We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly disappointed”
Review of Hotel Cordoeanier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Cordoeanier
Ranked #34 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Slightly disappointed”
Reviewed 23 November 2010

Hotel Cordoeanier is in a fantastic location. Positives: location great, breakfast very nice, the bar/restaurant (where you also eat breakfast) is gorgeous, very pretty. It was warm - but my friend and I were both way too warm during the night, we both woke up we were so hot, and had to remove our duvets for a time to cool down. Negatives: the location is very central but seems to be a small back street so we were amazed how noisy it was - not very sound proofed; noise from other guests was hard to block out, plus noise of people leaving early, cars on the street etc. The single beds (we were in a twin room) are very small and the mattresses so soft we both had trouble sleeping and my friend had a lot of lower back pain during the day. Also, the sheets were not dirty, but the hotel had had a problem with the place that cleans their sheets and blankets, and my sheets were covered (on top and underneath - i.e. where my body would lie) with loads of fluff balls from the blankets. When we asked for the sheets to be changed the hotel said that they had this problem with all their sheets; they knew about it and said the sheets arent dirty (we knew this) but they had no solution. Not nice to sleep on sheets like this - although they arent dirty, I dont want bits of fluff attaching themselves to my pyjamas. I probably would not stay there again, it was adequate but not great.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaughingJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordoeanier, Owner at Hotel Cordoeanier, responded to this review, 28 November 2010
Hello,
Thank you for choosing our hotel and staying with us during during your city break.
I'm delighted that you were satisfied with our service; however, i'm sorry that we did not meet your expectations in other aspects.
Due to the age of the building and the fact it wasn't build to be a hotel you can sometimes hear other people leaving early. Also that's why the rooms have different shapes and sizes.
We know about the problem with our sheets. It is like you said; the sheets are not dirty but they are covered with fluff balls from the blankets wich are on the bed. At this moment we washed the blankets about a dozen times and they stoped fluffing. Now we are busy taking all the "fluffing balls" of the sheets.
Altough you did have some complaints about our hotel, we hope your stay in Bruges was a memorable one.
Kind regards
Nathalie, reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    550
    145
    29
    12
See reviews for
255
486
42
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2010

Hotel Cordoeanier is in the heart of medieval Bruges, has a great staff, is a great value, has a great Belgian beer bar in the attached Café Rose Red and I'll definitely stay there again the next time I go to Bruges.

It's located on a quiet cobblestone street less than a five minute walk from the Markt. The staff was incredibly friendly and knowledgeable, had guide books in every language at the desk, and spoke great English. They gave us a hand-made booklet about what the hotel offered and fun things to do in Bruges. They have great wifi (fast and no hassle to get on) and a complimentary continental breakfast (toast, cereal, eggs, ham, coffee, juice, yogurt, fruit) which wasn't very remarkable, but it's there and that's a big plus in my book.

The room was decently sized for two, though the bathroom was very tight. I don't personally find complaint in that but I know others mind having space. Comfortable bed, good sheets, huge window, two tables, a wardrobe, and a TV.

The real highlight was Café Rose Red which is in the hotel and is open to the public. The staff of the hotel know their beers very well and they have an excellent selection. They'll happily explain anything you'd like to know about Belgian beer whether it's visiting the Trappist monasteries or just choosing one to drink. They have two on tap(!) and a very healthy selection in bottles. Everything is served in the appropriate glass and the bar is a very attractive and charming wooden establishment. When we stayed they didn't serve food and it would've been nice to order a side of cheese or bread but with all the choices literally around the corner this is a minor complaint (e.g. the world class beer bar Cambrinus is literally around the corner and the worldwide top ten beer bar 't Brugs Beertje is a ten minute walk away).

The next time I go to Bruges I'm not even going to price shop for other hotels. Hotel Cordoeanier offers an excellent experience for a great price.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdokas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordoeanier, Owner at Hotel Cordoeanier, responded to this review, 28 November 2010
Hello,
Thank you so much for your comments below regarding your stay with us.
It was nice to read all the compliments about our hotel, service and staff.
If you like you can write a review on Tripadvisor about Rose Red.
See you next time!
Kind regards
Nathalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimbo
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2010

Loved the bar in this hotel, so cosy and fantastic beer. Hotel is really nice, very friendly staff and with a good breakfast. Very centrally located to all the sights. Rooms are small but well equipped. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzieloo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordoeanier, Owner at Hotel Cordoeanier, responded to this review, 28 November 2010
Hello,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us.
It's nice to know you were satisfied with our hotel and it's services.
We hope to meet you next time in Bruges.
Kind regards
Nathalie, Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2010

This hotel has the best location/price ratio I can imagine. The central location helped make our trip terrific. The breakfast of scrambled eggs, bacon, cereal, yogurt and breads was very convenient and well presented. The staff was very friendly but professional. The room was a bit small. The bathroom was smaller and may be difficult to manage for larger people; I am 5'8", 160 pounds. I am not certain where it would fit, but there is no soap in the tiny shower, but a soap dispenser above the tiny sink. The attached Cafe Rose Red has a pleasant atmosphere. There is also a quiet patio. Finally,the free wifi is a nice convenience.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Little_Pig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordoeanier, Owner at Hotel Cordoeanier, responded to this review, 28 November 2010
Hello,
Thanks for your nice review!
The soap dispenser you saw above the sink is also shower gel. So you could you use this also in the shower.
We hope to see you next time with us.
Kind regards
Nathalie, Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

This small hotel has a great location, right around the corner from the main square, and a great breakfast buffet in a charming room. However, we were quite shocked that they don't give you soap for the shower. There is handsoap dispenser attached to the wall by the sink but no soap dispenser or bar of soap for the shower. While we hadn't expected shampoo or conditioner, we consider soap a bare minimum for a two-star hotel charging 85 euros a night. Come prepared. The lack of elevator is not a problem since they carried our bags up. It was extremely difficult and time-consuming to find the nearby parking garage they recommended, and the front desk's directions/recommendation to "set your GPS" was completely unhelpful in light of road construction/closings in the area. They charge you for a map of town supposedly because no free maps are available, but we found free maps at the excellent restaurant they recommended (The Passage). The room was cold at night because they turn the heat off. The internet is available for a fee at a computer in the lobby only until 10, or earlier if the front desk is occupied helping another guest.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pigaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordoeanier, Owner at Hotel Cordoeanier, responded to this review, 3 November 2010
Hello,
Thank you for the time and effort you took to write this review after your stay with us.
We learned that you had some inconveniences during your stay.
The dispenser next to the sink in the bathroom is filled with a special product you can use as shower gel, shampoo and hand soap. We didn't put the dispenser in the shower for a lack off space.
We, indeed, do not have free maps available. We sell the same maps as they sell in the tourist office.
Concerning the heat; you just need to turn the swith at the radiator on. Then, heat will work.
There are indeed many construction works going on in the city. That's why we also recommend to park the car at the station. There is a big parking over there and you can take the bus for free to come back to the city.
Concerning the internet; wifi is for free in our hotel. In our lobby you can use (for a fee) the computer untill 22h00 during weekdays, weekends untill 00h00.
We do apologize for not having offered you the perfect stay. For us it is important that every guest leaves with a blissful feeling.
Therefore we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Nathalie, reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrysville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

Very close to the market and bus stop. Room was spacious and clean. Someone was always available to answer our questions and help in any way they could. Breakfast was ample and of great quality. A hearty recommendation for a Bruges retreat.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank QXSTER1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordoeanier, Owner at Hotel Cordoeanier, responded to this review, 3 November 2010
Hello,
Thank you for the possitive review!
It's nice to know you appreciate our service. We try to help our guests with their questions in any possible way.
Kind regards
Nathalie, reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2010

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for three nights (14 - 17 October 2010) and found it to be very friendly. The staff were attentive and ready to please. Our room was quite small and did not have much room for storage. The building is old and the decoration and decor rather tired looking. The stair carpet was frayed in places and could be a trip hazard. We had some minor niggles about failure to provide the paid for tea/coffee facilities in the room, a flickering light but all matters were quickly dealt with when we raised them. Breakfast was reasonable but not outstanding. Overall the defects were minor and compensated by the helpful and willing staff. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanbluemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordoeanier, Owner at Hotel Cordoeanier, responded to this review, 31 October 2010
Hello,
Thank you for writing your review on Tripadvisor.
We are busy giving the hotel a "facelift". It will take some time but we'll get there.
We hope, afterwards, the "oldfashion" will be gone.
See you next time in Bruges.
Kind regards
Nathalie, Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cavalier
Hotel Cavalier
#54 of 97 in Bruges
187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marcel
Hotel Marcel
#52 of 97 in Bruges
235 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bla Bla
Hotel Bla Bla
#33 of 97 in Bruges
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Malleberg
Hotel Malleberg
#41 of 97 in Bruges
308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#26 of 97 in Bruges
608 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cordoeanier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cordoeanier

Property: Hotel Cordoeanier
Address: Cordoeaniersstraat 16 - 18, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Bruges
#43 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cordoeanier 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Hotel Cordoeanier is a stunning 2-star hotel located in the heart of the mediaeval town of Bruges." Hotel Cordoeanier is centrally located in a quiet side street close to the market, at the heart of the mediaeval town of Bruges, which is also called the Venice of the North. The homely atmosphere as well as a personal and warm reception heartily welcomes guests to this oasis of rest. The hotel has 22 rooms, including 2 luxury rooms which are on the ground floor. The comfortably furnished rooms can accommodate up to 4 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cordoeanier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordoeanier Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing