We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleepless in Bruges!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Ranked #18 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2011

Just returned from a New Year trip to the fantastic city of Bruges having stayed at the Oud Huis de Peellaert. Booked our accommodation following good reviews on TA but wanted to add my comments following 2 nights (out of 3) of broken sleep during our stay there in order to make other fellow travellers aware of some possible issues with the Peellaert.

Whilst the hotel does offer a fantastic location, reception service and breakfast both the wife and I experienced 2 dreadful nights of sleep because of groups of young revellers coming and going from the backpackers Hostel and late night bar, Charlie Rockets.

If, like us, you are given a room at the front of the hotel you run the risk of broken sleep from this popular establishment right across the road.

On our first night we were woken at 3am by a group of youngsters singing and shouting directly across the road from my room - it took an HOUR and a HALF for them to disperse! I was told by the concierge (following my calls to them) that the police had been called although i am not confident that they even turned up.

The following nights sleep was again broken on a number of occasions by similar behaviour for a number of hours not good when you have a 5 month old pregnant wife who has trouble sleeping anyway!

In short, whilst this isn't the hotels fault you need to be aware that if you do stay here then please ensure you ask for a room at the back!

Off to my bed to catch up on my sleep.

Jack Beeby

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

770 - 776 of 1,290 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2011

We visited Bruges to celebrate my wifes birthday in December.
The city is every bit as picturesque as the brochures suggest and the Oiud Huis is as centrally located as possible without being directly on a main tourist route. You are literally only a few minutes walk away from the Burg and Markt and close to a lot of the cities well known restaurants and bars although walking a little further afield and trying the many hostelries which lie off the beaten track can be rewarding to ones purse and pallet alike.
We were given a warm welcome on arrival as well as tokens which could be exchanged at breakfast each morning for two glasses of Champagne, as not all the guests received these I can only presume that this was because it was my wifes birthday, a nice touch.
The hotel is a conversion of two large town houses and architecturally it is brimming with 19th century opulence with high ceilings, chandaliers, panelling and a spiral staircase.
Our room, 215, was situated on the second floor to the rear of the hotel. It was very well appointed with a good ensuite bathroom and splendid views over the roof tops of Bruges.
Although there is a good lift system one should really take the stairs and have a little wander around as it is a fine building. There are two comfortable lounges and a small bar near the reception, be aware that smoking is permitted in the lounge area as indeed it is in most bars and cafes.
Breakfast is served in The Orangerie and is a typical buffet affair but a pretty good one, the smoked salmon was particularly good when we stayed.
My only criticism of the actual hotel facilities is the lack of any service at the bar untill 5 pm, it would have been nice to be able to enjoy the lounge with a drink earlier in the day as one planned the days itinerary or took time to recover from one of the marathon walks one is obliged to do when visiting such historic cities.
All in all a great hotel in a great location which we would recommend to any one.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrandMrsSid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2010

Stayed at this hotel a few days ago, was very impressed how friendly they were and how welcome they made me feel. The facilities were nice with the sauna and the rooms were warm and cosy. The breakfast was abit of a let down however as it was always cold and had a very bad selection of hot food. Despite this the benefits overide this and would have no problem recommeding them

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colin_morrissey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2010

Went to Bruges to experience the Christmas market with my husband & group of friends. Location was superb & the hotel staff were all very friendly & helpful. The hotel had character. The room was really cosy & beautifully clean (I'm one of those fussy OCD types when it come to cleanliness :) & the beds were so comfy. After a hard days site seeing, eating & drinking the comfy bed was very welcoming. The buffet breakfast in the morning was excellent, lovely choice of hot & continental style breakfast foods along with the obligatory corn flakes.
I would definitely come back to this hotel again. If you are traveling with your car make sure you reserve a parking space when booking. It's a small car park, but easy access & reasonable parking rates apply.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLA392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2010

When 3 friends and I plan our annual girls' weekend away, Tripadvisor is always our first port of call. It hasn't been 100% foolproof, but we all agree this hotel fully deserves its excellent reviews. Our favourite things were: the light, spacious and stylish breakfast room, the location, the comfy beds, Occitaine products in the bathroom, the choice on the breakfast buffet and very civilised breakfast times! Our rooms were cosy rather than palatial and were in the modern annexe at the back of the hotel - maybe it would have been nicer to be walking up the elegant staircase to our rooms at the end of the day, rather than through the rear carpark - but the short walkway was at least covered to protect us from the snow. I can't speak for the rooms in the main building, but our rooms were not especially well soundproofed, so ear plugs for other light sleepers like me might be worthwhile - my companions weren't disturbed, however.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dottynello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2010

Stayed for one night at the end of November. Staff very nice and friendly. Hotel was beautifully decorated for Christmas! Lovely breakfast included in the rate which is great as it's usually an extra! Would recommend this hotel we got a very good deal direct from hotel website and it was cheaper than any of the booking agents.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank girlpower73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2010

We really enjoyed our stay here. We booked after reading reviews and were not disappointed. We requested a quite room as we were a bit worried about the hostel in front. We had a quiet room at the back overlooking the garden. Room was very big, very clean and tastefully decorated. Breakfast was great - lots of choice. Staff were very helpful, particularly the receptionist in the evening. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Good four star hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VivaLaVida79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.4 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#24 of 97 in Bruges
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#17 of 97 in Bruges
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oud Huis de Peellaert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oud Huis de Peellaert

Address: Hoogstraat 20, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#7 Business Hotel in Bruges
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#22 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#32 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £86 - £926 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oud Huis de Peellaert 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Oud Huis de Peellaert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oud Huis De Peellaert Hotel Bruges
Oud Huis De Peellaert Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing