We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Ranked #22 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not a 4 star hotel”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We chose this hotel for its central location and because the pictures looked good.
We arrived at 2pm and we were told that the room would not be ready until 3pm. The young lady at the reception desk was borderline rude. We waited in a tired lobby with fake and dusty flowers.
When we finally checked in we were told that we would receive an upgrade and were given a voucher for 2 glasses of cava.
The room was on the ground floor overlooking an alley and and a portaloo because road works were in progress. The chandelier was nice but the room looked in need of an update.
We asked for the original room but we were told that the hotel was full. After a while, they showed us a room at the rear. One had to walk out of the hotel and cross a parking area for 5 cars. We took it and went out. When we returned we soon realized that there was an awful stench coming from the bathroom. The heating made a loud noise. We called reception and a young member of staff appeared with an air spray. He was most apologetic and told us he would put a note for the morning staff to follow up on our complaint.
The room was cramped and there was very little space between the bed and a cupboard that housed the fridge. The carpet was heavily stained. The room overlooked the parked cars.
The continental breakfast was disappointing with scrambled eggs that were overcooked and cold meats that looked pretty awful. The croissants and the honey were good.
The room, however, was spacious, bright and clean.
We asked to see the manager but he was not available. A second receptionist informed us that she could speak 5 languages which was of no interest to us. She could not deal with the public and needed training.
We were finally shown another room at the rear and we accepted it because we were not spending our short break (3 nights) in the hotel lobby complaining. The room was on the ground floor overlooking a small garden.
All the furniture in the 3 rooms was old and tired.
We spoke to the assistant manager the morning we left. She explained that the smell was caused by the non functioning air conditioning. We immediately thought of Legionnaire's Disease! She apologised and told us that tourists preferred the rooms at the back because they were quieter.
The main road is dead quiet but there is a hostel. Perhaps it was too cold for students/drinkers to hang out.
We would never go back to this hotel. It was disappointing and rather spoiled our visit to Bruges.

Room Tip: We have only seen 3 mediocre rooms: 001, 015 and 04.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marzia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    692
    415
    88
    27
    11
See reviews for
147
742
17
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and was impressed by the quality of the hotel. The public areas are very well appointed and there is a very pleasant breakfast room serving an excellent continental and limited cooked English breakfast. There is no restaurant or room service at this hotel, but not really a negative given the choice of eateries in Bruges
We had a garden room at the back of the hotel which was well away from the main street, so was very quiet. The room was large and well furnished, the bed was very comfy too. Limited parking is available at the hotel (6 spaces).
The hotel is only a few minutes walk from the main square so you couldn't get a better location.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiltshireLoynsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookham Dean, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Good breakfast. Comfy bed. Friendly helpful staff. Lovely steam room and sauna. Only negative was that our bedroom was far too hot and we had to sleep with the window open so heard a lot of noise from revellers in the street. We turned the heating off and tried to use the air conditioning but was told that it was not on at this time of year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main street so if it does get too hot you can open the window and NOT h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MittensMaidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, Kent
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Stayed here recently and were impressed. Had an upgraded room which was really good. Hotel was located centrally. A five minute walk from the main square in a fairly quiet location. Breakfast was very good as was the lounge areas. We'll worth the money. Reception staff were extremely helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnmariakent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We had stayed in the sister hotel Casselbergh the previous year, and having been well impressed decided to try this one. Standards of comfort just the same very high, beautiful lounge areas though we hardly used them because the weather was good, but they would have been very welcome if the weather was wet. Staff were very attentive without being intrusive, and we felt genuinely welcomed. A request for some extra milk for the room to enjoy an extra evening tea drink met with an immediate response, and nothing seemed to be a trouble to them. Our room was very comfortable (304) at the front, had real character with dormer window and beams, and the bed was one of the most comfortable. Very pleasant dining area for breakfast. Altogether an excellent hotel, and we would look forward to returning. Slightly smaller than the Casselbergh, but this didn't detract from the enjoyment. I would find it difficult to choose between them - Casselbergh has a more imposing entry and reception, but Huis de Peellaert is smaller and homely. Both highly recommended.

Room Tip: We chose the 3rd floor to be well above traffic noise - we certainly didn't hear any. We were a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khwannock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We have just returned from this hotel after a mid week break that my husband booked as a surprise birthday present. Upon arriving at the hotel I was very impressed with the entrance to the hotel. when we checked in we were told that we had an upgrade to one of the executive rooms ( room 1) the most beautiful room my husband and I have ever stayed in.
The hotel is central to the famous square and was ideal for all other sites to visit.
Will be going back hopefully for our wedding anniversary.
Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deborah w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel in a package deal. Got upgraded to a better room for booking on a weekday too!
Room was super clean. Couldn't fault it! Bed was also extremely comfortable! Great shower! Free l'occtaine shower goodies! Free wifi!
We had no issues with noise from hostel (which is across road)
Breakfast... Well.. Could have stayed eating in there for about 2 hours! So much choice I just didn't know where to start!
Website states get a cab... We went to tourist office got a free map and walked! From Brugge station to hotel is about 40 minute walk! All cobbled streets though! Very easy to find!
About 3 minute walk from the main market square.
Staff very friendly too!

Couldn't fault this hotel at all. Lovely place to stay!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank seetheworld-89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.2 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#25 of 97 in Bruges
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#15 of 97 in Bruges
425 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel De Tuilerieen
Hotel De Tuilerieen
#21 of 97 in Bruges
1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oud Huis de Peellaert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oud Huis de Peellaert

Property: Oud Huis de Peellaert
Address: Hoogstraat 20, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#7 Business Hotel in Bruges
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#22 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#32 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Oud Huis de Peellaert 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Oud Huis de Peellaert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oud Huis De Peellaert Hotel Bruges
Oud Huis De Peellaert Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing