We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably won't go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lybeer Travellers Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I didn't enjoy my stay very much. The room and location were good, but that's about it. The common area isn't very good, closes very early, no breakfast (given the price charged, I expected something!)... The staff were nice, but the "hostel" wasn't very nice. No proper facilities, no kitchen open to the public... I would look for the alternative option. The hostel is in Belgium, pleeease have a good variety of beer and keep the bar open until late! That would improve the atmosphere so much!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WNnetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

229 - 235 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed at the Lybeer Hostel in June 2014 for three nights. And what a pleasant surprise! We booked a private room with a private bath which had bee newly renovated and was on the top floor in the rear of the building, so it was very private and very quiet. The room had a window facing the internal courtyard and it was filled with light and air. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was very clean.

The co-owner, See, was extremely hospitable and helpful, suggesting exceptionally good, reasonably priced restaurants (a RARITY in rip-off Bruges!!!!) nearby. While he was very busy, he always took time to help us and to answer any questions we had.

It's a calm and comfortable place in the heart of Bruges where people of any age will feel welcome. It's NOT a youth hostel! We will definitely return on our next trip to Bruges.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr-Reeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We were there at the beginning of June 2014. The woman at the desk was really not sympathetic, I would say almost rude. It was hard to get a hello from her. The room was minuscule, but this is what you expect from a youth hostel (we had a 4 peoples room), but the matresses were disgusting. I am not a finicky person, but the matresses had huge brown stains on them, which you could easily look upon if like me you were sleeping on the bottom bed of the bunk beds.
I have to say that the guy at the bar was really nice, and the bathroom was fairly clean.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaelle D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the double private with ensuit and the room far exceeded our expectations! It was big, bright with lots of sunlight and fresh air. The bathroom was clean and roomy. Staff were friendly. We were disappointed we couldn't book for a second night. Hooks to hang towels would have been good.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SavyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Hi just stayed at this hostel for 4 nights in 2 bed female room - the hostel has just been renovated and everything about the hostel and it's staff was great - bruge is pretty good to c as well - thoroughly recommend this hostel if u r comin to bruge -

Room Tip: Book early to get 2 bed dorm - particularly if u r not into really late nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JS499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Good experience here, would definitely stay at Lybeer again. The 8 bed dorm was well decorated (new beds, recently painted) but was pretty cramped. The shared bathroom was nice and modern. The location was great - close to the train station and to the city centre. We particularly liked the various events the hostel promoted - free walking tours, pub crawls, beer tasting, etc.

Room Tip: 8 bed dorm was very cramped - should have been a 6 bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelsey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

A smart, modern, well decorated hostel with good sized rooms. You also have the option of staying in a single room if you choose. The bar has a warm bohemian feel and the drinks are probably the cheapest in Bruges. The location is particularly good, close to the main attractions and only a 10 minute stroll to the station.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#46 of 97 in Bruges
2,306 reviews
2.3 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
#66 of 97 in Bruges
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#19 of 97 in Bruges
2,229 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#37 of 97 in Bruges
2,361 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lybeer Travellers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lybeer Travellers Hostel

Address: Korte Vuldersstraat 31, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Bruges
Price Range: £17 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lybeer Hostel is the most charming and relaxing hostel in Bruges, with an unbeatable location right in the historical heart of the city. We recently COMPLETELY RENOVATED the hostel.In short:* Best location of all hostels in Bruges* Independent character hostel* Superb staff (multilingual)* Great meeting place* Fun vibe* Cozy atmosphere* Brand new, completely renovated rooms* Excellent breakfast* No curfew or lockout* Free WiFi + computers* Free city map for young travellers* Free walking tours* Belgian Beer Tasting Events* Laundry facilities* Book swap* Board games* Grocery store 1 minute away* High quality beers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Lybeer Travellers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lybeer Travellers Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing