We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a long weekend break”
Review of Hotel Cordoeanier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Cordoeanier
Ranked #37 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel for a long weekend break”
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Perfect location, right next to the Markt. Very friendly and helpful staff! Rooms were very clean, towels and bedding replaced everyday so it was perfect for our short stay in Bruges! The adjoining Cafe Rose Red was lovely, very cosy and they have lots of choice of Belgium beer!

Before we arrived we thought it was quite pricey for a small hotel however considering it was the weekend before Christmas and the location was so good we now think it was great value for money!

There were no real negatives about the hotel, the bathroom could have been a bit bigger and the floor sloped a little but considering the buildings are old and narrow we kind of overlooked this!

Overall its a great little hotel and if we come back to Bruges we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronnie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordoeanier, Owner at Hotel Cordoeanier, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Hello,
Thank you for the positive review.
Your review is what our future guests trust when deciding where to stay in Bruges.
Thank you again for your honest and helpful feedback.
Hope to welcome again!
Kind regards
Nathalie
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    553
    148
    31
    12
See reviews for
259
490
42
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Midwest USA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

While our room was tiny, it was very clean and attractive. The location can't be beat with great restaurants nearby and all the sights within easy walking distance. The staff was helpful; and the breakfast really wonderful. The bar area offers lots of different kinds of beer. For the price, it's a very good buy in Bruges. We enjoyed our stay greatly. Also, it's very close to a bike rental shop. Charming...

Room Tip: I'd spend a bit more and get a larger room in the same hotel, but then again we were staying fou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naturelover60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordoeanier, Owner at Hotel Cordoeanier, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Hello,
Thank you for the nice review!
Our hotel location is indeed fantastic; at only 150 meters from the market square.
In our bar we try to serve the best Belgian beers in the appropriate glass.
We try to give a good breakfast to start the day.
I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Nathalie
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 December 2011

9 friends and I stayed at the Cordoeanier 9-11 December 2011 and it was an absolute gem of a find. The hospitality from Kris and staff was excellent and the hotel and rooms were very clean and tidy. The bar is absolutely lovely with more choices of beers than you can wish for! Thanks for a lovely stay and the warm wecome we received - we will definately be back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahMutlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordoeanier, Owner at Hotel Cordoeanier, responded to this review, 31 December 2011
Hello,
Thanks for the nice words.
See you again with the next girls weekend!
Kind regards
Nathalie
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

I did three night here at the beginnig of December. Upon arrival the reception staff were very helpful and friendly and our rooms were ready for us, we asked for adjacent rooms with our friends and got them. The rooms are small and functional but I went to see Brugges and not the inside of a hotel room, I loved the carved wooden swan at the bottom of the banister rail on the stairs. The hotel is situated just of the main market square and is within 3-5 minutes walk, access to the hotel could be tricky for the less mobile and people with restricted mobility wuld be better to check. It is tucked away in a narrow street that was very quiet. Its location could not be better , I found everything within walking distance, shops, sights and bars.The hotel staff informed me that the doors were locked at 2230 hrs and the adjoining bar "The Rose Red Cafe" closed at that time too, 2330 at weekends, thats why I described it more of a guest house than a hotel. We had keys to get in. I found the bar prices expensive but cannot single out the hotel as every bar I went in seemed very expensive. There are a great range of beers to be had in this and almost every other bar, just be careful, The four of us called off for a couple of drinks on our way back to the hotel and ended up with a 77 euro bar bill.
The further you walk out of the city centre the lower the prices seemed to become.
Be prepared , Brugges is an expensive city, shops bars restaurants et al.... be sure to shop around, the bars and restaurants on the market seemed to be the most expensive and not always the best quality,
I was disappointed with the quality of the Christmas Markets, they have a long way to go to match their German neighbours.

Room Tip: THe hotel has two premium rooms the rest are just functional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordoeanier, Owner at Hotel Cordoeanier, responded to this review, 31 December 2011
Hello,
Thank you for your honest and helpful feedback.
All our rooms have different sizes due to the age of the building, but we try to give all rooms the comfort they need.
For the less mobile people we have 2 rooms on ground floor, it's best to check if they are available before booking.
Our bar prices are almost simular to the other bars in the city. But, some "hard to get" beers cost more than the ones you'll find everywhere.
Kind regards
Nathalie,
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkswell, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Stayed here with two other couples for a long weekend in early Dec. Rooms are basic, but very clean, and the staff are amazing, very friendly and helpful. However, the gem of this place is the bar, Cafe Rose Red. Beautiful decor, cosy atmosphere and a great selection of Belgian beers. I would stay here again if I return to Bruges.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElvishBadgerQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordoeanier, Owner at Hotel Cordoeanier, responded to this review, 24 December 2011
Hello,
As we value any feedback highly we are always happy to read the reviews that we get.
Especially if they are positive.
If you come back to Bruges you have stay with us again, to discover our renovated part, and to taste some more off our beers.
Kind regards
Nathalie
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadworth, Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We have stayed in Bruges many times, and vary our hotels. The Cordoanier was not only reasonably priced, but was comfortable, very close to the main square, and unusually has a Very Good bar which is becoming popular with non-residents (Always a good sign). The Bar is THE place to sample Trappist and other beers, 150 of them, and the Proprietor is very expert at advising on these strong brews. All in all; a very pleasant weekend, and we will return.

Room Tip: Very old building; don't stay here if you are wheelchaired, or don't do stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolmdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordoeanier, Owner at Hotel Cordoeanier, responded to this review, 24 December 2011
Hello,
Thanks for the nice comments on the hotel and bar.
We hope you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back in the bar to taste some more of our belgian beers.
Kind regards
Nathalie
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

We were there for one night in Bruges travelling back from Cologne on our road trip.
Arrived 7pm and the staff couldn't of been more helpful especially as I had my 5 month son with us. Kris let us change our room at the last minute as we checked in, provided a kettle for feeeds, no fuss, no problem and more importantly no extra costs!
The location is fantastic and the market square looked so picturesque with the Christmas stalls and ice rink. The bus from the central station (5min ride and recommended) drops you off in the Market Square and the hotel is a 2 mins walk. Even the bus drivers speak good English as were helpful.
The hotel Cafe Rose was idyllic even more so with Christmas decoration and accompanied by lovely period music which really set the scene. I tried the Christmas Beer (10%!) on the recommendation of the barman (whose French name escapes me!) - very helpful and polite chap.
The breakfast was good, again with lovely music in the morning just sets up the mood and your day.
We checked out but left our bags in the hotel for a quick walk around the town. One night is Bruges is not enough. With less than an hour from Dunkirk by car I'll be looking to return next year.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damien_Kane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordoeanier, Owner at Hotel Cordoeanier, responded to this review, 24 December 2011
Hello,
Thank you for the pleasant review.
I'm glad that we exceeded your expectations for friendliness and service.
We hope to welcome you in the future, also in Rose Red, where Gilles will help you with other recommendations!
Kind regards
Nathalie
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marcel
Hotel Marcel
#51 of 97 in Bruges
244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cavalier
Hotel Cavalier
#55 of 97 in Bruges
189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Malleberg
Hotel Malleberg
#38 of 97 in Bruges
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Goezeput
Hotel de Goezeput
#32 of 97 in Bruges
701 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bla Bla
Hotel Bla Bla
#33 of 97 in Bruges
250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Acacia
Hotel Acacia
#23 of 97 in Bruges
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cordoeanier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cordoeanier

Property: Hotel Cordoeanier
Address: Cordoeaniersstraat 16 - 18, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Bruges
#43 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cordoeanier 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Hotel Cordoeanier is a stunning 2-star hotel located in the heart of the mediaeval town of Bruges." Hotel Cordoeanier is centrally located in a quiet side street close to the market, at the heart of the mediaeval town of Bruges, which is also called the Venice of the North. The homely atmosphere as well as a personal and warm reception heartily welcomes guests to this oasis of rest. The hotel has 22 rooms, including 2 luxury rooms which are on the ground floor. The comfortably furnished rooms can accommodate up to 4 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cordoeanier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordoeanier Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing