We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bar and Great Service but Poor Hotel”
Review of Hotel Cordoeanier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Cordoeanier
Ranked #43 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Arranged a one night stay with my girlfriend for her birthday, the main reason was to go to the adjacent bar cafe rose red (roses hang from the ceiling very romantic etc). Booked the deluxe room and was greeted by very friendly and helpful staff who helped us book in, provided a map of the area, told us places to avoid.

The deluxe room we had was located by the front door, and you can hear all the passing traffic. Presumably they can hear you too....The curtain was ripped, and the window looked out on the outside bar area (again people could look in). The room was very dark and the toilet seat in the bathroom could definitely do with changing. The floor in the bathroom in puckered (due to the poor positioning of the shower) and probably the worst thing is I woke up with bite marks on my lower ankle. Perhaps bed bugs should be checked for.

Although the room didn't take away a great deal from the one night stay I was left disappointed considering the 110 euros I had paid for one night and the general poor quality of a supposedly deluxe room.

I given the choice again I would have opted for a room outside the city centre which in all probability would have been nicer and cheaper.

All this being said Cafe Rose Red is not to be missed.

Room Tip: Asked where it is located. Ask what the room looks out on. Rooms tend to be very dark.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Coeus146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordoeanier, Manager at Hotel Cordoeanier, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Hi,
Many thanks for writing your comments on our hotel.
Refering to your remarks of perhaps bedbugs in your room.
We checked the room and could not find any bugs, to be 100% sure we asked a special compagny to check on it, They confirmed that there where no bugs in the room.
But anyway to be really sure we have done a proper cleaning in the room together with the cleaning compagny and put the room out of order for 1 week.
Referring to your comment on the bathroom: toilet seat is replaced, and the curtain will be replaced this week.
We are very sorry that you where not satisfied on your stay in our hotel, but we appriciate
your comments, .
Best regards
Kris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,104)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Cordoeanier
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 1,104 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed here with my husband and another couple. Gorgeous small hotel with a lovely little terrace for beer tasting ☺️ Hotel is in a great location minutes away from main square but tucked away in a very quire side street. Hotel staff are all very friendly speaking fluent English and recommending places to see and visit. We parked a few minutes away very cheaply at 9€ per 24 hrs in the cleanest underground car park I have ever been in next to the library. There are many lovely restaurants to chose from minutes away from the hotel but avoid the main square as they do charge more for the privilege. Rooms and en-suite are on the small side but perfectly adequate. The breakfast at the hotel was great so cannot recommend the hotel highly enough. I recommend the canal tour as the guide was very amusing. Bruges was a wonderful city break with far too many chocolate shops to chose from

Room Tip: Ask for extra pillows!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Excellent location, and priced reasonably for Bruges. Friendly staff. Had a good safe place for storing bicycles. Nice interior garden area for beer and snacks. Charming old building. Lovely breakfast. Small bathroom. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jksj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

we stayed for two nights, PERFECT location two minutes from the very city center, really nice hotel, clean, comfortable, the staff were very friendly and we loved the breakfast! absolutely recommended!!! we will certainly come back

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonaeJe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The hotel was brilliant. It is in a great location just a 2 minute walk from the Markt but is in a lovely quiet and peaceful spot. The hotel has a great bar, reasonably priced and with a welcoming atmosphere and good range of beers. The staff were all very friendly and happy to help, including recommending a great beer in the bar. The room was a little basic, just lacking a few finishing touches but was very clean and spacious and perfect for a few days sightseeing. Overall it was a lovely stay and we would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EWTP2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Good, friendly staff. It's authentic and overall clean. Room was a little small and so was the bathroom. It's quite pricey for what it is but then all hotels in Bruges are expensive. I would still recommend it. Very very close to the main square.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lazar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Friendly, clean with old world charm. Everything you need for a short stay. Literally a minutes walk to the main square and sites. A fine selection of Belgium beers are served in the Red Rose Bar. As we drove to Bruges, we found a good underground carpark about 10 minutes from the hotel, costing 18 euros for 24 hours.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauracoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marcel
Hotel Marcel
#50 of 97 in Bruges
250 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bla Bla
Hotel Bla Bla
#34 of 97 in Bruges
252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cavalier
Hotel Cavalier
#55 of 97 in Bruges
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Goezeput
Hotel de Goezeput
#32 of 97 in Bruges
720 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Malleberg
Hotel Malleberg
#39 of 97 in Bruges
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cordoeanier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cordoeanier

Address: Cordoeaniersstraat 16 - 18, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Bruges
#43 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £77 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cordoeanier 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Hotel Cordoeanier is a stunning 2-star hotel located in the heart of the mediaeval town of Bruges." Hotel Cordoeanier is centrally located in a quiet side street close to the market, at the heart of the mediaeval town of Bruges, which is also called the Venice of the North. The homely atmosphere as well as a personal and warm reception heartily welcomes guests to this oasis of rest. The hotel has 22 rooms, including 2 luxury rooms which are on the ground floor. The comfortably furnished rooms can accommodate up to 4 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cordoeanier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordoeanier Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing