in Bruges
121 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
2.7 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
#68 of 97 in Bruges
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Youth Hostel Europa
Youth Hostel Europa
#12 of 38 in Bruges
118 reviews
0.4 mi away
St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus
2 mi away
Herdersbrug Youth Hostel
Herdersbrug Youth Hostel
#28 of 38 in Bruges
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlie Rocket's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlie Rocket's

Address: Hoogstraat 19, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Bruges
Price Range: £34 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Charlie Rocket's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlie Rocket`s Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing