We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb Hotel, spotlessly clean, brilliant staff.”
Review of Anselmus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anselmus Hotel
Ranked #30 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2011

We arrived early but were welcomed by the owner, and as our room was ready we were shown straight to it. The room was spotlessly clean, spacious and very comfortable. The en suite was just right. I was accompanied to the secure parking garage (so I didn't get lost!) and the walk back was just a few minutes
Breakfast was in a lovely light and spacious room with the option of going out into the garden area; it was laid out in buffet style. An excellent continental selection. Tea or coffee was offered and delivered to the table.
Although the hotel didn't provide meals other than breakfast, wine or local beer was available and could be consumed and enjoyed, relaxing in the lounge.
The location was literally within a few minutes walk of the city centre, couldn't have been more convenient. Amenities in Brugge are varied and plentiful, we had the feeling of a secure and friendly atmosphere.

Room Tip: We opted for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ColboySomersetUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (530)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 530 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2011

Lovely family run hotel in the center of Bruges close to all attractions. We stayed for 2 nighta and have nothing but praise - the rooms were large and comforatble, spotlessly clean and well appointed. Being town centre there was a little street nois on Saturday night but nothing to be too concernaed about. The only word of warning would be that, for those of limited mobility, the staicase is rather steep. Our hosts were both friendlty and attentive - even allowing us to park our car in their own private garage as their parking was full. Good choice of food for breakfast - most enjoyable. No evening meal is available but there are so many reataurants within a few minutes walk you will not find this a cause for concern. I would most certainly go back - make it your choice, you will not be disapopinted

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank haiceara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

This is a very well run family hotel....service and rooms are excellent. The breakfast area is absolutely beautiful, spotless rooms, everyone very helpful and friendly. Be aware that there are extremely steep steps to the third floor and if any kind of disability or elderly concern be sure to tell owner cannot deal with steps. Very minoe comment of no fresh fruit for breakfast, all canned. Otherwise, basic breakfast with excellent coffee, meats, breads, hard boiled egg.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kathyGreenBay_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Clean, comfortable, good breakfas and great location, what more could you want really??

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kdhs61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Stay for 3 nights in pretty small B & B hotel in pictureque Brugge. Wonderful weather, did lot of walking, sightseeing, cycling and boat trip. It was well worth visiting in Brugge for short weekend break (very romantic), Mind you, everything in Brugge are sooooo expenisve and over charge!!

About the hotel, it was very nice and perfect location, but the only two problems we are not happy with; shower and stairs. (the stairs were the most steepest we have seen, it was very shallow and we had to hold the hand rail all the times but it is not suitable for disability. Be Warned! The shower is lovley but there is no hook to hold the shower.

For me, the tourist price on resturants, cafes, take aways food and also souvenir shops are just rip off in big time!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CoolChick10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

The Anselmus hotel is just a few minutes walk from the main tourist hub of Bruges in a fairly quiet road so for us the location was perfect. The building is two houses joined together one being 16th century the other 18th century, the reception/lounge area is in the oldest part and the traditional decor reflected the building.

Our room was on the second floor and the stair case was probably the steepest I have ever seen the treads were very shallow so one had to hold the hand rail at all times, for us this was not a problem but would be for someone with a disability, the owner did take our case up for us which was a great help.

The room was bright and airy and overlooked the street, there was plenty of room around the beds which were exceptional comfortable however sleep was hard to come by for myself as the pillows were packed out with what felt like rock hard lumps of foam about the size of a sugar cube, there was no give in the pillow and I got a stiff neck for this reason I marked low on sleep quality.

Facilities in the room were safe box , tea & coffee making a real bonus and quiet central heating which we needed at night.
I do not remember seeing air conditioning so the room could get hot in the height of summer being at the top of the building.

The bathroom was very nice and spotlessly clean the tile grout was pure white, plenty of room to put toiletries etc., and a very good hairdryer that worked and did not burn ones scalp as often happens. The only other negative I have is that there was no shower just a shower attachment from the tap which had to be hand held which makes washing hair quite awkward. and results in a very wet floor, a pity as all that is needed is a bracket on the wall and a glass panel to stop the water going on the floor.

Breakfast was served in a conservatory that links the two building, this looks out on to a lovely little patio area with a bird aviary and pot plants, unfortunately we were unable to make use of this area is it was rather nippy while we were there.
The breakfast was continental buffet , cereals, yogurt and fruit it is a shame the fruit was tinned but this is a minor thing, one could also order a boiled egg. The owners were always around for any requests and were very hands on.
All in all we felt we had made the right choice of hotel thanks to Trip Adviser reviewers.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fussyduchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

This is an excellent hotel - lovely rooms, great breakfast and friendly owners. Perfectly situated for city centre - only a few hundred yards from market square and all the attractions this lovely city has to offer.

Highly recommended !

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonenlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#24 of 97 in Bruges
626 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#11 of 97 in Bruges
830 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#18 of 97 in Bruges
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#26 of 97 in Bruges
1,236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.1 mi away
Hotel Malleberg
Hotel Malleberg
#38 of 97 in Bruges
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anselmus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anselmus Hotel

Address: Riddersstraat 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Bruges
#30 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £99 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anselmus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anselmus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anselmus Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing