We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT stay at this hotel - The staff are so rude and it is dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Ranked #23 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“DO NOT stay at this hotel - The staff are so rude and it is dirty”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Please do NOT stay at this hotel. We booked 2 rooms, one double for ourselves and one twin room for our teenage sons. Don't be fooled into thinking they have any DOUBLE bed rooms, they don't. They only have twin bed rooms and they will push them together and only provide you each with a single duvet. Like other honest reviewers of this site, we arrived and were made to wait until quite some time after 3pm for our rooms, being told that they were making up our DOUBLE room! JOKE!! Our shower tray had black mould groung in it. The shower tray waste absolutely stank of sewerage. When my wife used the shower, the tray filled up with water, so the waste was obviously blocked. I used the shower in our son's room.

Most importantly, the staff are rude and just don't care about your experience. When we complained they eventually just offered us a 10% discount. Please save yourself the trouble and just book somewhere else.

Just in case you think we are fussy, I stay away in European hotels 2 per week, every week. This is NOT a 4 star hotel and I just want you to save your money.

DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL !!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Just do NOT book a room at this hotel please!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    672
    404
    87
    27
    11
See reviews for
140
722
16
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxshott, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This is a very decent hotel. It's right in the centre of Brugge, but only a 20 minute walk from the station. Our room was just about big enough for 3, with a modern and well maintained en suite, though marred, in my view, by not having a bidet! The service was OK, but when we asked for reception for a third cup and saucer for our room (there were 3 of us), we were told we could collect one at reception. Breakfast was excellent and the service in the restaurant, very good. The hotel has free WiFi, though it did not work in the restaurant.
Only one real moan, our room was too hot and we never figured out how to get the air conditioner to cool it down.
In summary recommended, though clearly 4 star as opposed to 5.

Room Tip: Ours was on the third floor and was very quiet with pleasant views over the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinB8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Great Location - just down the road from the main square
Comfy rooms, not big but well furnished and appointed
Fantastic Breakfast - buffet and catered for all tastes in a nice room.
Friendly staff - always willing to help and assist
We will go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike187051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Stayed here for one eveing in December. It was a bit pricey, but excellent location and helpful staff. Hotel car park only has space for six or seven cars but on a very crowded weekend it was worth the 20 euro. As an added bonus with the parking, they're happy to let you keep your car parked there until 1500 on the day you check out which gives you a little bit of time to explore the city and not have to find additional parking. Staff were very friendly and the room was spotless. The heated bathroom floor was a nice touch too.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GutUpAndGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

A nice hotel in an excellent location. Within 2 minutes walking distance of the Burg and Marketplace.
A quiet location despite its proximity to the other attractions. Did not have a chance to sample the spa. Only downside was the front desk. Leaving a trainee on his own in mid afternoon was perhaps ill advised. Other than that it was a very good hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good. Only sound was from other guests making there way back to their room !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I booked this hotel as a Christmas treat for myself and my mum. We were shown to a room on the ground floor which whilst attractive and comfortable looked like it would be noisy. It was next to the ground floor loos, conference room and staircase. To make matters worse we spotted roadworks, a porta loo and digger directly outside our window and expressed our concerns to reception staff that we would be disturbed. She assured us we wouldn't and said the only way to upgrade would be to pay for a suite. This trip was already expensive so I declined. Sure enough at 7.10am the builders started - they were right outside the room and not only could we hear their work but also their voices. One even looked right in at me through the net curtains. I went straight to reception (in my pj's) and complained and was told they would try to move us. after some bartering they eventually moved us and the second room was great - clean, comfortable and warm.

I think room 001 should be de commissioned, it smacks of greed and money making. It is the only room downstairs (not even disabled access) and would serve better as a cloakroom or broom cupboard, while I understand that building works are beyond the hotels control it would have been courteous to guests not to use it during this time. The room was overlooked and noisy anyway. I was disappointed with losing a decent first nights sleep - I was after all on holiday and 7am is not fun!

Room Tip: Not room 001!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We chose this hotel for its central location and because the pictures looked good.
We arrived at 2pm and we were told that the room would not be ready until 3pm. The young lady at the reception desk was borderline rude. We waited in a tired lobby with fake and dusty flowers.
When we finally checked in we were told that we would receive an upgrade and were given a voucher for 2 glasses of cava.
The room was on the ground floor overlooking an alley and and a portaloo because road works were in progress. The chandelier was nice but the room looked in need of an update.
We asked for the original room but we were told that the hotel was full. After a while, they showed us a room at the rear. One had to walk out of the hotel and cross a parking area for 5 cars. We took it and went out. When we returned we soon realized that there was an awful stench coming from the bathroom. The heating made a loud noise. We called reception and a young member of staff appeared with an air spray. He was most apologetic and told us he would put a note for the morning staff to follow up on our complaint.
The room was cramped and there was very little space between the bed and a cupboard that housed the fridge. The carpet was heavily stained. The room overlooked the parked cars.
The continental breakfast was disappointing with scrambled eggs that were overcooked and cold meats that looked pretty awful. The croissants and the honey were good.
The room, however, was spacious, bright and clean.
We asked to see the manager but he was not available. A second receptionist informed us that she could speak 5 languages which was of no interest to us. She could not deal with the public and needed training.
We were finally shown another room at the rear and we accepted it because we were not spending our short break (3 nights) in the hotel lobby complaining. The room was on the ground floor overlooking a small garden.
All the furniture in the 3 rooms was old and tired.
We spoke to the assistant manager the morning we left. She explained that the smell was caused by the non functioning air conditioning. We immediately thought of Legionnaire's Disease! She apologised and told us that tourists preferred the rooms at the back because they were quieter.
The main road is dead quiet but there is a hostel. Perhaps it was too cold for students/drinkers to hang out.
We would never go back to this hotel. It was disappointing and rather spoiled our visit to Bruges.

Room Tip: We have only seen 3 mediocre rooms: 001, 015 and 04.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marzia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#27 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#16 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#9 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oud Huis de Peellaert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oud Huis de Peellaert

Property: Oud Huis de Peellaert
Address: Hoogstraat 20, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#7 Business Hotel in Bruges
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#22 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#32 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oud Huis de Peellaert 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oud Huis de Peellaert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oud Huis De Peellaert Hotel Bruges
Oud Huis De Peellaert Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing