We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful but expensive” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oud Huis de Peellaert

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Ranked #21 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
234 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“beautiful but expensive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

I stayed in this hotel as everything else was booked. I usually do not stay at this level of hotel but decided to go for it.
the common rooms of hte hotel, the breakfast room, its service and food was excellent and lovely. the room was not large but certainly large enough and in a renovated palace to expect large north american style bedrooms is not feasible.
the service at the front desk ranged from very helpful to a little perfunctory.
everything was decorated for Christmas and was calm and beautiful.

Room Tip: on a quiet street I expect all the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eridotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    662
    392
    85
    25
    10
See reviews for
138
704
16
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

After much research on various hotels I decided to stay at Oud Huis de Peelaert on a recent trip to Bruges. We were not disappointed! I was travelling with my mum and 3 year old daughter and we were promptly upgraded to a Deluxe room upon arrival. The room was extremely spacious with high ceilings and a huge bathroom complete with shower and bath. The L'Occitane toiletries were a great touch.

The bed was extremely comfortable and a cot was provided for my daughter. Although our room overlooked the street and the Youth Hostel opposite, the hotel has gone to great lengths to ensure that the noise is kept to an absolute minimum by providing triple glazed windows. This is definitely effective as the room was very quiet (I also think this has a lot to do with the season, summertime may be a different experience when people are outdoors more). The rooms are elegantly furnished with traditional pieces.

The breakfast was way beyond expectation. Fruits, Cereals, cold meats and cheeses, pastries and even bacon and eggs! The dining area is fantastically spacious and we never had to queue for the buffet.

The location of hotel is good. It is a 5 minute walk from the main square and the Town Hall. There is also a lovely Italian restaurant very conveniently located directly opposite and this was a good option for dinner.

I found the staff at the hotel very friendly and helpful. My only criticism would be the housekeeping. On our second day we arrived back at our room at 2pm so my daughter could take a nap and our room had not been cleaned yet. The housekeeper arrived at 3pm but since my daughter was sleeping we asked her to return later. When I asked at reception at 4pm if our room could now be cleaned we were told the cleaner had already gone home! Luckily this information was not correct and our room was cleaned shortly afterwards.

Overall a lovely experience and I would definitely return to the hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 108 which was very spacious although the bathroom is equipped for the disabled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank globalgirlLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed here 10th to 14th December. Excellent hotel in every way. Perfect for access to the centre of town. Fantastic breakfast. Beautiful comfortable air conditioned room, lovely en suite with a bath. Warm and welcoming, friendly helpful staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaydeejnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

We recently stayed at the Oud Huis de Peellaert for our annual Christmas break and enjoyed every minute of it , the Hotel is situated close to the centre of Bruges within walking distance of all the main attractions, it is traditional with good quality furnishings classical piped music and an excellent Breakfast room with breakfast to match which is overlooking a small courtyard, the rooms although tasteful we found ours 115 to be small and it was classed as a garden room but unfortunalty over looked the car park with no garden to be found never the less it was still very quiet, with LOccitane bath products, so the view was bearable .
The service and professionalism of the staff was impeccable especially Maria who catered for our every need, the only criticism that I would have is that there was not enough staff and the staff that were there were turning there hands to everything so well done to them…. Would we stay again? Yes.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike_tay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

This was the second time in a few years my wife and I have stayed at this central Bruges hotel.We booked it on the strength of our initial trip and the standard was even better.Our room was immaculate,the breakfast selection was very good-and taste- and staff were welcoming and professional.
The lovely lounges and bar are there to be enjoyed and the ambience is great.

Bruges is a fine City.This hotel will enhance your visit there.

[Nothing to do with the hotel but the Christmas Market was a big disappointment.No atmosphere at all!]

Room Tip: I read it can be noisy on the front.We were in the back -perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MerlinSouthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

The entrance to the hotel is very unassuming and the rear entrance from the car park is just a single unmarked door, but once inside you can see that the hotel conversion has been carried out with great care and attention to detail. The lifts however have simply been added to the back of the building and are out of character with the main structure..

Our room was on the 3rd floor overlooking the street, it was quite small but with a good bathroom and well appointed.

We chose this hotel because of its location and the fact that it had its own car park, 20 euros a night .

Breakfast is served in a nice room overlooking a small garden and was very good. A perfect place to stay in this beautiful little city

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Taffvalais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

After staying in a "character hotel" on a previous trip to Brugge, which turned out to be rather dated, I chose this hotel based on consistently good Trip Advisor Reviews. This is a hotel which lives up to those reviews and its professional web site photographs - lovely rooms, spotlessly clean, quiet and a great location, only a few minutes walk from the main squares. The guy who checked us in was helpful, pointing out the best places to eat and shop.

My only minor criticism is that considering the bed was very comfortable, the pillows were not so good, being very lumpy. When I asked if they could be changed, I was informed that all their pillows were exactly the same. I would have no hesitation in staying here again, I will just be bringing my own pillow!

Tip: The hotel car park was full and we were directed to a local car park 5 mins walk away. You may want to check out the hotel parking charges as it was much cheaper to use the local car park - 21.90 euros for 3 days.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Citybreakers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.4 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#17 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#26 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#15 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel De Tuilerieen
Hotel De Tuilerieen
#20 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oud Huis de Peellaert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oud Huis de Peellaert

Property: Oud Huis de Peellaert
Address: Hoogstraat 20, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#7 Business Hotel in Bruges
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#22 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#32 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oud Huis de Peellaert 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Oud Huis de Peellaert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oud Huis De Peellaert Hotel Bruges
Oud Huis De Peellaert Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing