We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Ranked #22 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

we were very disappointed with the greeting we received at the hotel. The receptionist, whilst checking in some of our party, continued to answer the phone rather than finishing off each check-in. We were refused access to our room as we were told it was not ready and would not be ready until at least 3.00pm (it was 2.55pm at that point) but apparently the rooms for members of our party who had not yet arrived were ready!!!!!There was no flexibility allowed in this regard. Also one if our party did not wish to use the elevator and we were told that there was no stairs until the second floor which of course turned out to be untrue. When we asked on three separate occasions to speak to the manager we were told there was no manager there at the time. Despite having a do not disturb sign on our door to avoid being bothered by the cleaners the hotel took it upon themselves to phone us instead to make an appointment for the cleaners to make up our room. Also when we phoned down to reception the phone was answered but the receptionist was clearly not ready to take the call and continued to deal with someone else at the counter. It seems that reception is not sufficiently manned and is currently being run in an unprofessional manner. Breakfast was average. Overall impression not very impressed. Having stayed at the neighbouring Casselberg Hotel for the same rate just a few months previous we were sorry that we had decided to try this one.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    683
    413
    88
    27
    11
See reviews for
142
739
16
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My wife and I booked a three night stay at this hotel believing that it would be of a similar quality as our stays in 4* Hotel in London. How pleasantly surprised we were to find a real quality hotel at a reasonable price.
We stayed in a deluxe room and it was really nice, quite large room with en-suite, a smashing queen size bed which was really comfortable and most important really clean and tidy. The rest of the Hotel had real quality furniture and the bar area was really nice, again with reall quality furniture.
The dining area looks as though it has been refurbished very nice big area with loads of tables which meant you didnt feel squeezed in at all. The Breakfast was super with a choice of Bacon Eggs Sausages, toast, fruit, pastries, fresh orange juice, cold meats and cheese, luvly fresh rolls etc all you could ned to start the day off.
Finally the staff were really helpful and pleasant especially the young laady who was on in the evenings 12th to 15th Sept (sorry forgot your name)
I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and I would very happily stay again. Many thanks to all the staff for making our stay a reall treat. By the way Belgians are very nice people and we thoroughly enjoyed our whole stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The OHP occupies and old XIX century mansion built on an even older property. The ceilings are high and chandeliers adorn its main rooms. The hotel is decorated in classic style and in good taste. It is located scarcely 3 blocks from Bruges' main square, but its front street is rather quiet. If you arrive by car the hotel offers private parking space behind the property, which is a great convenience. Breakfast was excellent and plentiful. The staff at the front desk was great and extremely helpful. If we ever return to Bruges we will certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Do not worry about being given a room facing the street. The windows are insulated and you will not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constanta, Romania
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Hotel much better than many 4 star hotel we've been, breakfast even better than many 5 star hotels. Only minus is tiny parking, but this more than perfectly acceptable in an old town as Bruges. However, there is a public parking on a much better price about 7-10 min walking. Staff very polite and attentive, room very clean and well furnished. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Garden view room is better during weekends, as across road is a Hostel with youth Bar, pretty noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlorinCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luxembourg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2013

It is one of the best hotel I have ever been. The location is excellent. The street is calm but very near the center. The room is very large , comfortable . The breakfast is excellent. And inside the hotel, everything furnitures, lights, etc...are so beautiful.......For a few days, we were living in a palace.
The staff is really helpful. The lady who cleaned our room was really nice and helpful. We asked her to arrange the bed as twin beds and put two duvets instead of one large bed and duvet because we change our minds (I wanted to read late at night and my husband to sleep early) and she arranged everything we askedwith a smile. And when we left the last day, I forgot a cloth in the room. The cleaning lady had left it at the reception and when I phoned then kindly accepted to send it back to me by post.
So really it is my best experience I had ever had. Good stay and good souvenir. I just wish one thing: to come back very soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orphee61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The hotel seemed more like a nice bed and breakfast. We stayed in a deluxe room with high ceiling and a chandlier. We were disappointed in the room as on their web site the deluxe room had a seating area with a couch, two chairs and a coffee table, our room had two chairs and a side table pushed up against the wall next to the tv. When we asked about this they said all their rooms are different and may not look exactly like the ones of their web site (really) We did have a balcony but it was very dirty, someone has thrown a roll of toilet paper on it and bread that was very wet from the rain, we told them about the condition of the balcony but it was never cleaned up.........Breakfast was very good, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, breads, cheeses, meat, fruit, yogurt and cereal and the common rooms were beautiful. The location was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myhre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in August and were allocated one of the 'garden rooms' at the back of the hotel. The room was excellent, in a quiet area and was a generous size for two - underfloor heating in the bathroom and L'Occitaine toiletries - bliss! The staff were helpful and friendly - very knowledgable about Bruges which you would expect. The breakfast room was light, airy, clean and pleasant -the range of food available for breakfast was substantial -hot or cold - there was something for everyone! We didn't have a chance to see any of the other hotel rooms so cannot compare our room to others. But it is a wonderful hotel in a wonderful city - would highly recommend.

Room Tip: The 'garden rooms' at the back of the hotel are a block of 6 - 8 rooms which are very spacio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.2 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#15 of 97 in Bruges
402 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#8 of 97 in Bruges
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oud Huis de Peellaert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oud Huis de Peellaert

Property: Oud Huis de Peellaert
Address: Hoogstraat 20, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#7 Business Hotel in Bruges
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#22 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#32 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oud Huis de Peellaert 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Oud Huis de Peellaert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oud Huis De Peellaert Hotel Bruges
Oud Huis De Peellaert Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing