We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive for the Quality”
Review of Hotel Cordoeanier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Cordoeanier
Ranked #34 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Too expensive for the Quality”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

The Hotel Cordoeanier was fine- however we spent 110 Euros for the night and the bathroom did not even have a door! Just a curtain. They also put us on the ground floor which we did not like. The room we had reserved was a double room and we ended up getting a room with a double bed and a twin bed. I would have been happy with the room if we had only spent 50 Euros for the night but unfortunately I feel we greatly overpaid for this hotel. The location however was ideal.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordoeanier, Manager at Hotel Cordoeanier, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Hello,
Thank you for the review on Tripadvisor.
You booked the luxery room in our hotel. This means these rooms are on groundfloor.
We do not have any of these rooms on other floors. These rooms can have maximum 3 people so there is 1 double bed and 1 single bed in the room. The separte bathroom, wich is in the hallway of the room, has a curtain. But you can always close the door between the room and the hallway if you want more privacy.
I hope you enjoyed visiting our city and that you will visit us again!
Kind regards
Nathalie, reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    550
    145
    29
    12
See reviews for
255
486
42
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We only stayed one night here, but a lovely little hotel right in the center of Bruges. We came over by boat with our car from hull to zeebrugge. Parked at the central station which was easy to find €3.50 for 24hrs parking and that includes a bus transfer to the city centre which takes 10min max then the hotel is less than a few min walk. Reception were very helpful and you can by a map from them for €0.50 and they will tell you how to get to any where you want to go. The rooms were basic, but why would you want any thing more in such a beautiful city and the breakfast was good. If I was to change anything the only thing I misses was a full length mirror or a separate mirror in the room which would be useful and the light over the bed was very low and when packing the suitcase u kept hitting my head on it and it did not give off loads of light due to position. But saying that it would not stop me from staying there again and I intend to next time I'm back in Bruges.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natwho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Maine
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We booked this hotel based on trip advisor reviews. The location was great, rooms comfortable and very clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We booked the brewery tour with dinner package which turned out to be a great value for what we got. Dinner at the package resturant was excellent well beyond what we expected. We will stay here again

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordoeanier, Manager at Hotel Cordoeanier, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Hello,
thank you for the review on Tripadvisor.
we hope to welcome you again, in the near future, for one of our other packages.
Kind regards
Nathalie, reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We loved Bruges and we loved staying at the Cordoeainer. Simple, clean, just off of the market area and perfect for sight seeing and close to great restaurants. If you are a beer lover the rose red cafe in the hotel has an amazing selection of Trappist and Belgian beers in a cozy atmosphere. There are only a few others bars in town that will rival the selection at rose red. Staff was great- we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Stayed here on a short break. Received friendly welcome and reception staff very helpful
We had a room for three with a double and two single beds. Good size and VERY comfortable beds. Shower was excellent, too.
Good selection at breakfast with friendly service.
Situated a stone's throw from the Market Place and just around the corner from the Chocolate Factory.
Would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I liked this place basic no frills city centre location a nice cafe bar open till around midnight or so offering a nice mix of local beers.The staircaes are winding and if you are over six foot mind yer hied (watch your head). The rooms are clean but a little small but ours did have both loo and shower and enough room to get round the bed as always our travel inflatable pillows were needed never stayed in a hotel where I could rely on their pillows not to give a stiff neck the next morning either to soft or too hard. The room was clean and the bed great not to soft.
There was no lift in this hotel that I saw and access to the rooms were through 2 different entrances. Your key was for the main door no 24 hour reception.
Breakfast was good a basic range of cerial, cold meat, cheese and breads they also offered yoghurt and fruit.
A good basic hotel fine for 2-4 night stay as there was limited storeage for clothing and cases but for a short stay on a budget in beautiful city great.

Room Tip: Room numbers starting 3 anyone over 6 ft needs to watch their head on the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wistfultravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordoeanier, Owner at Hotel Cordoeanier, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Hello,
Thank you for the review on Tripadvisor.
"Big people" should indeed watch their head on the staircases. In the "old days" I believe, people were a lot smaller (it was build in 1625).
We do not have a 24h reception; reception is open from 8a.m untill 23p.m. But you can always reach us by using the phone in your room.
We hope to welcome you again someday in Bruges!
Kind regards
nathalie, reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

My title says it all really and I can only support many of the earlier reviews. I have stayed here twice and will do so again.
Lets start with the facilities, rooms are small and fairly basically furnished and the bathrooms are tiny. The rooms do however have some individual character and are perfectly acceptable for a city centre property being clean and comfortable.
Kris and the staff are all really obliging and helpful. There is an attached bar ( The Cafe Rose Red) which doubles up as a breakfast room and breakfast is buffet style with both hot and cold choices.
The bar is open throughout the day and in the evenings and serves a great range of trappist beers.
The big pluses for this hotel are its location, just a few minutes from the main Markt and its budget price which is remarkable for somewhere so central.

Great place for a short city visit, probably not for you if you are looking for a special romantic weekend.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cavalier
Hotel Cavalier
#54 of 97 in Bruges
187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marcel
Hotel Marcel
#52 of 97 in Bruges
235 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bla Bla
Hotel Bla Bla
#33 of 97 in Bruges
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Malleberg
Hotel Malleberg
#41 of 97 in Bruges
309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#26 of 97 in Bruges
609 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cordoeanier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cordoeanier

Property: Hotel Cordoeanier
Address: Cordoeaniersstraat 16 - 18, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Bruges
#43 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cordoeanier 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Hotel Cordoeanier is a stunning 2-star hotel located in the heart of the mediaeval town of Bruges." Hotel Cordoeanier is centrally located in a quiet side street close to the market, at the heart of the mediaeval town of Bruges, which is also called the Venice of the North. The homely atmosphere as well as a personal and warm reception heartily welcomes guests to this oasis of rest. The hotel has 22 rooms, including 2 luxury rooms which are on the ground floor. The comfortably furnished rooms can accommodate up to 4 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cordoeanier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordoeanier Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing