We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel in Bruges”
Review of Anselmus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anselmus Hotel
Ranked #31 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2011

The Anselmus is an ideal hotel for a visit to Bruges. Central location so that you can walk everywhere. Private parking very handy and secure. Good Breakfast with a particularly finely cooked boiled egg! We were given a discount card which saved us money at several attractions as well as a walking tour map which we followed and saw all the sights. The only downside is the poor shower arrangement and some traffic noise. We would recommmend this hotel if staying in Bruges.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plantsman_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2011

Anselmus, when walking in, has a cute little reception room that reminds you of an old sweet granny's tea room. The place is definitely one of its kind and extremely comfortable. The bathroom has a great clean tub for people who adores a comfy bath. The highest recommendation goes to the staff. I only met the man who is in charge of reception and 1-2 cleaning maids. The maids were friendly, but the receptionist seems like he handles the whole hotel, and very well too! I asked for an extra bottle of shower gel and he brought us 4 bottles in case my friend needs more too. They also lend me plug converters and breakfast.

Unfortunately we overslept and missed breakfast which is held in a really fancy pleasant room with a garden. But I saw they definitely serve cereal and toast as there were a range of dry cereal and toast amenities available.

Room Tip: We had a twin double which they put together like a queen size bed. The room is larger that was I ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emizz Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Can't argue with what's been said here. Location is excellent - just a short walk into town, service is efficient and friendly (we arrived very late but were given a warm welcome and recommendation for a late-opening restaurant nearby to boot), room was small but comfy (although the hand-held showers are indeed a bit of a drawback - surely it isn't beyond the wit of man to at least put a shower holder on the wall - I could do it in minutes), breakfasts plentiful (lovely coffee pots!), and you get a key to let yourself in the front door if you're out late (which I often am) which is most handy. If you're after a bargain in Bruges, you could do a lot worse than the Anselmus.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

The staff at this beautiful little hotel were so friendly and warm. We were very comfortable, it was conveniently located, and perfect for our needs. Rooms were clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We stayed for two nights over a weekend. We arrived just before midnight but had let the hotel know and the owner was still up to meet us and show us to our room. Very easy and quick check in. The room was clean and tidy with a good sized bathroom and better-than-average english TV channels. Bed was a double but comfy. The breakfast room is open from 8 to 10 am and was a really generous offering - breads, pastries, fruit, yoghurt, meats, cheeses, egg, juice, tea and coffee. The breakfast room itself had three areas - indoors, atrium and outdoors - which really makes an impression at the start of the day. We loved the atrium. Service was friendly and efficient. The hotel is centrally located and within about 10 minutes of everything. I'd recommend getting a taxi from the train station; should be about 10-12 euros and take 10 minutes.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor which was quieter; if you have any troubles with stairs (they were very nar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Its_Small_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Clean and pleasant with helpful friendly staff and good breakfasts. We hope to stay again next year with our granddaughter. Well done Anselmus

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cherieact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Stayed here on a short trip to Bruges, loved this place. Centrally located,walking distance to restaurants cafes and pubs. Very comfortable rooms with good bathroom facilities. Rooms were very clean and had a quaint style.
A family run hotel and had very helpful and welcoming staff. Very enjoyable stay and very reasonably priced. Would love to visit here again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MollyF25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#26 of 97 in Bruges
1,246 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#18 of 97 in Bruges
1,290 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#27 of 97 in Bruges
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#11 of 97 in Bruges
832 reviews
0.7 mi away
Albert 1 Hotel
Albert 1 Hotel
#15 of 97 in Bruges
510 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Acacia
Hotel Acacia
#25 of 97 in Bruges
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anselmus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anselmus Hotel

Address: Riddersstraat 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Bruges
#30 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £87 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anselmus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anselmus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anselmus Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing