We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anselmus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Anselmus Hotel
Ranked #27 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

A beautiful hotel, with wonderful owners.
Ronnie and Magda couldnt be more helpful. The room was spotless, roomy, and even had a double bed - and a bath which I always prefer to just a shower.
The breakfast was lovely, with a lot of choice, which is topped up before anything is empty. Ronnie even noticed how much tea I drink first thing, and was there offering me more the moment he saw my teapot was empty - now that is service!
There is gorgeous garden with tables and chairs (great for the smokers!) and three very chatty budgies and a shy rabbit in residence.
The hotel is very close to the Market Square, but tucked away enough that noise is not an issue. I will definitely return to this hotel when we visit Bruges again - I cant recommend it enough!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 72angelSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    178
    35
    3
    0
See reviews for
142
217
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Firstly, Brugge is magical. Secondly, I imagine it is difficult to find a bad hotel in Brugge. Anselmus however is a great place to start.
Like most European hotels, double beds don't exist and instead they push together two singles. The beds/pillows were very comfortable and clean though.
The bathroom was lovely and modern with lots of space around the sink for all things girly!
The room itself was spacious, TV worked great and the only thing missing were some drawers?? This didn't bother us though and we just left a few bits in our suitcases instead.
The hotel is very secure and upon arrival you are given a key to the front door as well as an acces code to the additional electronic door which is used late evening.
The hotel breakfast is fantastic and should be given much more credit than the 'Continental' breakfast it is advertised as. It's a self-service buffet where you can help yourself to bread rolls, sliced bread (to toast if you wish), croissants, cooked meat, cheese, spreads, jam, cereal, yoghurt, fruit, sweet pastries, numerous fruit juices, pots of tea or coffee and as you sit down to breakfast you are offered a lovely soft boiled egg. Everything we ate was great quality and the owner is more than happy for you to come down to breakfast at 9.45 and eat until well past 10 o'clock (breakfast is advertised as being served 7am - 10am).
The hotel location is good. Just under 5 minute walk to the main square in Brugge and you pass numerous restaurants and bars on the way.

Room Tip: Stairs are VERY steep up to the top (2nd) floor and are absolutely not suitable for the elderly or d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOTTIE5119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

Stayed mid week for 3 days on Eurostar package. Ronnie and his wife are excellent hosts- very helpful, multi lingual. The Anselmus is a small boutique hotel short walks (minutes) away from the main squares of Brugges,with beautiful medieval buildings, many lace and confectionary shops, the canal trips (inexpensive), and numerous cafes and restaurants. We thoroughly enjoyed the local food- try flemish stew made with local dark beer- really delicious. There is an excellent Italian restaurant (Carlitos) just 50 yards from the hotel where locals eat.
Breakfast at the hotel is good quality. Room was clean and airy. Minor down side was the 2nd floor staircase- steep with narrow steps, so if this worries you I suggest you request a room on the first or second floor.
Travelling to Brugges is simple- the change of platforms at Brussels is well posted and minutes away. For your train to Brugges look for Balnkenburgh, Knokke or Oostende. Brugge Zuide and Midi are the same station. Taxis from the station were 10 euros including tip.
Overall package excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gerrard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

This Hotel is comfortable, clean and welcoming. The breakfast was very nice too.

Room Tip: The stairs are quite steep (only two flights), but if you have knee trouble, pick a lower down room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marilynu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Found this hotel on a Eurostar / accommodation package and it was a very good choice. Ideal location just a few minutes easy stroll from the main sights, quiet, good breakfast in an attractive dining room and our bedroom was spacious and spotless. The reception area is lovely. The proprietors were very helpful and friendly and spoke good English. We hope to go back to Bruges and when we do we will be checking availability at this hotel as a first choice.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
527 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

We returned to Bruges with friends after 7 years and were just as delighted. We chose to stay at the same hotel which was even better this time. The breakfast had improved to a good level of choice. The main point for this hotel though is its location in combination with the hotel atmosphere. It is situated very close to the main squares in the old city. The rooms are very nice and modern, the bathroom is fine and has a quaint bath tub that is smaller in one end. The common areas are almost like a museum in character, old paintings and furniture, even the holy virgin in a corner. Breakfast is taken in either a room with fantastic chandeliers or in an added pergola. The hotel is on a quiet side street without traffic. There is no lift and the stairs to the second and third floor might be tricky for (very) old people.
The management is happy to help you with taxi and even open for breakfast a bit early if you're in a hurry to a train for example.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ugurd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

My son and I were looking for a good value place to stay for our first visit to Bruges and we surely struck gold with The Anselmus Hotel. It is located a few minutes from the Market Square and in a quiet area of town. The entrance lounge certainly had the "Wow factor" - lovely decor and welcoming, as was our hoste who explained everything we needed to know. Our room was spacious and beautifully furnished and had an excellent ajoining bathroom.

The breakfast room(s) again were spacious and led to a patio area, which unfortunately we couldn't use due to the disappointing weather. The choice breakfast food was excellent and could not be faulted - however, the toaster took forever and needs attention!

The hotel owner was charming and nothing was too much trouble for him to ensure our stay was satisfactory. It certainly was and I would not hesitate in returning there and warmly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Just book at The Anselmus Hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#25 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#22 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#26 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fevery
Hotel Fevery
#6 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#9 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anselmus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anselmus Hotel

Property: Anselmus Hotel
Address: Riddersstraat 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Bruges
#30 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Anselmus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Anselmus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anselmus Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing